If Carlsberg Did Football Fans...

Just got home from the Aberdeen game, and have to say that I'm seriously getting sick & tired with the moaning-faced c*nts that sit in the east stand.

I've heard the much-used "greatest fans in the world" slogan that Celtic fans like to throw around when talking about themselves, but I'm really starting to wonder if we should be branding certain sections of our support as the exact opposite.

In fact, the use of the word support perhaps shouldn't apply to these people. If we look up the term in the dictionary it reads as follows;

verb

[with object]

1 bear all or part of the weight of; hold up:the dome was supported by a hundred white columns

2 give assistance to, especially financially:the government gives £2,500 million a year to support the voluntary sector

3 provide with a home and the necessities of life:my main concern was to support my family

4 give approval, comfort, or encouragement to:the proposal was supported by many delegates

5 be actively interested in and concerned for the success of (a particular sports team):fans should always support their team fully, no matter what.

Now, entry number five is what should apply at Motherwell games, but going by recent reactions to the likes of Tim Clancy, Chris Humphrey, Stephen Craigan & Michael Higdon I think the last thing these people can call themselves is supporters.

It's no secret that the last few games haven't been our best. The above-mentioned players haven't exactly been firing on all cylinders (especially Higdon & Craigan). This is where the paying punter in the crowd comes into his own, right? When the players aren't on top of their game we step in and offer support (there's that word again) and encouragement to get them back on track?

Do we f*ck. If a player has the sheer audacity to play a couple of stinkers we get right on their cases.

Take today, for example. The ball gets played to Higdon after 4 minutes and he chests it down, turns and misplaces a pass. Uproar from the "fans" in the middle of the east stand.

The tone was set for the rest of the match right there & then.

It also appears that the team have the sheer cheek to retain possession when we have the ball. If there isn't a pass on going forward they do the unthinkable and play the ball backwards, looking to reset and move forward again.

A fucking disgrace!

Get it lumped forward so we can all moan like fuck when Higdon either doesn't jump for it or mis-controls it after taking it down!

One incident at around the 75th minute summed things up for me when Hately played the ball down the flank looking for Daley, only for the pass to get intercepted. The middle section of the east rose and fired the kind of abuse that should be reserved for a near-side throw in by Kyle Lafferty or Scott Brown.

Hately turned to the crowd with a look on his face like "what the fuck?!? Aren't you guys supposed to be supporting us?!?!"

If it wasn't for the boys up the far end of the stand I think the team would be hard pressed to get any support from the east.

If this is how we react when we're sitting 3rd in the table, four points clear of Hearts and two behind Celtic I'd hate to see us if we were fighting relegation.

Fucking disgraceful.

• Like 23

The booing for the substitution was ridiculous. Murphy was having a poor game and being out muscled everywhere, he brings on McHugh as he's a bit bulkier and it paid off.

Would Murphy have made that challenge McHugh made? No. So hats off to Stuarty for proving he knows what best for the team rather than most folk in the east stand who questioned the change.

The booing for the substitution was ridiculous. Murphy was having a poor game and being out muscled everywhere, he brings on McHugh as he's a bit bulkier and it paid off.

Would Murphy have made that challenge McHugh made? No. So hats off to Stuarty for proving he knows what best for the team rather than most folk in the east stand who questioned the change.

I dont think anyone questioned the change, they we questioning who was taken off.

It's an absolute joke. The about of times i heard McCall being called a wee dick was unreal all because he hadn't made a sub earlier. Some of our fans are arseholes.

He's not shy at having a dig back. Quite right as well. 3rd in the league after a Cup Final last season. Without doubt a very difficult 'support' to please.

Just got home from the Aberdeen game, and have to say that I'm seriously getting sick & tired with the moaning-faced c*nts that sit in the east stand.

I've heard the much-used "greatest fans in the world" slogan that Celtic fans like to throw around when talking about themselves, but I'm really starting to wonder if we should be branding certain sections of our support as the exact opposite.

In fact, the use of the word support perhaps shouldn't apply to these people. If we look up the term in the dictionary it reads as follows;

Now, entry number five is what should apply at Motherwell games, but going by recent reactions to the likes of Tim Clancy, Chris Humphrey, Stephen Craigan & Michael Higdon I think the last thing these people can call themselves is supporters.

It's no secret that the last few games haven't been our best. The above-mentioned players haven't exactly been firing on all cylinders (especially Higdon & Craigan). This is where the paying punter in the crowd comes into his own, right? When the players aren't on top of their game we step in and offer support (there's that word again) and encouragement to get them back on track?

Do we f*ck. If a player has the sheer audacity to play a couple of stinkers we get right on their cases.

Take today, for example. The ball gets played to Higdon after 4 minutes and he chests it down, turns and misplaces a pass. Uproar from the "fans" in the middle of the east stand.

It also appears that the team have the sheer cheek to retain possession when we have the ball. If there isn't a pass on going forward they do the unthinkable and play the ball backwards, looking to reset and move forward again.

A fucking disgrace!

Get it lumped forward so we can all moan like fuck when Higdon either doesn't jump for it or mis-controls it after taking it down!

One incident at around the 75th minute summed things up for me when Hately played the ball down the flank looking for Daley, only for the pass to get intercepted. The middle section of the east rose and fired the kind of abuse that should be reserved for a near-side throw in by Kyle Lafferty or Scott Brown.

Hately turned to the crowd with a look on his face like "what the fuck?!? Aren't you guys supposed to be supporting us?!?!"

If it wasn't for the boys up the far end of the stand I think the team would be hard pressed to get any support from the east.

If this is how we react when we're sitting 3rd in the table, four points clear of Hearts and two behind Celtic I'd hate to see us if we were fighting relegation.

Fucking disgraceful.

Excellently put sir. Some of the shouts today were a disgrace. "F*CKIN JUMP!!" Aye, Higdon should jump for a ball coming to him at chest height! Very good, mongos!

Get behind the team people, ALL of the team.

To say Motherwell fans are worse at dishing out abuse than other fans is one of the most stupid things Ive heard .Ive always found that it tends to be the same guys that dish out the verbal ,the supporter who was screaming abuse at Clarky 5 years ago is today screaming abuse at Higdon. Every club has them and I would bet percentage wise were no better or worse than any other club.Oh I and i would just like to add that we shouldn't be using words like mongos. :doh:

A fucking disgrace!

Fucking disgraceful.

Great post David. Same situation where I sit in the Cooper. Some of our so called fans would seem to prefer we lump the ball back to front every time rather than try and retain possession. I've been observing for a while the parallels between the way McCall's trying to set us up and the way Gannon did it, with trying to play the ball out from the back and retain possession. The plus side is that McCall won't drop players for taking route 1 when required.

If these idiots are this pissed off in a period of time when the team's doing well and we as fans are relatively spoiled, imagine how they'll be when the chips are down? Mass suicides?

As far as I see it - the £20ish per game or season ticket allows you to sit in the stand not the boardroom. If it did who would you have brought in? Peter Crouch? Didier Drogba?

Plenty of guys round me were giving the boo boys plenty back - so don't say folk are sitting just moaning about it. :whistling:

I hope Craigan or McCall come out and let these 'waste of a seat' know the same too.

As much as people think it's justified - the truth is it helps no one in claret and amber.

Bottom line is if it's you that's doing it yer fuck all use to anybody

It was actually quite embarrasing to be a 'Well fan where I was standing today in the disabled section. The shouts coming from the opposite side of the ground were cringeworthy at times and could be clearly heard which made it all the worse.

The Dons fans leaving at the end of the game couldn't believe how negative some of our support are. Brilliant impression to take home with them.

Why cant we just support the team no matter what, doesn't mean we cant have opinions about players just don't shout them out at the top of our voices.

Brilliant impression to take home with them.

Whos cares what impression dons supporters take home with them :laugh:

This is part and parcel of the game, folk pay their money and can enjoy the game whatever way they wish. Some happy clappy, some constantly moaning and takling shite. Thats the football supporter for ye.

Whos cares what impression dons supporters take home with them :laugh:

This is part and parcel of the game, folk pay their money and can enjoy the game whatever way they wish. Some happy clappy, some constantly moaning and takling shite. Thats the football supporter for ye.

If I want to enjoy the game by chucking stones at our players, is that cool then?

Fair do's then, if someone irritates you that much at the game, do something about it. The amount of whinging that goes on here about the nasty men booing in the east stand does my tits in. Either say something at the time, or stop greeting about it I say.

Lot of pish.

Last time I told someone to shut up he's down out his seat giving it all the hard man aggro, see you after the match at the gates shite. I'm there with a 6 year old and a 4 year old. Why should they be exposed to crap like that? Even if I wasn't there with kids why should I risk either getting chucked out the ground or lifted or being on an assault charge because other people can't behave?

If I want to enjoy the game by chucking stones at our players, is that cool then?

No cause throwing things onto the park at players is 1. Against the stadium / SPL rules and 2. assault.

If your going to try smart arse comments, at least make sure they make some sense ya doughnut.

So have any of you actually said anything to these terrible fans, or did you sit there all passive aggressive and think what you would post online as soon as you got home? Bunch of poofs.

Aye i did ! i sat down the south end of the east the first half and it was all about singing and giving the team encouragement.The second half i moved down the DC end Big Mistake .All you could hear was abuse mainly to Higdon .Told the guy in front of me that your supposed to support the team and ended in a bit of an argument.Is it worth it ?