Motherwell V Kilmarnock Sat 29 Aug 15:00

Good stuff for the first 25 minutes or so before we gradually ran out of ideas, following a similar pattern to previous weeks.

In truth we should have been out of sight but it turned into a turgid affair against a Killie team that defended well in numbers but offered little going forward.

Dom the bright spark again, albeit there is a lot to work on before he can establish himself as a first team regular. The form of McDonald is a concern. To his credit though, he continues to look for the ball despite knowing his touch and speed of play isn't what it should be.

Welcome 3 points that takes a little pressure off the club as we head into the International break.

Does your chat ever change????

If people are repeating the same mince, I'll happily call them out on it.

Important win but fans have an entitlement to be entertained.......

They can certainly hope to be entertained, and I think it's fair to say in the past 4 or 5 years, entertainment has been on show more often than not. I'm pretty sure, however, the current squad isn't playing badly just to annoy you.

& see there team have a go regardless of where we finished last season......

Maybe they aren't quite good enough to do that yet.

We should comfortably be a mid table team

We could well end up exactly there at the end of the season. I'm interested to see how we progress in that direction. I'm not expecting miracles before the end of August, though, because football doesn't work like that.

First 10mins i thought we were really good. Came flying out the blocks and were a real threat to Kilmarnock. At that point i was expecting/hoping a solid straight forward win as we were miles the better team.

Pen, was it a soft one? On my viewing i wouldnt have been going nuts had it not been given, maybe a replay will show it to be a stone waller but at the time i just thought thankyou very much ref.

After that we really went flat which was a shame. Some crazy subs as well worst one was bringing on another defender to invite more pressure for last 10mins.

Players wise, thought Dom was our best asset/biggest threat. As someone else noted, he did shoot straight at defenders too often. Still, cant really get annoyed at a Motherwell player actually trying to score which is a nice change.

Skippy was honking. He did try, but he wasnt up with the pace and his passing was woeful. In truth, he should have been first off and never seen 90mins. The boy with the beard and geordie shore cut, kennedy? was good at the back, deserves to keep his place. Laing is not a right back.

All in, some poor play but a few encouraging performances and above all, a wins a win!

COYW!

If people are repeating the same mince, I'll happily call them out on it.

They can certainly hope to be entertained, and I think it's fair to say in the past 4 or 5 years, entertainment has been on show more often than not. I'm pretty sure, however, the current squad isn't playing badly just to annoy you.

Maybe they aren't quite good enough to do that yet.

We could well end up exactly there at the end of the season. I'm interested to see how we progress in that direction. I'm not expecting miracles before the end of August, though, because football doesn't work like that.

I suppose this chat is for a whole different thread.

This thread we'll both agree on that it was a good 3 points

Great to see Dom Thomas start

Moult worked his socks off

Ainsworth drifted in and out

Leitch didn't do too badly at all

Skippy put in a shift but his passing was poor

Chalmers was solid and is quite composed on the ball

Kennedy is a raw laddie who has next to no passing ability

Law wasn't the worst and was aided by Lasley and Ainsworth for a change

We didn't work their keeper enough and we were saved by one top drawer first half Ripley save

Still three points will cheer up aSaturday nicely

Much work to be done though

Oh , and Taylor didn't put a foot wrong today, much better than he was last week

Should have hurt a poor Killie team after the penalty went in .Tactics still not clear in any way shape or form .Barra going mental a

few times trying to get players into the positions he wanted them in(are players not listening was my thought). Needed those three

points today.

Tactics seemed clear.

We start 4-2-3-1 with a fair bit of success.

Then second half they really went direct at our fullbacks. Our response was to go 4-1-4-1 which hemmed us in a bit. Following our subs, due to tiredness, we ended up with players in not quite right positions which firmed up the wide areas bit left us weak through the middle.

A wins a win I guess, and flips our recent performance versus points conundrum.

Impressed by Chalmers, Kennedy, wee bit raw by Dom but as others have said, even when things didn't come off for him, he tried, tried, tried again. Kudos.

Nice to be walking out FP with a smile on my face after a win, kinda forgot what that felt like for a while...

Ripley. Too tall for a goalie, shouts too much, and dives too often. Not in a shampoo advert either. Surely some sort of mind meld with Manuel Neuer is not asking too much.

Chalmers. If he keeps an injured Hammel out the team he must be rank.

McManus. Too old, too slow.

Kennedy Too young too fast. Was drawn out of position covering Law.

Law. Nepotism, coz his brother's, er something or other. Was drawn out of position covering Kennedy.

Lasley. At least six years past his sell by date. Never heard of a guy in his thirties play football, except for fives.

Taylor. Anonymous. Did he even touch the ball?

Thomas. Kept shooting! Far too young to be starting.More experience please!

Ainsworth. Lazy. Got pace but nothing else, couldn't cross the road. No wait, that was Humphries. England teir 7 IMO.

McDonald. Scored a last minute winner v Celtic. Illegal to criticise

Mould. Headless chicken. All that jumping and movement! What's that about? He's a No 9 Has he scored? NO. Well, apart from the times he has, obviously.

Laing. Came on at right back. Shocking, why replace Law?

Johnston. We paid money for him? Must have been a raffle ticket.Came on for a winger. Baffling substitution.

Some new striker guy. Came on for our striker. Baffling substitution.

Substitutions: Why does Baraclot insist on bringing a man on? next time you take one off put two on. Easy.

Baratit. Watched him at half time. Went up the tunnel a turned left. Clearly lost the dressing room.

Craigan. Why on Mars has he not produced more players. Five weeks into the season. Nothing. Sack him and free up a wage.

Supporters. Everyone who agreed with me was great. Others were happy clappy doom and gloom merchants. And what was all that noise about?

Crawford? Fitness? One of these players was panting after 85 minutes. Shocking.

Stadium. Falling apart piece of shite. Knock it down and build a superGreggs. We'll watch them doon The Calder. Hopefully they'll catch pleurisy getting the ball out the river.

Tactics. We should be playing the tried and tested 3-3-2-1-2 I perfected on my Amiga. I won the Ryder Cup with Luton Town FFS.

Quite simply the biggest pile of shite since the manure farm was hit by a jobby bomb. 3 points won, I'm raging

• Like 21

Ripley. Too tall for a goalie, shouts too much, and dives too often. Not in a shampoo advert either. Surely some sort of mind meld with Manuel Neuer is not asking too much.

Law. Nepotism, coz his brother's, er something or other. Was drawn out of position covering Kennedy.

Lasley. At least six years past his sell by date. Never heard of a guy in his thirties play football, except for fives.

Ainsworth. Lazy. Got pace but nothing else, couldn't cross the road. No wait, that was Humphries. England teir 7 IMO.

Mould. Headless chicken. All that jumping and movement! What's that about? He's a No 9 Has he scored? NO. Well, apart from the times he has, obviously.

Johnston. We paid money for him? Must have been a raffle ticket.Came on for a winger. Baffling substitution.

Substitutions: Why does Baraclot insist on bringing a man on? next time you take one off put two on. Easy.

Baratit. Watched him at half time. Went up the tunnel a turned left. Clearly lost the dressing room.

Craigan. Why on Mars has he not produced more players. Five weeks into the season. Nothing. Sack him and free up a wage.

Supporters. Everyone who agreed with me was great. Others were happy clappy doom and gloom merchants. And what was all that noise about?

Stadium. Falling apart piece of shite. Knock it down and build a superGreggs. We'll watch them doon The Calder. Hopefully they'll catch pleurisy getting the ball out the river.

Tactics. We should be playing the tried and tested 3-3-2-1-2 I perfected on my Amiga. I won the Ryder Cup with Luton Town FFS.

Quite simply the biggest pile of shite since the manure farm was hit by a jobby bomb. 3 points won, I'm raging

WTF.!!!! When the drugs, drink or both wear off can you repost a sensible comment

its hardly a reshuffling job swapping one player. In many peoples opinion an uncomfortable Laing is still a better option than Law. Kennedy can play right back, but by all accounts was having a very good game in the center. As for who comes off, i cant believe he would have chosen to take off his only other proper midfield player (Leitch), unless he needed to come off for either poor performance or fitness issues. Hopefully next week their are more options in the middle.

I wasn't at the game so I wont be commenting .How someone can comment on a game they were not at is beyond me .By all accounts ffs is that twitter

for anybody to take the time to type all that sense obviously should be given free beer at all the home games :) :) hahahaha I like this type of humour