Top 6 Fixtures....if We Make It

Pettywulliegrew-2

A couple of bigot brothers at my work were trying to work out the h**s and Smeltic final fixtures after the split ,and for them both to play 19 home and away fixtures,a couple of the scenarios they came up with (As they seem certain we are in the top six in front of Caley)

Were either us playing at Ibrox for a third time or Smeltic at the Arc for a third time.

They were trying to work out various different permutations and it was all becoming at bit confusing.

But if the top 6 fixtures go playing the same side home and away twice

they reckon we should be home against,Killie,h**s,Tarts and away Smeltic and Arabs

giving us 20 home and 18 away fixtures.

Going with the same formula for all the other teams that would be the same for Smeltic and Arabs, and with the h**s,Killie,Tarts playing 18 home and 20 away.

We then gave up........to may options trying to get 19/19 split :doh:

Any stattos out there could clear this up :blink:

Im sure last year we were the only one to lose out on the 19/19 split with the two additional away games :dash2:

Yeah we were due to get Celtic at home last year but ended being away. This year surely we should get 20 to compensate for that.

Am i not right in thinking it would Rangers at home given we have played Celtic twice at Fir Park? Then DUFC (A), Killie (H), Celtic (A), Hearts (H)

Could be wrong though. Going on the basis of who we have played where throughout the season.

Celtic should have to come back to Fir Park for a 3rd time given we went there 3 times last year. It's only fair after last season's debacle!

..."Just fucking try Mr SPL....." Celtic lawyer Paul McBride QC was heard to mutter, persecution complex at the ready. :whistling:

Funny how Rangers never go to Celtic 3 times or vice versa. Scottish football revolves around the old firm sisters, so nothin else matters.

Tbf if the teams that always end in top six were the same every year then everyone would play home and away twice against their oppenents.

And if yer maw had baws etc etc........

It's a farce, fitba' is unpredictable and this format relies on being able to predict in order to be fair. Which it doesn't, isn't and never will.

Celtic should have to come back to Fir Park for a 3rd time given we went there 3 times last year. It's only fair after last season's debacle!

It's a different season so what happened last season will have no effect on this season's fixtures. They will quite gladly give us less home games again & when we complain they just say oh well that's the way the jobby splatters.

They can't give us less home games we've played seventeen so we're actually only due two. However three of the teams are due to come to Fir Park. Kilmarnock seem to have played everyone the other place than we played Hibs so a way of sorting it would be just to flip Killie's fixtures so they play everyone either three home or three away but they won't do that. I suspect they might just flip our game with Killie and that should give everyone 19. And I'm sure they always said if its possible to give everyone 19 they will. Problem last season was 4 of the top 6 had played 16 home and 17 away at the split which makes it impossible. If you get a 3/3 split there you can do it. And I can't be arsed working out who has played how many home games.

It's a different season so what happened last season will have no effect on this season's fixtures. They will quite gladly give us less home games again & when we complain they just say oh well that's the way the jobby splatters.

Actually it does. The SPL do their fixtures based on teams continuing to end in the same half of the table from the previous season.

Spot on - the fixtures are effectively worked out at the beginning of the season based on the teams that finished in the top/bottom six at the end of the previous season. Totally crazy system as the nature of the game means that the league will never finish in the same order two seasons running but it works for the scum and thats all that matters!!

The SPL is basically designed and managed with the expectation that the six city clubs will always be the top six clubs and it completely f*cks the system up when us shitey wee teams finish in the top half!!

Spot on SuperCC. The SPL have this grand vision of Rangers, Celtic, Hibs, Hearts, Dun Utd, and Aberdeen making up the top six year in year out. It actually probably SHOULD happen like that.....but it disnae. In fact I think it has only happened once in Season 2008-2009.

After last season muck up by the spl we should have 3 home games this time round and as perviously posted hearts killie and rangers home and celtic dundee utd away. But we can never second guess what the spl will come up with dont be surprised if we get only 2 home games

It is not unusual for one set of the Old Firm to play an extra away game against a top six team. Rangers had to go to Pittodrie three times, twice.

If anyone gets screwed out of another home game against the Old Firm it WILL be Kilmarnock

Yeah you are right but how many times have Celtic had more away games than home?

As far as I know Killie were the team who shouldn't' be there so it only fair the get stuffed.

Anyway it's a good probelm to have is it not :nod:

Spot on - the fixtures are effectively worked out at the beginning of the season based on the teams that finished in the top/bottom six at the end of the previous season. Totally crazy system as the nature of the game means that the league will never finish in the same order two seasons running but it works for the scum and thats all that matters!!

The SPL is basically designed and managed with the expectation that the six city clubs will always be the top six clubs and it completely f*cks the system up when us shitey wee teams finish in the top half!!

If this is true then why did we get royally screwed last year when we finished top 6 the year before that? Just proves that even if your expected to finish top/bottom 6 there is no guarantee they won't screw you.

we've been top six 3 of the last 4 seasons.

city what?!!

If this is true then why did we get royally screwed last year when we finished top 6 the year before that? Just proves that even if your expected to finish top/bottom 6 there is no guarantee they won't screw you.

Does being in Oz mean you get the view the table upside down?

It would be some giggle if we turned either of the jobby mobs over on the last day of the season tae decide who wins the title.

It’s games like this that make the top 6 worth while. Unfortunately our record against Rangers is not good and I reckon they would be happy to play us. Celtic on the other hand...spiteful.gif