Motherwell Vs Celtic: Cup Final

dazamfc

display was xcellent lads, WELL done. pity the team couldn,t do the same. i,m not being harsh on the team they have had a long hard season & there was not enough left in their tanks today so not completely disheartened. there,s always next year. what players were saying their goodbyes today? we had a celtic supporter amongst us as when the 1st goal went in he totally celebrated it. his presence was quickly pointed out & he was escorted out. doubt it would,ve been safe to leave him ass-hole. onwards & upwards m.f.c.

Gutted about todays result but to be honest we looked like rabbits caught in the headlights for about the first 20 minutes. In saying that, If the shot off the bar had gone in it could have been a different story. A goal then would have at least asked Celtic a few questions. All in we were posted missing for a good 80 of the 90 minutes against a Celtic side that looked at times pretty average.

Plus point was the card display at the start, It looked brilliant! notworthy.gif

Reading through some of the posts on this thread and I honestly cannot believe the amount of folk saying that they were 'proud' of that today.

Proud of what exactly??? We were awful today and got exactly what we deserved. Second to every ball, allowed Celtic to cut us open at will and offered nothing up front. 3-0 flattered us if anything.

And off the park we were equally shite as the atmosphere in the Motherwell end was non existant and not even a patch on the 2005 CIS Final or even the two semi finals from this season. Completely outsung by the Celtic support all day long and it felt like a normal run of the mill league game instead of a Cup Final.

I left as soon as the second goal went in and make no apology for it as I refuse to highlight and applaud such a poor performance.

We were never really at the races were we? Shame to because I thought Celtic were looking pretty tired after 50-odd minutes and they could have been there for the taking.

McCall clearly put a lot of preparation in to our defensive side of he game but consequently we offered no cohesion going forward. I thought a 5 man midfield was the way to go but the inclusion of Hammell just invited them on to us. Why Hateley wasn't in there I'll never know.

Reading through some of the posts on this thread and I honestly cannot believe the amount of folk saying that they were 'proud' of that today.

Proud of what exactly??? We were awful today and got exactly what we deserved. Second to every ball, allowed Celtic to cut us open at will and offered nothing up front. 3-0 flattered us if anything.

And off the park we were equally shite as the atmosphere in the Motherwell end was non existant and not even a patch on the 2005 CIS Final or even the two semi finals from this season. Completely outsung by the Celtic support all day long and it felt like a normal run of the mill league game instead of a Cup Final.

I left as soon as the second goal went in and make no apology for it as I refuse to highlight and applaud such a poor performance.

Just chuck it then......Please?

Your haffin a laugh aye ? if not you should be banned for life ! Fuck off

I actually thought the atmosphere was pretty good considering the performance and result . Strange how some people see things differently.

Maybe it was better where you were sitting but from where I was it was dreadful. I was in the South Stand and you could hear a pin drop for most of the game.

Feeling completely raw now after today. I don't know how to unravel my thoughts. I think il just get some bitterness out.

*Players were shit. All of them.

*Card display was great... but, dare I say it, Celtics was marginally more impressive. (not to shit on the effort I know went in)

*Fans in my section had their arses glued to their seats and their lips glued shut.

*Rangers fans all left when the 3rd goal went in and it all looked bit patchy.

As for the positives:

*I made the most of my day, drank a healthy amount and rocked the kilt.

*Watched the 91 final (unbelievably for the first time)

*Seeing the bunting in town almost drew a tear.

*Met Dougie Arnott and his brother on my way to the ground

*Half time Pie was quite tasty and warm through.

It certainly felt as though we had plenty of spells in the game. I can't say Celtic outsang Motherwell, we clearly won that contest, Celtic fans only really came out their shell after each goal and the occasional huddle. I think what got me as the game unfolded was the fact Sutton was out on his own continually, though it didn't come as suprise to me. I had hoped he would change things sooner but we may have ended up conceding again if Jeffers had come on earlier. When it's all said and done i can see what the gaffer was trying to achieve, nick a goal and take it from there but even with Celtic playing within themselves, they still took 3 off us, and I knew before the game we would probably need 2 to win, I think that's where McCall got it wrong. You can't win a game without scoring and I thought the first two goals we lost, coming from professional players, were just a lack of concentration, especially the first, and you can't really afford to make mistakes when you're operating in a Scottish Cup Final.

Some people need to get a grip. I can almost put money on it that all thoes who left early were all these 'fans' that have came out the wood work.

How many other teams had a day out today?

We got to a final. Only conceded 4 goals in the full tounament.

I'm proud. Yes proud of my team!

Viva Motherwell

Your Good, either good or deluded.

Whether you are at the wind up or not makes no difference, you are getting tiresome now.

Hope you are happy ( and your mattress wallpaper is comfy).

I can't argue with the outcome, Celtic were deserved winners. Thought 3-0 was a bit flattering for them and we can point to a few game changing moments, few of which went for us, but I can't argue that they weren't deserving of their win.

Gunning's effort coming back off the bar. At that point there had been virtually nothing to separate the teams in terms of chances created. Their long range shot went in, ours hit the woodwork.

I really can't understand why Majstorovic stayed on the park after such a blatant handball having already been booked. Would it have made any difference? 65 minutes or so down to 10 men, you really have to wonder.

I haven't seen highlights yet but within minutes of making the change to try to take the game to Celtic a bit more they score with from the distance appeared to be a deflected own goal.

The one piece of luck we did get was Stephen Craigan's handball which we got away with. About the only thing Murray did seem to give us but a piece of good fortune nonetheless.

As I say, we can hardly claim to have been robbed but on another day had fortune smiled upon us a wee bit more it might have been different.

Disappointing as it is, I still retain immense pride in the team, support and club as a whole. Whilst the third was a goal too many for some it was heartening that so many stayed on to recognise the efforts of the team over what has been some season. Some time down the road we're going to be in a shitter of a relegation battle and look back fondly on this season and think, fuck me, how well did we do that year?

Always proud to be a Dosser.

I was in the South Stand and you could hear a pin drop for most of the game.

I was there for the semi and had a similar experience. You should have been in the West Stand as the atmosphere was pretty good for the majority of the match. I do agree though that the CIS semi against Hearts was for me the best atmosphere at a Well game in recent years.

Your Good, either good or deluded.

Whether you are at the wind up or not makes no difference, you are getting tiresome now.

Hope you are happy ( and your mattress wallpaper is comfy).

I think MJC is a total arsehole. Anybody agree ?

I was there for the semi and had a similar experience. You should have been in the West Stand as the atmosphere was pretty good for the majority of the match. I do agree though that the CIS semi against Hearts was for me the best atmosphere at a Well game in recent years.

Possibly was mate, I can only comment on what it was like from my own point of view. I just think it seemed flat for a Cup Final, both on and off the park, but hey ho, we did well to get there I suppose.

Didn't deserve a win today and that was disappointing. A couple of players stepped up a couple of players didn't manage it.

By fuck they put a shift in though

As did the vast majority of the support - don't let anybody kid you

As did all the support staff in the run up to this.

It wasn't our day - that's raw at the moment - but hey I'll be fine sometime soon.

I know one thing though I am proud to be part of the Motherwell FC family that have to struggle like fuck to achieve anything- that's something that not one of those smelly, ungrateful, smug LOSER bastards will ever know.

No matter the result today you're a winner in the well end.

If you're too blind to see that then more's the pity. Maybe Rangers IS the best option.

So, Fuck Off!

Currently rewatching the game. Celtic outsang us? Pish. Bar the 5 or 6 moments with the huddles/Neil Lennon/Just Can't Get Enough we outsang them the majority of the game.

Thats just plain wrong. The singing section were terrific but it never went beyond that.

You say bar the 5 or 6 moments celtic sang... I can't name one where we matched that. I'm sorry that was just my experience. I constantly had to turn my head because I couldn't look at them and knew we weren't replying on or off the pitch. They probably did pipe up after they scored, just as we went back into our shells.

Whole reason I was one of the few wanting to create our own anthem during the build. I can see now why that would never have kicked off.

I hate the sound of myself here. I love the motherwell support and wouldn't trade it for anything, particularly that filth. We just ain't the most vocal of fans.