Atmosphere At Fir Park

Dee

Looking forward to it Dundee Utd game, I'm heading up on the train.

Can you switch season ticket seats?

I sit in the Davie Cooper, have done for years and I love where I sit.

However, my point is,I think the singing section is great.

I would like to go back to my young days, (middle of the shed and singing like feck all through the game) and join in with the singing section.

In my opinion, that is what football is all about, not the constant moaning and getting on some players' back

I am 50 though and would be slightly drunk and wanting to sing all the old 70's classics as well as the new ones, (I'm sure there are more of us out there).

Why don't the guys of my generation move to the section beside the singing section and take our kids with us, 3 generations of Well fans belting out Well songs for 90

minutes, we would have the best atmosphere in Scotland.

YES! I remember when the shed was in full voice as was the wee terraces in front of the main stand where I stood and shouted and sang...even the bings (That's now the Cooper and South Stands)were in full voice.

Fir Park was magic back in the '70's with Joe Wark, Wullie P, Gregor Stevens, etc,... the fans... the pies... the brick wall as a toilet....the polis ... the Fir Park Club under the main stand...the crowds walking up the street... aye they were the days...It would be great to have something akin to that at Fir Park now....KEEP IT GOING LADS & LASSIES..........

:cheers: "...dont you take my Motherwell away.....We are the Motherwell FC ..... C'Mon ye 'Well!" :drinks:

I wasn't having a go at the Entire east stand just the booing morons. The lads at the end you are doing a great job in bringing the atmosphere back, well done.

As for the cooper being as bad no chance dull it may be but there was no booing from it. However time to move on and i find the way the lads were treated at the UTD game shocking and as someone previously put yes it does have something to do with age and it is easier to pick on them. I'm 38 and can remember 20 so years ago when we were all regularly searched when entering the ground, At Easter road in particular they lined us up and searched us 1 by 1. A few weeks ago a couple of younger guys were speaking to me in the Que waiting to enter Fir park i didn't know them and 1 of them had a can of beer. The steward took it off them and and then searched them for more, thinking i was with them he said "mind if i search you" i laughed and said no chance he didn't debate it and let me in, would the younger guys have got away with this I DOUBT IT.

Fondly remember the shed and the cage but prefer the view from the old Bing or the now Cooper but enjoy the singing from the East so keep it up and don't let the fookers grind you down, they were there when i was younger and are still there just they wont bully a grown man.

• 5 weeks later...

Probably the biggest game of the season so far in terms of maintaining our title challenge drinks.gif,so here goes my 'I have a dream' effort. Noticed another thread encouraging people to get along to the game,so I'm using this to encourage those who are at the match to be as loud and boisterous and possible. Encourage those around you to do the same.

Get behind the players for the full 90 as we've seen in recent weeks,even if we are having a 'mare we're still able to sneak late winners and play till the end.

Bring out any flags,scarfs etc that you have tucked away and get the place as noisy and colourful as possible and get the lads cheered on to victory.

Up the 'well!

Can only agree with what Rico has posted, massive game ahead and a loud and lively home crowd will only help to lift the players on the park. As McCall said in one of his recent emails, the atmosphere and singing seems to be more constant at away game, probably because most people have had a few drinks and are more up for the day out, but we really need to try and replicate that at home!

Here's a video from Inverness on Saturday, more of the same please!

Gutted I'm missing this along with a couple of the other guys from the end section. Booked flights to Oslo to see Aalesunds in the Norwegian cup final on Sunday and then due to Celtic playing Rennes tomorrow they go and move the 'Well game :wallbash: The idea of us going 6 points ahead of Celtic is making me think twice....

Some footage of the display at the Celtic game. Doesn't show it here but its spreading into the 2nd section.Maybe by the end of the season the whole East stand will be gettin in on the act

Was in the Cooper and couldnt see this so asked a Celtic friend what it was about and he said "a banner about terrorism" what a tit, should have known better as he said they sang " oooo ahh samara say ooooo ahh samara" sounded more like oooo ahhh up the rah to me. 10 mins in BTW.

May I make a suggestion some people want some of the old Well songs can someone put them on the site for the guys at the end of the east stand, and lets see when the sing them will it spread along the east stand

Here are a few 70's classics:

Wherever You May Be

We are the Motherwell FC

We hate the Hearts and we hate Dundee

We will go wherever you may be

Cause we are the boys of the MFC

To the tune of Dance Wherever You May Be

Pride of Lanarkshire

We're the pride of Lanarkshire :yahoo:

We're the pride of Lanarkshire

To the general tune of You're Not Singing Anymore

You are My 'Well

You are my 'Well

My only 'Well

You make me happy

When skies are grey

You'll know never just

How much I love you

So please don't take my Motherwell away

La la la, la la la :yahoo:

To the tune of You are My Sunshine

Can't You Hear Us

We are the 'Well; can't you hear us?

Walking along, singing a song

S****** on the Hibees all the way

To the tune of Winter Wonderland :yahoo:

???????

We hate Glasgow Rangers

We hate Celtic too, they're s****

We hate Heart of Midlothian

But Motherwell we love you

To the tune of Land of Hope and Glory

:yahoo:

Some more Classics, :yahoo: :yahoo: :yahoo:

Motherwell

Motherwell, Motherwell, Motherwell

Little tune, very repetitive

'Well Flag

Do you know where hell is?

Hell is Easter Rd

Heaven is the Fir Park

Where the Hibees s*** their load

Oh, I was born under a 'Well flag

A 'Well, 'Well flag

To the tune of I was Born Under a Wand'rin' Star

Away the Lads

Away the lads

You should've seen us coming

We're only here to drink your beer

And ***g your f****** women

All the lads and lassies

Had smilies upon their faces

Walking down the Fir Park Rd

To see the Motherwell aces

To the tune of Blaydon Races

A Claret and Amber Ribbon

She wore, she wore

A claret and amber ribbon

A claret and amber ribbon in the merry month of May

And when

I asked

Her, why she wore a ribbon

She said it's for the 'Well and we're gonna win the cup

Win the cup, win the cup

To the tune of She Wore a Yellow Ribbon

We Were There

When the 'Well,

Went Up,

To lift the Scottish Cup,

We were there, we were there

To the tune of the Quartermasters Store

5-2

As I walked down the Copland Road

I heard a mighty clamour

For the boys in blue

Got f***** 5-2

By the boys in claret and amber

To the tune of 'Carnwath Mills' (We're No' Awa' to Bide Awa' )

Doon ye Go

Eeh I oh

Doon ye go

Airdrie, Airdrie

To the tune of?

Boom Boom

Boom, boom, boom

Let me hear you say 'Well

'WELL

Tune of Boom Boom

?????

Oh the 'Well fans don't carry razors

Oh the 'Well fans don't carry chains

Oh the 'Well fans we just carry shot guns

To blast out the jam tart brains

To the tune of?

By the Light of the Silvery Moon

By the light (by the light, by the light)

Of the silvery moon (silvery moon, silvery moon)

We f***** the boys (f***** the boys, f***** the boys)

We f***** the boys in maroon (4-2, 3-0)

To the tune of By the Silvery Moon

We Love You 'Well

We love you 'Well, we do

Oh, Motherwell we love you

To the tune of?

The Fir Park Terracing

From the slopes of the Fir Park terracing

onto it's playing fields so green;

There's eleven stalwart warriors,

the best you've ever seen.

Tho' they may not be league champions

Or not even runner's up

They have humbled mighty Sassenachs

in the old Texaco Cup.

For they halted Stoke's endeavour,

in a hard and bitter fight;

Then they thrashed the Spurs of Tottenham,

on a cold November night;

So applaud those gallant warriors

with a loud triumphant yell;

And always speak in reverance,

on the mighty Motherwell.

Then bring on Wolves or Derry

As it matters not at all;

For the answer to each one of them,

has the writing on the wall.

And we the staunch supporters,

are always proud to tell;

Of the wonderful achievements of

the mighty Motherwell.

Up The 'Well

We're the boys from the 'Well

And We're doing very well

You will find us at Fir Park

The home of foo-ootball

Of the Steelmen we are proud

Shout their praises long and loud

We will follow them wherever they may go

Chorus:

Up the 'Well we will shout

As the Gers and Celts we rout

We've the spirit and the skill

To set them reeling

Claret & Amber colours true,

Far ahead of green & blue

They'll remember Motherwell

For many a day

Frae the tap o' the toon

Tae the Cross and further doon,

You can hear the roar that greets

You through the tunnel

Then the ref his whistle blows,

And the more he volume grows,

As we hail the Scottish team

That beats them all.

(Chorus)

You may travel far and wide,

Watch the Thistle or the Clyde,

Or the Hearts and Hibs

At Easter Road in combat,

But we'd cross both sea and surf,

just to view the Fir Park turf,

Or to cheer the Steelmen

On to victory

(Chorus)

Don Goodman Song

Don Goodman, Don Goodman

He has afro hair

Don Goodman, Don Goodman

He is everywhere

He gets the ball

Then he scores a goal

Don Goodman, Don Goodman

He is everywhere

To the tune of Robin Hood

??

As I was slowly passing fir park one day

I stopped there for a moment, just to watch the well play

Alone a boy was standing

And when I asked him why

He turned with eyes that could not see

And he began to cry

OH WELL OH WELL WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS

To the tune of Lonely Child - Alexander Brothers!

The bells of the Well go ting -a - ling -a ling

ting - a - ling a - ling , ting -a - ling a ling ,

the bells of the Well go ting - a - ling - a -ling

for you ya Jam Tart B*****D .

Oh , Wullie Wullie , Wullie Wullie Wullie Wullie

P E T T I G R E W .

repeat chorus ( if you remember the words )

Wullie PettigrewHis name is Wullie Pettigrew, he's the leader of the team

The greatest cetre forward that the world has ever seen

He's in

He's out

He's running about

And scoring the winning goal

As as for Derek Johnston (or similar)

You can stick him up yer holena na na

na na na na na

na na na na na na na na na na na

(to the tune of MacNamara's Band)

THE CLARET AND AMBER IS SOARINGWHEN ALL OUR FORWARDS ARE SCORINGTHE FOOTBALL IS SWELLTHEY PLAY FOR THE WELLSIDE BY SIDE(to the tune of Walking Along Singing A song Side By Side)

The sounds of the seventies...from the slopes of the Fir Park terraces...

but I don't remember F*** the boys by the light of the silvery moon? Whit did you get up tae behind the south bing Gordy?:blink::doh:

Some of the guys from that era will back me up on that one, if you know what I mean. :evilgrin::evilgrin: :evilgrin:

By the light of the silvery moon, (altogether now) :whistling: :whistling: :whistling:

• 3 weeks later...