Celtic Vs Motherwell Discussion Thread

First and last visit to this shithole. When you get 6 and 7 year olds runnin up to disabled supporters shoutin "F*** off you dirty orange B******* egged on by their fathers then it aint worth the hassle, especially when you bring it to the attention of the Anti sectarian polis who tell you "they're only weans" while trying to train their video cameras on the Motherwell fans while conveniently ignoring the Green Brigade. I walked out in disgust after 75 mins

If any Celtic fans insist that they don't have a problem and its only a "minority" who act like that then I at least will know that they are actually living in cloud cuckoo land

Establishment have been accepting telling lies about this mob for years. Nothing will change, mere lip service paid to any 'problems' they have, still waiting to hear if any of the Green Brigade had their season ticket confiscated for the 'Bloostained Poppies' banner, amazing really for such a on the ball in every other area club. They thrive on the scum element, based their entire existence out of turning a blind eye to the undesirables that make up the majority of their support and have the mheedja eating out their hand to peddle the continuing myths they wish to serve on the general public.

Well that was my first time at Celtic park in over 30 years and outwith a cup tie I wont likely be back, a hapless display from a Motherwell side and the police and stewarding during the match was shocking. I was in the Oak bar before and after the game and spoke to a few decent Celtic chaps but most were tossers .One guy didn't want to discuss the match all he wanted to know was who I wanted to win next weeks old firm match, But the beer was good so not a totally wasted day.

No one mentioning it? Keith Lasley, again, was a bombscare in the middle of the park. When he wasn't falling over he was passing the ball straight to the opposition (see Dunfermlines 2nd goal for an example of previous for this this year). Very worrying as he was seemingly a pace behind the game most of the time, any reason?

Disappointing the way we set up, Higdon for all the will in the world is not suited to a lone striker role, what's more annoying though is that at least 3 of their goals came from us being slack in possesion, cardinal rule of playing a bigger team is don't give the ball away cheaply in midfield as they broke with pace and ease so often from it.

Waited till today to post,to let the blood pressure go down ,so here's my view of the Celtic park "experience"

On the park... from the second the first goal went in it was a question of how many.you can talk about tactics,team selection ,refs etc but the fact is they have better players in every department and the gulf between the old Firm and the rest is as big as it ever was.

Off the park ..what an absolute fucking joke. Thought the last time was bad but yesterday was the worst ever.A big well done to the young guys trying to creat a bit of atmospere in the well support . Absolutley hounded from the minute they got to the turnstiles to the minute they left. some fuckwit steward was lecturing them as i walked up to the gate . ".Your flagpole exceeds the allowed specifications" and It all went downhill from there .My mate got threatend with arrest for saying its only a flag., Tannys booming out how they welcome all creeds and classes,well that obviously doesn't include the "Durty orange bastards fae Murrawell" Used to enjoy my trips there but our group of four 40ish guys said thats our last . Would go for a one off cup game maybe but a league game .never again!

At this rate in five years time we'll have about ten fans there. wonder how many Well fans there yesterday actually wont go back ,bet there's a lot! Hope they get thrashed on thursday,fucking vermin!!

No one mentioning it? Keith Lasley, again, was a bomb scare in the middle of the park. When he wasn't falling over he was passing the ball straight to the opposition (see Dunfermline's 2nd goal for an example of previous for this this year). Very worrying as he was seemingly a pace behind the game most of the time, any reason?

Spot on, Keith on a bad run of form at the moment, three winnable home games coming up time to drop Lasley give Forbes a chance .

Off the park ..what an absolute fucking joke. Thought the last time was bad but yesterday was the worst ever.A big well done to the young guys trying to creat a bit of atmospere in the well support . Absolutley hounded from the minute they got to the turnstiles to the minute they left. some fuckwit steward was lecturing them as i walked up to the gate . ".Your flagpole exceeds the allowed specifications" and It all went downhill from there .My mate got threatend with arrest for saying its only a flag., Tannys booming out how they welcome all creeds and classes,well that obviously doesn't include the "Durty orange bastards fae Murrawell" Used to enjoy my trips there but our group of four 40ish guys said thats our last . Would go for a one off cup game maybe but a league game .never again!

At this rate in five years time we'll have about ten fans there. wonder how many Well fans there yesterday actually wont go back ,bet there's a lot! Hope they get thrashed on thursday,fucking vermin!!

Yesterday was the last time for us, ok'd the flags, as soon as we were through the turnstiles they had the lad carrying our flags then said no, so we were all inside and he was out, with the flags. Left as they chucked out a younger lad and got nothing but vile abuse outside. Thanks to all the well fans applauding us as we left.

Last time i'm going there, am i fuck giving that horrible excuse of my club any more money! We had a good drink in the seven ways in Bridgeton before hand, walked down London road to the turnstyles and as soon as we got there.....well the day just got worse. Our flagpoles weren't allowed, phone calls were made etc but they were eventually allowed in. Start of the game was good for us, good bit of singing then a young chap gets chucked out for god knows what?!

I get a warning for singing if you hate neil lennon, and if i did it again i was arrested! What's the difference between me singing that and there horrible lot singing if you hate the glasgow Rangers?! Around the 70 minute mark one of our lot gets chucked out for once again god knows what?! I think it was for actually giving a horrible bawbag the vickys! We all said during the week if one went, we all went so we stuck to our word and left the stadium.

Outside the brendan bowl was even worse. Celtic fans from there "family(mongo) section" appeared to be leaving in numbers which came to folk winding each other up. Walking up London Road and a couple of neds, complete with there white trackies, red trackies and general neddish style tried to start on a few of us. This ended up coming to a square go which yon wee ned with the white trackie should have ended up with a sore face before two police vans steam in, letting them walk but manhandling us. One of our lot who just had an operation on his shoulder not that long ago was quite simply hut a good few times on the sare shoulder by strathclydes finest. Another boy sticks up for him but was then forced up against a wall by two coppers who were laying the boot in to him! Police escort all the way back to the station was fun, told if we looked back the way or stepped off the pavement it would have involved an arrest. Jobsworth bastards the lot of them.

Sadly i've no much to say about the game, we weren't that poor, celtic were just far superior than us. The better team won. We can have no complaints.

Sad thing is we like the rest of the "diddy teams" have just got to lie down and take it in the teeth, as kmcalpin says were fighting a big part of the establishment ,most of the media,police,stewards and match officials will be celtic or rangers minded ,were always up against it home or away. Can we do anything ,complain to the club but what can or will they do ,boycott the fixture ,who would care and the media would paint us the bad guys anyway.

Aye ill certainly not be back to that shitehole. How can one of our fans get ejected against rangers for a flag say "We've got Law and he hates h**s" yet a few thousand of them get away with singing "go home ya h**s"??

Stewards just looked to use their power for the whole game, getting the police to have a word with folk for nothing. Was good to see the boys up the back leaving in protest, get treated like shit at that stadium.

As for the game, nobody turned up, simple as.

Has anyone ever written to Celtic to complain about the treatment?

I haven't been in the away end at parkhead for a few years, but it's been like this for long enough.

If anyone has a genuine grievance at how they were treated, maybe they should write to MFC and CFC.

Perhaps we could get together with other SPL clubs, who I know experience the same treatment, and request our clubs refuse their allocation. Cutting off our nose to spite our face, maybe, but might highlight the issue? Maybe even make the media take notice?

Real radio phone in used to be quite good for asking questions of clubs in these sort of situations? Not sure if they still do, as ewen Cameron was the one asking questions.

Unfortunately, although you may feel you were treated harshly, they may just say your behaviour was not acceptable, and they never heard or saw anything happening to their right, and anyway 2 wrongs don't make a right...

FTOF

Thinking of emailing Celtic about the treatment of the fans yesterday. Would anyone have any objections?

I cannot imagine anyone having any objections, however, in my opinion, the case would be greatly enhanced if any video evidence was submitted.

Notwithstanding the fact that I can barely manage internet access from an android 'phone, I am aware that there are several home-made versions of Faddy's Paris goal on YouTube.

Maybe something to consider for the 'next time'; though it appears, judging by the posts above, that there may never be a 'next time' for many who went yesterday.

This adds to my last experience of Celtic Park which was very unpleasant; mainly down to the stewarding.

So, in the words of Vince Taylor's Brand New Cadillac (covered by the Clash) in relation to Celtic Park, I can confidently state- "I ain't never coming back"!!!

SD

Anyone like to add anything

"Dear Sir/Madam

I am writing to complain about the treatment of Motherwell fans at Saturdays match.

Never before in my life have I felt like a criminal, until Saturday. This was caused by jobsworth Stewards and Police Officers who were on an apparent power trip. A young Motherwell fan was thrown out for making a rude gesture at Celtic fans who were doing the exact same to him. What is the world coming to if you can't wind up opposition fans at a football match. I sincerely doubt that the fan would have been thrown out if he was a Rangers Fan at an Old Firm game. Even on Celtic Fans on the train back to Motherwell agreed that it was harsh and suggested that we make the complaint.

Also when the young fan was thrown out, a number of Motherwell fans walked out in protest to this and the treatment they had received at previous matches. Whilst they were doing this, the home fans began to sing "Go home ya h*ns, go home", a few weeks ago at Fir Park, another Motherwell fan was thrown out by the Police for having a flag which said that same word on it. I believe the phrase is "One rule for one person, a different rule for another."

After the match many Motherwell fans have decided to boycott Celtic Park in protest.

I look forward to hearing your feedback."

The simple answer to this is to boycott games at Celtic & Rangers. Why waste your money when you could simply use the money to attend a Motherwell home game, or if you have a season ticket, give the money to a mate to attend a Motherwell home game, or buy something from the club shop?

I wouldn't spend any of my money in either of those grounds.

tigerwoods you are complaining about harsh treatment but admit guilt its hardly convincing on the face of it

I'm not saying there is nothing to complain about its just your letter doesnt show anything unjust happened, in fact you provide evidence against Motherwell fans

i agree with everyone else the polis and stewards at celtic park are total arseholes theres just no need for it.yesterday was the last ill no be going back to celtic park anytime soon and probably ibrox too for that matter cause its no any better any enjoyment of trying to support your team at these grounds is quickly stamped out by the stewards.the money i save from no visiting these 2 shiteholes will be put into our club through the well society

No, not at all, by getting up and leaving we showed solidarity with a fellow well fan who was unfairly removed.

With someone holding up a Union Flag on your way out.

I have been a huge fan of our singing section this season, has really made a difference to both my enjoyment of the games and the team and players themselves, and I do agree that the police and stewards were just waiting for the first excuse to wade in, but with both of those in mind, I have to say that the Union Flag and the Seig Heil additions into the chants, put me off more than any stewarding or police issues. What a pile of absolute pish to be associated with. If folk want to do that, then that's their business, im not particularly commenting on those things themselves or to get into a debate about it. What I am saying however, is that if the aims for that group of lads revolve around getting as much of our support as possible to join in (which has been happening to great effect at games so far), then you have to keep and personal beliefs/interests/opinions out of it, and appeal to the masses.

Like I say this season the guys responsible for that section have been amazing, but the reason for that seemed to be there was a bit of maturity and responsibility coming through, and have rightfully been revelling in the fact that they represent the wider fanbase, and doing it in a way that has really earned the respect of the rest of the support. Yesterday im afraid just saw a few things slip back into the reasons that many Motherwell fans have spent the last 2 seasons writing them off as an embarrassing annoyance. If you want the wider support to join in with the chants and that kind of atmosphere to become widespread at our games, then it's completely counter-productive to include things that alienate people and make them not want to be a part of it. Like I say, the tail end of last season...particularly the cup final efforts, and everything from this season was really starting to grow a lot of genuine respect from the rest of the fans, the club and in the last few weeks, the media. Don't fuck it up after all that with petty wind-up pish that many folk just don't want anything to do with.

If your aims are to get as many people involved as possible, you have to keep it neutral and appeal to as many people as possible. If your aim is to express your own personal opinion of what you think should be okay, then you have to accept that most won't agree, and you'll always be a tiny minority within the support, and all your efforts will be pointless as the majority folk won't want to be associated with it. You can't have it both ways.

Its difficult though Al, there is no official "group" as such, theres a nucleus of about 20 mates who organise flags, songs, money raising etc and then there is quite a large peripheral bunch of people that come along to games and help join in with the songs. Its great that they want to join in and help out but we cant really be responsible for their behaviour, I can assure you that the "sieg heils" are coming from the main organisers.(cant comment on the flag, I didnt go yesterday)

Its actually one of the main reasons there is no official group, this is meant to be something for the whole support to get involved in, thats the aim anyway.

The money i save from no visiting these 2...... will be put into our club through the well society

A very sensible suggestion. If you're going to spend cash on football then give it to our own club through the Society and not to the OF. I wouldn't give them so much as 1p and haven't done so for years.