Loadsamoney

Welldaft Mk1

In the Evening Times that Motherwell were paid £1.7m for finishing 3rd last year. Table as follows:

Celtic £3.06m

Rangers £2.7m

Motherwell £1.71m

Aberdeen £1.53m

Dundee Utd £1.44m

Hibs £1.35m

Falkirk £1.26m

Hearts £1.17m

Inverness CT £1.08m

St Mirren £990k

Kilmarnock £900k

Gretna £810k

Did not read the whole article but I thought that we got £60k for each league placing which meant a sum of £600k approx. Where has the extra £1m come from? Note also that the Gers in 2nd place got a full £1m more than the Well whilst we only got less than £200k more than the Dons!! Bit of a stitch up that.

Prize Money (Difference from place )

Celtic £3.06m

Rangers £2.7m (360K)

Motherwell £1.71m (£1 Million)

Aberdeen £1.53m (£180K)

Dundee Utd £1.44m (90K)

Hibs £1.35m (90K)

Falkirk £1.26m (90K)

Hearts £1.17m (90K)

Inverness CT £1.08m (90K)

St Mirren £990k (90K)

Kilmarnock £900k (90K)

Gretna £810k (90K)

This is an ABSOLUTE stitch up designied to maintain the Duopoly of the Old Firm!!

Look at the increments. Celtic £3million odd to Rangers' £2.7m, an Increment of just over three hundred grand, you would expect the same 'difference' between 2nd and third - Nope! 1 Million of a difference!!! Then back to 200grand of a difference between third and fourth before finding some steady ground with drops of around 100K!

Absolute scandal of the highest order!!!

It is the fact that there is a million of a difference between 2nd and third to keep the team finishing third at bay while there is practically a nominal difference between the top two so the Old Firm finishing first won't have an 'unfair advantage' over the other with more money to spend, thus ensuring as competitive a league between them two as possible the next season!!!

Disgusting!!

How about we get back to where the money went,if this is accurate 1.7 million was not what we had in mind for the budget for this season, given that their was very little improvement made to the playing staff,just where did this extra income go.Im certain it didnt go on pitch improvements.Think we should be asking our beloved owner some hard questions....if these are accurate.............

With the sale of porter then that's 2.1 million and as mark mcghee stated he was able to use chris's wages to strengthen the squad but no more.

We won't go out and purchase players anymore those days are long gone.

We had a big scare with administration a few years back and as long as that money is being used correctly to insure the longevity of the club i won't grumble.

How about we get back to where the money went,if this is accurate 1.7 million was not what we had in mind for the budget for this season, given that their was very little improvement made to the playing staff,just where did this extra income go.Im certain it didnt go on pitch improvements.Think we should be asking our beloved owner some hard questions....if these are accurate.............

There's absolutely no point in speculating about our finances, as most folk on these Boards have little or no idea what our income is & how it is comprised; and what our expenditure is let alone how that is comprised. Much of that will only become known when the accounts are published prior to the AGM. I'd add that most folk haven't a clue about the costs a football club incurs.

It's not exactly a stitch-up though. It's the entire basis of the SPL which all the member clubs are happy to entertain.

It's always been a stitch up wee yin, every decision made to change the leagues about, distribution of TV cash, voting rights etc etc, everything suits them two otherwise it wouldn't get through the process. Problem is the diddy clubs hanging onto their coat-tails scavenging for scraps if they decide to leave any. Oh for a set of chairman with balls collectively standing firm against them. :)

Oh for a set of chairman with balls collectively standing firm against them. :)

And the 5% surcharge this season was the perfect time for everyone to stand up to both the old scum. Falkirk had the balls to do it and whilst our location in Central Scotland meant it should have been easy for us to do the same as Falkirk, we went brown-nosing the arses of both of them.

Cant see the rest of the SPL ever getting a better chance to stand together on an issue so we better get used to them taking all the cash :)

There have been opportunities before, remember the Diddy 10 were supposedly standing firm until it came to the crunch and they backed down, was it league reconstruction issues? This is what we have but it seems it's only the fans of the diddy clubs who recognise it. I'm that used to it I expect nothing more, resigned to it I think is the term. Nothing will change in Scottish fitba' until that happens so gnashing and wailing won't change a thing.

It's always been a stitch up wee yin, every decision made to change the leagues about, distribution of TV cash, voting rights etc etc, everything suits them two otherwise it wouldn't get through the process. Problem is the diddy clubs hanging onto their coat-tails scavenging for scraps if they decide to leave any. Oh for a set of chairman with balls collectively standing firm against them. :)
But that's my point. Every club involved in the SPL knows exactly what is going on and willingly accepts it. If you enter the agreement in full knowledge of the situation, there is no "stitch-up".

This is an ABSOLUTE stitch up designied to maintain the Duopoly of the Old Firm!!

Look at the increments. Celtic £3million odd to Rangers' £2.7m, an Increment of just over three hundred grand, you would expect the same 'difference' between 2nd and third - Nope! 1 Million of a difference!!! Then back to 200grand of a difference between third and fourth before finding some steady ground with drops of around 100K!

Absolute scandal of the highest order!!!

It is the fact that there is a million of a difference between 2nd and third to keep the team finishing third at bay while there is practically a nominal difference between the top two so the Old Firm finishing first won't have an 'unfair advantage' over the other with more money to spend, thus ensuring as competitive a league between them two as possible the next season!!!

Disgusting!!

its not 3 millon odd, its 3.6 compared to rangers 2.7 which is just under a million, whilst rangers are getting 2.7 to your 1.71, which again is just under a million, its done pretty fairly fot the top 3, 900k per place, what is ther to moan about?