'rebel 10' Have Requested A Meeting Of The Spl On April 12Th

Ocelot Groomin'

Where is the reference for this...?

on bbc now clicky

Civil war is threatening to break out in the Scottish Premier League, with Celtic at odds with their rivals over organisational reform.

The 10 clubs outside the Old Firm are to propose an alteration to the league's voting system at a special general meeting on 12 April.

They want a 9-3 decision to push through major change in Scotland's top flight rather than the current 11-1.

The 10 will also seek a more even distribution of revenue.

However, just how they intend to push through these proposals is unclear.

And Celtic are deeply unhappy with the suggested changes.

Sources close to the Parkhead club argue that the Old Firm contribute around 85% of the SPL's revenue, while they are disappointed by the other clubs getting together without consulting them.

Celtic fear that changes to the status quo could jeopardise future sponsorship deals

It has also been suggested that changes to the voting structure or distribution of income could threaten any takeover of Rangers, who are currently in the hands of administrators.

It is understood that potential buyers of the Ibrox club may be put off by any uncertainty over future revenue.

Asked whether the situation threatened potential civil war between the 10 and the Old Firm, one chairman told BBC Scotland: "It's not potential civil war. It's on."

Another chairman added: "I hope it doesn't end up in civil war. You have to ask why Celtic are so upset at changing to a 75% rule that would exist in many other businesses.

"Why are they scared of change and a 75% majority running the league. They will do all in their powers to control Scottish football. They have no concern for Scottish football, only themselves."

He added: "No clubs are of a mind to change the distribution of money that radically changes the situation to the disadvantage of Celtic and Rangers.

"But you have to ask them why do you really need this power?

"We must drive through change in the next 18 months or we will go backwards. What the ten must focus on is to shape the game going forward, to bring the change we know the game badly needs."

A third chairman told BBC Scotland: "The rest of us are fed up of the Old Firm. Forget Rangers for the moment since they are in administration, what we have here is one club dictating to the top end of Scottish football.

"They are not going anywhere, English football doesn't want them and they have done their damnedest to get out of Scotland for the last 10 years. Do they want to play in a league of two?

"We want to change the voting rights to be able to change the game for the better.

"We need to have a stronger championship or SPL2 in place. Relegation can cost clubs £1.5m and we need to provide a softer landing place. We want change for the good of all of Scottish football. This is about democratic change." by Jim Spence

fingers crossed they break the old firm strangle hold on the SPL and as for Scottish football need the old firm, who would the old firm be playing against each week if it wasn't for the rest of the teams in Scotland? Oh I forgot they're going to feck of Englund

Celtic not happy. Finally the chairmen have grown a set & said we are taking the power back from you & we are taking your lion's share of money & if you don't like it then you can feck right off coz like it or not no other mug wants you so you're stuck here. Celtic (& Ragers if they come back) coming to the realisation that they are stuck in this league & the league aren't going to take their crap anymore so they spit the dummy & go in the huff. Cry all you want boys what are you going to do about it leave & join the league of Ireland? GIRFUY

(or alternatively the other chairmen will bend over again & let themselves be shafted once more)

Won't hold my breath on anything major coming of this. But change is needed and this could be a step in the right direction.

Can't understand Celtic's outrage at us having a meeting without them? What about their 5% on ticket sales pish a few years back, to name but one incident.

Hope we can hold them to ransom to get the league living to its full potential.

Without the OF we'll still have (at least) a ten team league, and a more competitive one at that albeit with a less impressive TV package than we have now, whatever that's worth.

Without US the old firm would have a 2 team league built around hatred and sectarianism.

And we need them? :lol:

Mon the diddies!

How can 10 out of a 12 team league be rebels though? Such a word would usually refer to a minority group fighting against a majority.

10 out of 12 is a democratic majority.

This!

The connotations of the word 'rebel' also tend to be more negative than positive, I'd prefer it to be 'the 10 good guys fighting the rebel 2'... that may not catch on right enough :whistling:

Such a word would usually refer to a minority group fighting against a majority.

Don't think numbers come into it. The word refers to people struggling against the recognised authority of power (or establishment to coin another favoured west of Scotland term).

CELTIC have threatened to withdraw all co-operation with Sky over plans to change SPL voting.

Record Sport understands the champions-elect may refuse to work with the TV giant ahead of this weekend’s Old Firm match, barring the bare minimum required under SPL rules.

The threat is in response to the resolution presented last Friday by the 10 clubs outwith the Old Firm aimed at ripping up the league voting structure.

With Rangers plunged in administration, the SPL 10 want change but Celtic disagree.

And yesterday they told SPL chief executive Neil Doncaster they will continue their stance until the 10 ditch the proposals.

The SPL recently agreed a five-year, £80million extension to their TV contract which will kick in this August and run until the summer of 2017.

Ironically, Celtic boss Neil Lennon was a pundit for Sky at last night’s St Mirren v Hearts clash but the threat to withhold access ahead of Sunday’s Old Firm derby is real and sources inside the SPL fear for the future of the new deal.

It is understood Celtic have spoken with Sky but the move has outraged the non-Old Firm chairmen.

The 10 signed up to a document put before the SPL board asking for a resolution to be discussed at next month’s meeting of all clubs.

The SPL clubs believe the 11-1 majority required for any kind of structural change is undemocratic, allowing the Old Firm a stranglehold on the game.

A source within the 10 said: “We have 10 clubs trying to make the league more democratic and one trying to dictate their agenda to everyone.

“But Celtic know without Sky money, every club in the league is up the creek.”

A Celtic spokesperson said: “We are sure all supporters would regard these attempts to create division and uncertainty as very concerning, particularly given the current state of the game in Scotland.

You never watched Star Wars?

I have and I suppose whether it's negative or positive depends on what you're rebelling against... however, by dubbing a group as rebels they are instantly thought of as a minority which is not the case here. Star Wars aside, more often than not the rebel side will lose, which is why I'm sure the media and the old firm will be keen to portray the 'diddy' teams as the rebels.

On another note... Celtic are getting more and more ridiculous with every statement they release, this motto of "Everyone's against us, it's a conspiracy!" is being taken to extremes these days.

How can 10 out of a 12 team league be rebels though? Such a word would usually refer to a minority group fighting against a majority.

10 out of 12 is a democratic majority.

'Rebel - participant in a rebellion. Rebellion - refusal of obedience or order aimed at destroying or replacing an established order'

More than happy to be called a rebel on that definition.

Hail Hail the revolution! Lol!