Straight Question To The Board Of Mfc Re. Rangers Newco

Steve Diggle

147 members have voted

1. 1. Should The NEWCO Be Allowed Back Into The SPL?

David, if others vote for it they would have no choice :)

I'm not saying they wouldn't, I'm just saying that I don't think we're entitled to half of Celtic (or anyone else's) home ticket allowance.

The television money comes into the league as a whole, thus should be evenly split among the clubs, but the attendance is different in my eyes.

I only want my club to get what they deserve, not to be leeching from Celtic because they happen to have more fans through the gate than us.

I'm a big fan of more equal revenue sharing and find it slightly ironic that the country where this type of 'socialist' activity it is practised the most is here in the capitalist US.

Whether it's salary caps and equal distribution of income like the NFL or luxury taxes and big teams giving to smaller teams like the MLB, it tends to lead to a more even playing field.

Of course, the reason this is done is because the owners are smart enough to realise that, in the long term, keeping teams closer to parity makes for a more competitive league which in turn draws in more fans and generates more revenue.

One day, the short sighted suits in the SPL might finally get it.

How did split gates work in the past. Was it half of the attendance-season ticket holders or was it just half of the attendance?

My recollection was 50% of the attendance, to include season ticket holders (and why not it takes 2 teams to make a game, irrespective of the size of support)

Was it not half the profits? Can't have the away team going away with more than the home team cos they'll have the costs to stage the game.

there is no chance hearts, aberdeen and probably even hibs would go for splitting gate money, especially if rangers aren't in the league.

also we currently have a situation where paying a membership fee gets you a reduction on your season ticket. how would that be factored into any division? i think you would see clubs selling memberships for big bucks and season tickets for buttons.

Was it not half the profits? Can't have the away team going away with more than the home team cos they'll have the costs to stage the game.

Agreed (should have clarified after costs, forgot that everything has to be reduced to the lowest common denominator on this board laugh1.gif) - but included Season Tickets in the attendance figure, which would directly impact on the profit.

there is no chance hearts, aberdeen and probably even hibs would go for splitting gate money, especially if rangers aren't in the league.

also we currently have a situation where paying a membership fee gets you a reduction on your season ticket. how would that be factored into any division? i think you would see clubs selling memberships for big bucks and season tickets for buttons.

Your not suggesting that teams would 'cheat' each other are you steelboy - that couldn't happen in Scottish Football could it whistling.gif

Obviously simpler times. Don't remember it being overly complex at the time - of course in light of what's happened recently perhaps some of the 'bigger' clubs might just have fudged their season ticket figures to reduce payouts to other clubs.

David, if others vote for it they would have no choice :)

Thats the true prize with Rangers getting kicked out....for the first time since the SPL was formed the rest of the non-Old Firm clubs tell Celtic whats gonna happen, not the other way around! If proposals for split gates are put in and 11 clubs vote, then Celtic have NO CHOICE but to go with it!

Whilst the loss of Rangers will certainly see the opportunity for the regulations that run our game to be changed, anyone who believes that we'll simply be able to start telling Celtic how shit is from now on is deluded.

There won't be an even split on gate receipts. Not a fucking chance.

Whilst the loss of Rangers will certainly see the opportunity for the regulations that run our game to be changed, anyone who believes that we'll simply be able to start telling Celtic how shit is from now on is deluded.

I disagree. As soon as Rangers are out the rest of the SPL clubs will use the first opportunity to change the voting rules to 8-4 and change financial distrubutions. And there won't be a dam thing Celtic can do about it other than through a tantrum!

Not overly supportive of the 50/50 split for gate recipts, maybe a 80/20 kinda thing. However, in a SPL without Rangers and fairer voting passed if 8 SPL clubs want a 50/50 split, it happens! End of!!

The problem I see if the other 11clubs wanting the same thing. I'm sure they will all be behind voting reform and fairere financial distrubution, but other things might be more closely contested.

But for me, getting Rangers out the SPL will be like having our own football....its no longer the Old Firms right to call the shots! The roles will be reversed, and like wee have done for the last ten years, they either like it or lump it.

Oh there's a chance, always a chance. Whether the diddy clubs take it or not is the issue. Me I'd be all over it soon as the NO vote is confirmed, but I'm no diplomat and diplomacy has got us where we are today, scared to speak up cos of the power of the Bigot Bros. Well that's coming to an end and we should all be looking to capitalise, and make things watertight so that if a New club hooks up with Celtic they would still lack the necessary power to change against the wishes of the majority.

As I said, I can see a change in television money distribution, but I'll be very, very suprised if we ever see Celtic, or any other club, being asked to split their home gate with anyone.

Totally agree I don't see the split gate receipts happening.

So, Motherwell result looking likely to be voting no - obviously depending on how the Well Society/shareholders vote, but presuming it is a no, are there 4 other clubs who are going to vote nagainst the newco joining the SPL?

I think HIBs have to vote no from the words of their chairman, Celtic surely need to vote no, but I'm not convinced they will, so are there three other clubs that are a stick on for a no vote?

So, Motherwell result looking likely to be voting no - obviously depending on how the Well Society/shareholders vote, but presuming it is a no, are there 4 other clubs who are going to vote nagainst the newco joining the SPL?

I think HIBs have to vote no from the words of their chairman, Celtic surely need to vote no, but I'm not convinced they will, so are there three other clubs that are a stick on for a no vote?

I think Hibs are a stick on "No", Celtic I'd say will actually be a stick on "Yes". They need Rangers to keep their current levels of income. St Mirren I'd imagine would be a "No", as long as this fan ownership proposal goes through today. As for the rest, I think it depends on whether they listen to their fans or not.

You think so? Their fans seem to think otherwise from what I've seen!

I reckon it's still a crap shoot

mad Vlad will take them on

Steven Thomson has mumbled about having to take them on

and if another one club takes the declares early enough that its a definite No then I reckon others could follow, so as not to lose the balance of the celtic visiting support

but aye , right now, lottery

You can add Hearts to the 'no' column (I think!);

Mr Vladimir Romanov today issued the following statement after recent revelations that have had a hugely damaging affect on the game in this country.

Mr Romanov, who has been consistent in his views since investing in Scottish football in 2005, said:

"The opinion of Heart of Midlothian FC in regards to the current situation of Scottish football is clear and robust.

"The football mafia represented by former owners of Rangers FC and Rupert Murdoch's media are to blame for some of the worst problems to hit Scottish football and must not be allowed back in under any circumstances.

"As regards the club itself, we can only express our deepest condolences to its supporters, who have been lied to for so many years.

"It had to happen sooner or later. Victories were achieved not by sporting merits, but through slander, conspiracies amongst players and their poaching via third parties, unfair pressuring of referees, who in themselves are as valuable to the fabric of football as the football stars themselves.

"All of this brought hollow victories and destroyed football. We can also mention the attempts to eliminate Hearts with the help of the tax petitions, through false accusations and threats to revoke the club license. There is a saying about digging a grave for someone: you get it for yourself …

"Without these people football will become cleaner and stronger. Without Murdoch the whole of society will improve, in particular sport and culture.

"Supporters deserve a new beginning and have to accept the fact that their club has to start from the lower league, keeping order in the SPL and without creating unfair competition with other clubs.

"As regards the pitiful state of Scottish football finances, a lot of the blame should be placed at the doors of Murdoch's media. They pay huge sums to English clubs, whilst in Scotland, where football is better supported per capita than anywhere else in Europe and there are more cable or Sky subscribers per capita than in England, clubs receive peanuts for their broadcasting rights.

"At the very least this is discrimination and protectionism for the English football product, which at the same time stunts the development of the game in Scotland, that is regarded as the cradle of football.

"I feel that it is absolutely realistic to create a company that would bring to Scottish clubs at least the same broadcasting income, and even grow it by 50-100% over the next two to three years. This company should be in the hands of Scottish clubs and work with those who want to earn money the honest way, instead of conducting business the Murdoch way.

"They have lived beyond law and all morals, and should now be declared beyond the pale. A society that allows the destruction of integrity in sport, which is a crucial part of Scottish culture, is destroying itself - and all for the benefit of a media aborigine."

You think so? Their fans seem to think otherwise from what I've seen!

Yeah, at least I think that's what Lawwell and their board will want to do. I know the Celtic fans are the opposite, but for Celtic to maintain the level they currently have, they need the finances to keep coming in at the same level. Whether their fans like it or not, Celtic are a lot more dependent on the revenue generated by Rangers than the other clubs in the league.

You might be right though, and it may be that the board bow to fan pressure.