Mr Rae From Wishaw

DEWELL

Couldn't believe the sportsbag in The Record today in which a Mr Rae from Wishaw slaughtered our efforts on tuesday. Especially Murphy and Lasley????Who got our mom at the game.I nearly choked on my cornflakes with the tirade he came out with which in my opinion is totally out of order for 2 reasons..1 His assessment of Lasley and Murphy is crap. They both played really well against top class opposition and 2 He shouldn't be slagging us off in the national press totally wrong... :dash2: Im all for consructive critisism but i really wonder what game he was watching. I've got pelters at times on here from you guys for my opinions about certain players but i wouldn't DREAM of doing so in a national paper especially now at a time when we're trying to attract more people to our games. So Mr Rae hopefully you read this forum and i would be interested to read your posts on here in future rather than trying to cause contoversy with crap remarks to a paper. :angry:

So Mr Rae hopefully you read this forum and i would be interested to read your posts on here in future rather than trying to cause contoversy with crap remarks to a paper. :angry:

Anybody who still contacts the Daily Record in this day and age to make a point about a football match is presumably doing so because they don't know how to work they computer hings.

I'll reserve judgment on the folk who still read it :)

Don't get too worked up about it. No person of sane mind reads any of the rags up here anyway.

Exactly. They exist to create fake outrage so the outraged readers can contact them to be outraged and solicit outraged responses.

Yea. He has a direct line to Jim ( the ARSE ) Traynor and Hugh ( the FUD ) Keevins.

His carefully articulated wisdom regarding all things Motherwell can be read at least 3 times a month in the Rancid (and it's always the same shite )

Mon the Dossers.

Yea. He has a direct line to Jim ( the ARSE ) Traynor and Hugh ( the FUD ) Keevins.

His carefully articulated wisdom regarding all things Motherwell can be read at least 3 times a month in the Rancid (and it's always the same shite )

Mon the Dossers.

Mr. Rae probably is Jim Traynor and Hugh Keevins.

Did anyone hear Keevins on the radio the other night, 'Scottish football is doomed, doomed I tell you' etc, all before the season has actually started, would never tire of slapping him, what a complete fud.

Once again kick everyone rather than rally cry people into getting out and supporting their team :doh:

Did anyone hear Keevins on the radio the other night, 'Scottish football is doomed, doomed I tell you' etc, all before the season has actually started, would never tire of slapping him, what a complete fud.

Once again kick everyone rather than rally cry people into getting out and supporting their team :doh:

The media thinks football can't survive without it and that it performs some life saving task by covering it. But actually the reverse is (or was) true. We get roughly the same number of punters through the gates as we did 10 or 20 years ago. The Daily Record is in steep and probably irreversible decline. If I remember correctly it's circulation figures have halved.

So old Hugh probably thinks because print journalism has never been at a lower ebb than now and Scottish sports journalism is still stuck in the 1980's in terms of the kind of coverage it offers and is being roundly ignored that Scottish football is in the same boat. It isn't.

If you think Scottish football needs a print media to succeed look at a newspaper from the 1970's or 1960's. There is hardly any sport in them, a couple of pages at most. Sports coverage has expanded exponentially as a crotch to hold up flagging newspaper sales, but now that isn't working any more because people get their sports coverage elsewhere. The media just thinks people aren't interested in football and that "everything is doomed" because it can't see outside it's own little media bubble.

I've spent a bit of time in Italy in recent years and although Italian television is dismal the print media is very good. The football coverage, especially analysis and build up, you get in the specialist sports newspapers is miles ahead of what we get over here.

The media thinks football can't survive without it and that it performs some life saving task by covering it. But actually the reverse is (or was) true. We get roughly the same number of punters through the gates as we did 10 or 20 years ago. The Daily Record is in steep and probably irreversible decline. If I remember correctly it's circulation figures have halved.

So old Hugh probably thinks because print journalism has never been at a lower ebb than now and Scottish sports journalism is still stuck in the 1980's in terms of the kind of coverage it offers and is being roundly ignored that Scottish football is in the same boat. It isn't.

If you think Scottish football needs a print media to succeed look at a newspaper from the 1970's or 1960's. There is hardly any sport in them, a couple of pages at most. Sports coverage has expanded exponentially as a crotch to hold up flagging newspaper sales, but now that isn't working any more because people get their sports coverage elsewhere. The media just thinks people aren't interested in football and that "everything is doomed" because it can't see outside it's own little media bubble.

I've spent a bit of time in Italy in recent years and although Italian television is dismal the print media is very good. The football coverage, especially analysis and build up, you get in the specialist sports newspapers is miles ahead of what we get over here.

He's just a total fanny and like most of them can't see beyond the old firm. They do not realise that maybe if they concentrated some effort on the other teams that they could actually encourage them and could lead to increased support, (power of advertising and all that). Instead they lay the boot into everyone and then wonder why they get criticised or no one listens to them. Seriously I nearly phoned in to him the other night but would probably have needed to pretend to be from Glasgow to get on, what an absolute fud.

Just don't listen! Don't read the shite! The world of a fitba fan is a far far happier place when you avoid the likes of the Radio Clyde phone in and the Daily Record.

I'll bow to a sports journalists ability to break a story certainly but so much of football writing and broadcasting is actually no more than an opinion - which when it boils down to it is no more valid than yours or mine.

Having the platform of a radio phone in or a column does not automatically make you an authority on the subject.

Just don't listen! Don't read the shite! The world of a fitba fan is a far far happier place when you avoid the likes of the Radio Clyde phone in and the Daily Record.

I'll bow to a sports journalists ability to break a story certainly but so much of football writing and broadcasting is actually no more than an opinion - which when it boils down to it is no more valid than yours or mine.

Having the platform of a radio phone in or a column does not automatically make you an authority on the subject.

I won't. I can't remember a story broken by a journalist that I hadn't found out from Pie & Bovril days previous. That's what's killing them and they know it.

I normally don't listen as it just makes by blood boil and to be honest not sure its worth it to listen to their pish. As most people on here elude to, you never hear much worth listening to anyway.

I just can't stand the arrogance of some people who have never had to pay to get into games and don't know what it is like to follow your team through the good and the bad and can spout the crap they come out with, it is these guys who are killing the game.