To The Board At Motherwell Football Club

nethertonwellfan

Basic maths tells you that if you are playing the OF 8 times a season as opposed to 4 times, then you are going to lose a lot more points to them and slip even further behind.

The new system, 2 x 12 becoming 3 x 8, actually takes away automatic promotion and relegation, it gives the bottom 4 a second chance at avoiding relegation against, arguably, weaker clubs.

Clubs made weaker by the SPL ringfencing all the TV cash and leaving the rest of Senior Scottish Football to rot.

In improving our game the SPL has failed miserably.

Any league that does not have automatic promotion and relegation isn't a league in it's truest sense.

It's a lottery, and one I wont be buying a ticket for.

It's not very often I say this but you're spot on.

Basic maths tells you that if you are playing the OF 8 times a season as opposed to 4 times, then you are going to lose a lot more points to them and slip even further behind.

So we might pick up an extra 12 points each year?

If that had happened last season we would have finished 19 points behind the champions. That would've been a nailbitting end to the season right enough.

In more positive news we would have finish 2 points ahead of Rangers thanks to their point deduction for entering administration.

I don't disagree with the rest of what you've said, but this bigger league = competition is utter horseshite.

Yeah, pretty much. The idea that clubs like ourselves lose out on title shots because we lose games to the Old Firm is utter nonsense. Even when we were challenging for the title, we didn't lose it because we papped it against the Old Firm. Hearts, when they went on their daft start to the season, didn't lose their way because they lost to the Old Firm, Hibs, on their run under Hughes didn't drop away because they lost to the Old Firm. Each of us lost ground on them because we were dropping points against clubs at our own level. This season has been the most erratic for just about every team in the SPL. By the same logic, as the second placed team, we would only drop 12 points this season, yet we're 18 points behind at this stage.

It isn't a lottery, either. If you're good enough, you aren't relegated. Lottery suggests something random, a game of chance. If you aren't good enough to beat the clubs that are 'worse' than you, you're relegated, the same as any other league.

By the same logic, as the second placed team, we would only drop 12 points this season, yet we're 18 points behind at this stage.

Thats overly generous. We probably will drop 12 points to Celtic this year, but we'd still need to play them twice in a bigger setup anyway. So a potential saving of 6 points over the course of this season. At this stage in a bigger setup we'd only have dropped 3 points to Celtic.

As for the argument that less games against the likes of Hib/Hearts/Dundee Utd with them being replaced by game against the likes of Thistle/Accies/Falkirk is means less points dropped is flawed as well. Would we really be going to Firhill, Douglas Park or The Falkirk stadium as odds on favorites? I doubt it. This season we've dropped 50% of the points up for grabs against the 2 teams at the bottom of the league. We've only dropped 20% of whats been up for grabs vs 3rd and 4th. I would agree we would be more likely to drop a few less points, but this logic also holds true for Celtic who are also going to be playing less games against better quality opposition.

So if playoffs are such an exciting money spinning prospect, why can't we go with a 12-12 and introduce playoffs for 11th in top league and 2nd, 3rd, 4th in the second tier?

This would be the natural way to go.

Take automatic promotion/relegation out of our game and we are operating in a farce of a setup.

Yeah, pretty much. The idea that clubs like ourselves lose out on title shots because we lose games to the Old Firm is utter nonsense. Even when we were challenging for the title, we didn't lose it because we papped it against the Old Firm. Hearts, when they went on their daft start to the season, didn't lose their way because they lost to the Old Firm, Hibs, on their run under Hughes didn't drop away because they lost to the Old Firm. Each of us lost ground on them because we were dropping points against clubs at our OWN LEVEL

Uh huh. And replacing say 8 games with teams like Hearts, Hibs, Dun Utd, Killie - our Own LEVEL( all just taking points off each other and nullifying any challenge) with games against, say Partick Thistle, Livingston, Raith Rovers and Morton wouldn't give us more points and thus keep us closer to Celtic how exactly?

I'm on your side of the argument re the league structure but your miles off with these fantasy results you are generating

where in all this are the teams that are going to take more points off Celtic?

you think Thistle, Livvy, Raith, Morton are going to take more points off them than Hearts,Killie,Dundee utd,St Mirren & Ross county?

Competitition will only happen, when over a sustained period more clubs are operating on a level playing field

its going to be a while before all the mhankies have enough cash to go watch Liverpool , Man Utd etc so as long as Celtic are preaching to a captive audience they'll follow them and give them a financial advantage over the rest

Think we all have to accept that and make the rest of Scottish football fit for those that still have any will to go and watch games

I'm still against the proposals because they bring nothing to the table for the fans that support the game

interesting that Leeann talks about PR, nothing better than asking your customers what they want from the game and then ignoring it

just check all the club and league supporters surveys and see what this plan delivers

but more worryingly, what does it do to stop the delcine in match attendences?

Okay, but I'm still looking for any sort of evidence to indicate that this would actually happen? This season we've been dropping points to bottom six teams Dundee, St. Mirren and Hearts, so regardless of whether we're cuffing teams in these imaginary fixtures, how are we going to stay closer, or compete with Celtic when we're still dropping points to teams that Celtic are beating?

Looking at the first round of fixtures:

Ross County 0 - 0 Motherwell

Motherwell 1 - 1 St Johnstone

Kilmarnock 1 - 2 Motherwell

Motherwell 1 - 1 St Mirren

Motherwell 4 - 1 Inverness CT

Dundee 1 - 2 Motherwell

Aberdeen 3 - 3 Motherwell

Motherwell 0 - 2 Celtic

Hearts 1 - 0 Motherwell

Motherwell 0 - 4 Hibernian

Motherwell 0 - 1 Dundee Utd

13 points.

Celtic's first round of fixtures:

Celtic 1 - 0 Aberdeen

Ross County 1 - 1 Celtic

Inverness CT 2 - 4 Celtic

Celtic 2 - 2 Hibernian

St Johnstone 2 - 1 Celtic

Celtic 2 - 0 Dundee

Motherwell 0 - 2 Celtic

Celtic 1 - 0 Hearts

St Mirren 0 - 5 Celtic

Celtic 0 - 2 Kilmarnock

Dundee Utd 2 - 2 Celtic

21 points.

So even with these imaginary additional four fixtures each, and Celtic's well documented problems in motivating themselves throughout their European campaign, supposing we both take 12 points from the extra games, we're on 25, Celtic on 33.

So with four extra games, we're the same 8 points away from Celtic, unless we're guaranteed points from games against Livi and they'll drop them. How does this make the league more competitive?

I'm on your side of the argument re the league structure but your miles off with these fantasy results you are generating

where in all this are the teams that are going to take more points off Celtic?

you think Thistle, Livvy, Raith, Morton are going to take more points off them than Hearts,Killie,Dundee utd,St Mirren

Actually it ia irrelevant as we are just wanting a more competitive situation at the too. i'm not saying Motherwell or Dundee Utd WILL win the league but it WILL close the gap (obviously) and at least keep it interesting at this stage of the season - is that not worth it?

Don't worry either about who plays Celtic. Diddy clubs always up their game and are as likely to take something off celtic as we or Hearts etc.. are. There will also be the added venom/sense of occassion for thw ONLY visit of Celtic or Rangers for that matter for a year or perhaps almost two.

Actually it ia irrelevant as we are just wanting a more competitive situation at the too. i'm not saying Motherwell or Dundee Utd WILL win the league but it WILL close the gap (obviously) and at least keep it interesting at this stage of the season - is that not worth it?

Don't worry either about who plays Celtic. Diddy clubs always up their game and are as likely to take something off celtic as we or Hearts etc.. are. There will also be the added venom/sense of occassion for thw ONLY visit of Celtic or Rangers for that matter for a year or perhaps almost two.

so you kind off agree with the rest of us, a bigger league still wouldnt mean more competition for first over the season until financial gaps are closed

but it would mean less repetitive fixtures for every club

more interest for fans that go and see games week in week out

only one league visit to other grounds each season, increase in demand?

posibility of more interesting matches in that teams dont know each other intimately

so how about arguing for some tangible benefits of bigger leagues

PS you'll lose tho' as the clubs are saying there aren't 2-6 clubs financially ready to come up

hence I'd rather fans fought for some benefits for those that are still going to matches , to be added in to the proposals

remove the silly oclock Sunday morning fixtures

no matches to be rescheduled less than 4 weeks before ko

move the scheduled midweek fixtures away from winter to July/August

give all clubs back the Scottish cup interest after new year

so you kind off agree with the rest of us, a bigger league still wouldnt mean more competition for first over the season until financial gaps are closed

but it would mean less repetitive fixtures for every club

more interest for fans that go and see games week in week out

only one league visit to other grounds each season, increase in demand?

posibility of more interesting matches in that teams dont know each other intimately

so how about arguing for some tangible benefits of bigger leagues

PS you'll lose tho' as the clubs are saying there aren't 2-6 clubs financially ready to come up

hence I'd rather fans fought for some benefits for those that are still going to matches , to be added in to the proposals

remove the silly oclock Sunday morning fixtures

no matches to be rescheduled less than 4 weeks before ko

move the scheduled midweek fixtures away from winter to July/August

give all clubs back the Scottish cup interest after new year

'Mon you. Those changes are far too beneficial, attractive for fans, and are loaded with too much common sense for them to be listened too :wink:

If your looking tae save a bit of cash don't renew Kenny Blacks contract, in the overall scheme of things an assistant manager is excess baggage. And I'm sure more cash could be saved by getting rid of non essential personnel.

We already run on a skeleton staff compared to many clubs. And in the modern game, it's the assistant manager that runs the day to day, taking all the training sessions etc. while the manager deals with the bigger picture.

What bigger picture?

Seriously? A few things off the top of my head

Analysing DVD from last game or too to identify good and bad points

Working on those points with players one-to-one

Working out tactics for next game

Planning training drills to address any of the above items

Overseeing training drills/bounce games to monitor players' form/injuries

Media duties

Overseeing U20 team tactics and development

Attending U20 games to monitor progress of youngsters and making any adjustments to team to help promotion of players to first team

Working with board on budgets, players, contracts

Reviewing the hundreds of requests from agents to look at players' DVDs

Watching games to identify potential targets to replace players he realistically expects to lose in the summer

Involvement in schools/community activities

Involvement in supporters events

And I'm sure there is plenty more.

So we might pick up an extra 12 points each year?

If that had happened last season we would have finished 19 points behind the champions. That would've been a nailbitting end to the season right enough.

In more positive news we would have finish 2 points ahead of Rangers thanks to their point deduction for entering administration.

Who's to say it wouldn't be more than 12?

When you aren't facing one of the OF every five or six weeks you might actually build up a wee run of good results, and a wee run can build confidence. We might see ourselves going into a game against the OF thinking we can do something instead of rolling over and getting our belly tickled like a week old pup.