League Re-Construction

gilmour

Re construction is a very emotive subject just now what way will you go if approved.  

90 members have voted

1. 1. If yes to re-construction under the proposed new set up what way will you go.

• I will renew my season ticket.
    • I will not renew my season ticket and never attend again.
    • I will not renew my season ticket but PATG for all games.
    • I will not renew my season ticket and PATG for all non Spl games
    • I'm PATG and won't attend again.
    • I'm PATG and won't attend any Spl game again.

It would have been almost completely impossible and probably illegal to change the share of 1st in the middle of the season. I don't think any SPL club can be criticised under these circumstances, and it's certainly not a 'disgrace'.

It will however be interesting to see how the prize money is split this coming season. If 11/1 vote remains then I'm guessing it'll be the same setup as this season.

Ok the use of the word "disgrace" was maybe too strong. Much in the same way that the use of the words "crisis" and "disaster" in a sporting context are very rarely appropriate, yet as football fans we use them all the time.

You are probably correct in that Celtic would have to have agreed to a redistribution of their prize money, and that was never going to happen. The other clubs would have viewed it that "the Rangers money" was never coming to them anyway so redisrtibuting that would mean everyone getting a little extra as opposed to one team getting a lot. Pretty easy to get everyone to agree too.

The clubs SHOULD however, have taken this opportunity to redistribute 1st place for next year and should NOT be excused for having failed to do so.

If Celtic truly want stronger competition as they claim, then financial re-distribution is essential to not only strengthen the challenge of the other SPL clubs but also the foundations of the league underneath.

The difference in finance involved would be a small fraction of their overall income, but it would be massive for everyone else.

Unfortunately I dont think Celtic are that serious about increased competition and the other clubs are too scared to take them on.

The only thing on Celtics agenda is using the time the blue arse cheek is away to close the gap on titles won.It's all about the trinkets with those two.

Surely Celtic shouldn't be worrying about that now, what with their "competitor" now playing in the lower leagues and only having one title to their name....

rumbles on after another meeting

Scottish league bodies remain divided as SPL rejects SFL plan

Scottish Premier League clubs have rejected amendments from the Scottish Football League to the top-tier's plan for restructuring the league system.

And the SPL will plough ahead with its vision of the future by holding a formal vote of its 12 clubs within the next 10 days.

The SFL had proposed that a greater share of funding should filter down to Second and Third Division clubs.

But SPL chairman Ralph Topping said it was sticking to its own plan.

That would involve a merger of the SPL and SFL to form a single league body and play-offs involving the 11th-placed club in the top-flight and three second-tier teams.

Money would filter down from the SPL to First Division clubs to create a softer landing for relegated clubs in return for those in the top-flight having an increased chance of dropping to Division One.

At present, only the club finishing last are relegated.

SFL clubs wanted some of the money going to First Division clubs to filter further down to the levels below, but that was rejected by SPL clubs.

"The SPL clubs to a man, and woman, round the table want to go to 'yes' and sign off on the changes, the 42-club proposal," said Topping.

"They want to take it forward and are willing to commit themselves to that through written resolution, which is great news for the game.

"The last meeting was a good one. You are always concerned that something's going to change in the interim.

"I'm delighted to say we went round the table, person by person, and they were all behind the proposal."

SPL clubs were also in unanimous agreement two weeks ago and St Mirren chairman Stewart Gilmour was pleased that the consensus had continued and that a short-notice vote could be arranged.

The 30 SFL clubs had also been in unanimous agreement on Friday when they came up with a different model of governance and wealth distribution.

Gilmour would not expand on the differences between the two proposals, but he was satisfied with the SPL discussions and believes change remains possible this summer.

"I think it's the right thing for all 42 clubs," he said. "It's in the hands of the SFL clubs. We all have little issues, but we have a middle road.

"We looked at the whole model and we're quite happy with what we've done.

"There has been exceptionally good compromise in the SPL.

"It's not exactly what the board of St Mirren would wish for, but we are more than comfortable."

SFL clubs would likely be given 14 days notice of a formal vote, which would follow any SPL vote.

Doesn't say if the SFL wanted more money to filter down or just a different distribution model for the proposed amounts? Can't see a problem with it being the latter mind you.

FWIW getting rid of the SPL 'brand' would be top of my agenda once agreement had been reached and the finer details were being worked out..

League restructuring 'difficult' for next season, says SFL chief

From BBC

He says 'there has been no communication from the SPL to SFL clubs about the proposals the top division drew up last week'.

Surely that can't be right?!

A senior member of the Scottish Football League board has told BBC Scotland that "time ran out a long time ago" for league restructuring for next season.

Livingston chairman Gordon McDougall feels it is "more difficult to try to find a solution".

The Scottish Premier League hoped SFL clubs would vote on proposals for one league body and play-offs next season.

The SFL annual general meeting is at Hampden on Thursday afternoon.

McDougall says there has been no communication from the SPL to SFL clubs about the proposals the top division drew up last week.

Another football league board member, Dunfermline's honorary director Jim Leishman, says there are two main stumbling blocks; the make-up of any merged board and the redistribution of finances.

Leishman says it is "very frustrating that there's a need for a solution but that we can't get agreement".

He also feels the issue has been talked about for too long.

SPL clubs unanimously agreed on a package of measures that would deliver a merged league body in time for next term.

The single governing organisation would oversee the 12-10-10-10 divisional structure that is presently in place, but there would be greater financial redistribution to the second tier.

The SPL also wants to introduce play-offs involving the team finishing 11th and teams second, third and fourth in the league below.

SFL indicated in show off hands that proposals would not be accepted

Expected that SFL1 clubs will walk away and ask To join SPL

FWIW , I'm about scunnered with it all, and going by the general lack of interest on the different forums guess most are, SPL brand is damaged beyond repair in my eyes but they seem to think everything is fine and we should carry on under the banner, to effectively expand the closed shop with an SPL2 can do no short or long term good,

If STV publication on the distribution of wealth for the proposal is accurate then it quite clearly shows who is still shaping events, 1st place only giving up £300ish k but 2nd giving up nearer £700k says it all, that's not in any where near a fair and well balanced distribution model

so ignoring this seasons one off?, 2nd place prize money carve up to help the other clubs finances

this is the reporting of the new propsals

from the society briefing on the original reconstruction doesnt seem that much different although no real numbers were given only overall amounts

note: the lower SFL clubs dont actually request all that much fuding, in fact nothing more from the SPL pot, but the somewhat faked good of the game line being fed seems more to be for the good of any of the SPL clubs who drop out for a a few seasons

now if only the top position in the whole sorry house of cards was to truly give up a fair portion of the prize money then everyone could sahre and get more than the stand off is asking for:

http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/aberdeen/226511-revealed-the-different-financial-models-which-will-decide-reconstruction/

Pos.SPL current/proposed change SFLproposed change
1	2720000	2405514	-314487	2405514	-314487
2	2400000	1717454	-682546	1717454	-682546
3	1520000	1460555	-59446	1460555	-59446
4	1360000	1288629	-71371	1288091	-71910
5	1280000	1202757	-77243	1201859	-78142
6	1200000	1116884	-83116	1117423	-82577
7	1120000	1056701	-63299	1056342	-63658
8	1040000	1005142	-34858	1006040	-33960
9	960000	987895	27895	988075	28075
10	880000	902023	22023	901843	21843
11	800000	816150	16150	815611	15611
12	720000	730277	10277	729379	9379
13	68000	386248	318248	323370	255370
14	67000	343132	276132	287440	220440
15	66000	300016	234016	251510	185510
16	65000	256900	191900	215580	150580
17	64000	240731	176731	197615	133615
18	62000	188633	126633	170668	108668
19	61000	172464	111464	161685	100685
20	60000	154499	94499	152703	92703
21	59000	138331	79331	143720	84720
22	57000	120366	63366	125755	68755
23	56000	102401	46401	89825	33825
24	55000	86232	31232	88029	33029
25	54000	56769	2769	82639	28639
26	53000	52099	-902	77250	24250
27	51000	51200	200	73657	22657
28	50000	50302	302	68267	18267
39	49000	49404	404	66471	17471
30	48000	48506	506	64674	16674
31	47000	46709	-291	62878	15878
32	45000	44913	-88	61081	16081
33	44000	43116	-884	59285	15285
34	43000	42218	-782	57488	14488
35	42000	41320	-681	55692	13692
36	40000	40421	421	53895	13895
37	39000	39523	523	52099	13099
38	38000	38625	625	50302	12302
39	37000	37727	727	48506	11506
40	36000	35930	-70	46709	10709
41	34000	34134	134	44913	10913
42	33000	32337	-663	43116	10116

As mentioned earlier the SPL proposals will once and for all end the debate over a bigger league. The SPL proposals are there to end any chance of the Part-Time teams closing the gap on the Full Time teams.

We were told before that we needed to re-distribute wealth before we could enlarge our league, well there is no way to enlarge a league (and have promotion and relegation) if you make the gap bigger at the level you would realistically make the next tier in the bigger league.

I won't hold my breath but I would love to know why the SFL proposal was rejected. Also, why is the 26th club in the SFL being hit by almost a grand in the SPL proposal but able to make a wopping extra £24K in the SFL proposal!

As mentioned earlier the SPL proposals will once and for all end the debate over a bigger league. The SPL proposals are there to end any chance of the Part-Time teams closing the gap on the Full Time teams.

We were told before that we needed to re-distribute wealth before we could enlarge our league, well there is no way to enlarge a league (and have promotion and relegation) if you make the gap bigger at the level you would realistically make the next tier in the bigger league.

I won't hold my breath but I would love to know why the SFL proposal was rejected. Also, why is the 26th club in the SFL being hit by almost a grand in the SPL proposal but able to make a wopping extra £24K in the SFL proposal!

Yeah its clear that the proposal from those numbers was never 'for the good of the game' to close the gaps and allow all the opportunity to compete and progress, hell it doesnt even address the issue at the top

and needing 22 votes from the SFL , yet taking money off quite a chuck of them it was clear that some dastardly tactics were at play, some would say almost to force it to fail at the SFL vote.

the SFL numbers actually look closer to the balance that the message was sold on, allowing for monetary balanced competition from 3rd into 2nd and a little stability to to those below although I'd argue just the straight £10k awards to the bottom league is a bit rich, but when all but one SPL club is signing away a huge slice for their budget, I cannot get away from the SPL prize money still being so 'enhanced'

seems the lack of support from the SFL also stems from the highly secretive voting rights and who really will be pulling the strings, and who can blame them

Don't see why they need to redistribute to the lower league clubs, the problems at the top isn't it? if the SPL clubs are even skinter they will be even less likely to compete and make money and the prize fund will be reduced because no one will want to watch a bunch of part-time SPL clubs on the TV, Scottish football is basically in recession

What they should do is invite the 32 biggest clubs(decided by crowds) split them into two leagues and have play-offs between the two and then form another league under that with the rest and they can play off with highland league etc for promotion places

Do away with the diddy league cup all together and talk the english, welsh etc into getting rid of their diddy cups and form into a UK super cup :evilgrin: sure that would actually be plausable, far more plausible than celtic/rangers fucking off south anyway!

in other words just do something really obvious and different or it'll just be the same pish anyway

would! just purley down to the possible financial side of it, fact is we probably lose money competing in the league cup and always get humped out of it anyway

We had a UK super cup (Texaco Cup) and it was quite super for a year or two before the clubs lost interest and it became the Anglo-Scottish Cup bore-fest.

would! just purley down to the possible financial side of it, fact is we probably lose money competing in the league cup and always get humped out of it anyway

Clearly you are imagining the likes of Manchester Utd turning up at a packed Fir Park with live coverage across the nation.

You remember that Matt Busby thing a couple of years ago where Fergie sent a youth team and one or two reserves. There's your UK Super Cup for you.

Give me the pishy Scottish League Cup every time.

then we beat them 1-0 and progress, excellent! more likely we would get games against teams like Sheffield united, Millwall etc I'm talking all the leagues, huge pot of teams

away days too Torquay, newport, bray etc, league cup just is the Scottish cup but.. diddy it just seems sort of pointless and the prize fund for winning it will be lucky to cover the petrol money for the bus

I've read this today, if that was part of the proposals no wonder they knocked it back.

Annan chairman Henry McLelland admitted he felt pressured by the big boys.

He said: “We could be in a situation where 40 clubs vote for a resolution, two clubs could object and that resolution would not be carried.

“This flies in the face of the principles of merger.

“I won’t say it’s hostile, but it is an aggressive takeover.”

11-1 vote is bad enough but 41-1 is mental.

See the problem is that the difference between the teams in SFL1 and SFL3 is too large. The objectives of a team like East Stirling and the objectives of a team like Hamilton Accies are night and day and trying to get something that allows them both to push for the next level is too hard. Because at the end of the day they all want a chunk of the same money. Economies of scale dictate that the most East Stirling can ever achieve is a push at promotion to SFL2. No matter how much the SPL send down to SFL3 they need to boost it with their own money and their crowds and the fact they are tennants at Stenhousemuir mean they have no realistic chance of doing what someone like ALloa has done over the last two years. In my mind, no matter what they do the SFL will never reach agreement. The only way they might is if the SFL1 clubs threaten the SPL2 and leave them a pittance and they may have to bow down to pressure because what is being offered is better than nothing. In England this won't have the same issues because teams in League 2 are all full time, have enough support that if they get a fair wind, keep injury free and a bit of luck they can go up. Just look at Yeovil and Stevenage and how they have progressed and you can see why it is easier to get consensus down there because there is potential to mix with the big boys for all teams but we have fifteen teams that are happy in SFL2 and SFL3 and have no real aspiration to go beyond that.