Damage After Celtic Game

gilmour

Green Brigade statement.

Celtic: Green Brigade regrets damage at Motherwell

The Green Brigade group of Celtic fans has accepted some blame for damage to Motherwell's South Stand on Friday estimated to be worth £10,000.

It has insisted its members were not involved but admitted it should have policed its section of fans better.

The Scottish Professional Football League could take action against Celtic when it receives its match delegate's report from the game at Fir Park.

Smoke bombs and flares were thrown as well as the damage to seating.

"Firstly, we do not condone the breaking of seats, nor do we welcome pyrotechnics being thrown on the park," the Green Brigade said in a statement.

"We as a group are as disappointed as any about such indefensible behaviour and regret that it happened on our watch.

“We should have had greater control of the bodies present within our block and our failure to do so has resulted in events which are unacceptable”

Green Brigade statement"Whilst it was not members of our group behaving in this manner, we accept the fact that these actions took place behind our banner in what was an unofficial 'Green Brigade section' and furthermore that the fans within this area are associated to our group whether they are members or not.

"It is particularly disappointing given how hard we have worked as a member organisation of Fans Against Criminalisation and of our own accord to fight the criminalisation of football supporters.

"Ultimately, we should have had greater control of the bodies present within our block and our failure to do so has resulted in events which are unacceptable and we will strive to ensure that such scenes are not repeated."

Political banners displayed by the Green Brigade at Celtic's Champions League game against AC Milan last month have led to the club beingcalled to a disciplinary hearing on Wednesday by European governing body Uefa.

While no arrests were made inside Fir Park as Celtic beat Motherwell 5-0, the Glasgow club have launched their own investigation, while Police Scotland is looking into the "significant damage" caused to seats.

It reported 18 smoke bombs, three fireworks and one flare being set off, with two green smoke bombs being thrown into the goalmouth, one of them landing yards from Celtic goalkeeper Fraser Forster.

The main Celtic fans' group, the Affiliation of Registered Celtic Supporters Clubs, expressed frustration at the actions.

"We should be discussing another devastating Celtic performance on the pitch. Instead we are talking about disappointments off the field," said a statement.

"Let's make no mistake that incidents like at Fir Park and the publicity that this attracts makes any negotiations regarding ticket pricing, safe standing and policing at games more difficult.

"Any payment for damage and fines that are the responsibility of the club are ultimately paid by us. This is a measurable cost. The damage to our reputation as a support is unquantifiable."

Green Brigade regrets damage

Even before reading that, the first words that sprang to mind where "my arse",

" Big boys did it and ran away " Fuckin vermin. That damage took time and effort so where was eveyrbody ??. That plonker supervisor steward with the loudhailer can spot a sweetie paper hitting the floor of the east stand, how come he never waded in to that situation.

we accept the fact that these actions took place behind our banner in what was an unofficial 'Green Brigade section'

They gathered in that area and hunted anyone who had a ticket for a seat in there same as they do at their own midden.

I know it's been stated many times previously, but the biggest disgrace is that there were police standing right in front of them watching & done nothing.

If it happened further back then maybe you could justify their inaction, but it was the first few rows FFS!

Have had a discussion with a work colleague who is a Smeltic supporter who was in the South stand on Friday night......he was embarrassed the damage cause by their fans in the lower south.....apparently the Green Brigade took over the lower south stand with many fans with seats there having to reallocate to the upper.... as were told to sit any where by the stewards at 730pm or did not fancy the company of the GB.

His opinion of the GB is they are at war with Police Scotland and are looking for confrontation at any opportunity to mix it up with them......and down their sheer numbers they know the police will not try to effect arrests due to safety issues....this is at the Tattie drome as well.......

Apparently when arrests were made at a home game earlier this season they tried to storm London Road police Station

The funniest thing he said someone has coined the name/phrase "Feinhuns" on one of their fans websites and the majority of Celtic fans are appalled that name might stick and they are going to lose their "GFITW" self proclaimed title.....and be the new "h**s" rampaging all over Europe......replacing their neighbours as Scotland's most hated :nod:

1386533300[/url]' post='400972']

I know it's been stated many times previously, but the biggest disgrace is that there were police standing right in front of them watching & done nothing.

If it happened further back then maybe you could justify there inaction, but it was the first few rows FFS!

That wasn't the case... Watched from afar.

So the Green Brigade took over almost the entire lower tier, that's according to a Celtic fan who was there, yet they still can't admit that they were responsible? Laughable.

Also, there were hundreds of them standing on both aisles either side of the lower central section so it was clear that there were hundreds of folk down there who didn't have tickets for that part of the stand. Think back to a previous Friday night match at Fir Park against Hibs which was abandoned due to a fire in that stand. Had a similar occurrence happened on Friday there there would have been absolute carnage trying to evacuate the South stand and Motherwell FC would no doubt have got the blame for it for allowing folk to stand and block the aisles etc.

Given the relative success of "police free" games at fir park and other grounds, could we host Celtic with no police?

I'd have said no, but given that if it actually does kick off, they're just going to watch anyway, why were the club forced to pay for them to be there?

Tucked up in a position of relative safety and not directly in front of the offenders as their tactic depended on stewarding by an outside party. Other supports home and away are not handled in similar ways...

Fair enough, cheers for clearing it up. Watched on a stream & only remember seeing a line of people in luminous coats in front of that stand, presumed some of them must've been old bill.

You would think the stewards would've called them in when the vandalism started though, WTF are we paying the useless cunts for? (Police I mean)

Given the relative success of "police free" games at fir park and other grounds, could we host Celtic with no police?

I'd have said no, but given that if it actually does kick off, they're just going to watch anyway, why were the club forced to pay for them to be there?

Good point!

You really have to wonder how bad things will get before the police actually get off their arses and do something?

And yet were extra police not drafted in from Ibrox to deal with 20 fans and a drum doing fuck all at Love Street?! Giving the apparent impression that order MUST be maintained at all costs?! Is it any wonder ordinary fans/ people hate them and mistrust them!

No wonder so many of us were delighted at the kicking Celtic fans took in Amsterdam and the resulting reaction from the Celtic fans of utter disbelief were they weren't allowed to get away with their usual pish!

This may be a very petty way to start getting over the way they bawbags acted on friday but when i thought about this it actually cheered me up so i'll share the memory. I can't remember the exact game but a few years ago i was walking out of the east stand walking down towards daniels when a wee shellic ned (before the green brigade existed) was walking along side us and he thought he was in amongst his own unwashed kind when he started singing about Davie Cooper which you can imagine made us Well fans very upset, when a few fans stopped in front of him and turned round the look on his face was priceless, and lets just say his face must have been sore the next morning :) As i say may be petty lads but in the same position they would do the same to us fuck them ! SIWY

there was Fire in the Stand on Friday night, real flames and everything.

previously some overheated switchgear/capacitors, led to some smoke which forced the shutdown of floodlights which led to a match abandonment

no fire, nothing used to extinguish the invisible fire, just smoke and a story to justify abandoning a match.

no need for the tabloid style sensationalism to jazz it up, Celtic ?Ultras? trashed the joint, their name is mud, their clubs own fans have turned on them, their club might actually do something about it now, policescotland will now have more justification to continue chapping doors in a safe controlled manner, stewards live on, to earn £30 quid or so another day, the match got finished and we don't have to suffer it again

many wanting police to wade in, think about what your asking for, think how that affects our club, our leagues image on live TV and the costs forced on us to host all matches in the future, think about how it affects our traveling fans, like just the week before if that were a current tactic of Police Scotland it would have got quite messy, anything outside the ground should've been dealt with a civil disorder, hopefuly it will have.

the Police were embarrassed by the events at Green street, no doubt it'll have been washed under the carpet as our clubs and well societys investigation will come to nothing.

but you could see they employed different tactics the weeks after, but hey most of our fans want that tactic to be employed now,