Motherwell V St Johnstone 1/1/14

GazzyB

Strange game today. We could have scored 10 but St. Johnstone looked dangerous coming forward for most of the match and weren't the worse side we've played this season. However our defensive back line was rock solid today whereas St. Johnstone got torn apart at the back on a regular basis.

Was fuming when the 'goal' wasn't recognized in the first half but in the end it didn't matter. Amazing how many chances we've been creating recently compared to earlier in the season. Though Vigurs was terrific today, got his first goal and for the second match in a row at Fir Park put in an absolutely world class ball that resulted in a goal. Ainsworth was in and out the match but when he was in he looked like a different player from the rather wretched figure he looked like when he first appeared. Sutton, Las and the back four were great as well.

The only disappointment was the poor crowd and the fact that it looks like Twardzik is going back to Dundee based on his and the other players reactions at full time.

Mon' the Well in 2014!

:whistling: we have absolutly got to try and keep twardzik he installs confidance from the back and could end up being a rough gem that could turn into a real diamond.,, why dont we parcel up hollis and neilsen with a bag of maltesers and send the parcel up to dundee and say , thank you very much :whistling: :whistling:

Excellent performance from every one of the players! We could easily have had 8 or 9 with the 'goal' not given, hitting the bar, clearance off the line and a few other chances for Ainsworth and Moore!

Absolutely delighted with how things have gone over the last month and really look forward to every single game at the minute, which to be honest I didn't feel at the start of the season.

Full credit to McCall and the players for turning things around in very impressive fashion.

Going by his reaction at the end of the match it looks like Twardzik is away back to Dundee which I'm quite disappointed about to be honest.

Another excellent performance against a dangerous St Johnstone to keep our fine run going. Very good games for the usual suspects but Ainsworth was outstanding today. Cameo from Faddy was the icing on the cake.

Good to see Vigurs net his first goal. His contribution and work ethic has risen significantly in the last week, hopefully a sign of things to come.

Huge credit to McCall for racking up the points and some fine displays while juggling the personnel and formation over the festive period.

Will be sad to see Twardzik go back to Dundee. Great character with the credentials to be a very good keeper.

One important aspect of the recent uplift is that the midfield have started scoring. That's Lasley, Vigurs, ZFA and Ainsworth all chipped in recently.

It's good that we are getting goals from all over the field but the midfield have also been creating more.

I mentioned it earlier but Vigurs has played two world class balls for two assists in the last two games at Fir Park and Ainsworth has been a different player from the one that joined us.

Aye, in a recent interview McCall said that Ainsworth was only reaching full fitness now (I think he had been struggling with niggling injuries), but was worried that he was hitting form just as his loan was running out, as his club/agent might be looking for more money.

Now he's 100%, he certainly fits the bill of the creative & pacey wide player McCall was looking for.

Anyone who wasn't entertained today shouldn't bother. Fantastic attacking performance again today.. Could have been 3 up in 5 minutes and bizarrely could still have been level at half time. Thought McManus volley was in at the time, almost certain it was in. Vigurs cross for suttons goal was top notch. Tam scobbie could retire after the second half raping from Lionel. Could easily have scored 8 today and st Johnstone couldn't complain. Perhaps that's revenge for the scudding we received up there earlier in season.

As mentioned on another thread for me ainsworth just edged Vigurs for mom

Best performance of the season against a half decent St Johnstone side. 1st goal came at the perfect time as they seemed to be getting back into the game after our early onslaught!

2nd half was all us basically!

Good to see Vigurs finally coming into his own and getting his first goal.

All in all a great way to start the year!

Viva Well!

In what was an atrocious day weatherwise a stunning performance and if we'd won 8-2 it would've fully merited. Every Motherwell player was up for it from the first whistle and even after the ridiculous linesman who couldn't see our 'first' goal we didn't let it get to us and still attacked. Marvellous stuff. :thumbup:

well done to all concerned including the groundsmen for making sure our pitch was fit for the worthy winners we were today. fantastic run, great footie, only downside today is that dan has gone back to Dundee to probably warm the bench again. thanks for your contribution, dan, in the few weeks you were with us :cheers::notworthy:

Four goals, hit the woodwork four times ( five if McManus's goal that never was hit the bar twice), two one on one chances where first Ainswort then Moore shot when a simple squarepass along the 6 yard box would have produced simple tap ins, we could have doubled our score today and it wouldn't have flattered us.

After the Albion Rovers disaster and the heavy defeats against the United kids and the rotten mob we were on a slippery slope and at one point looked like we were heading for a battle to stay in the top 6 all we asked as Well fans was for a bit of grit, determination and 100% effort. McCall and the players have done that and so much more and deserve massive credit for turning the season around. I would say this result today is better than the one against Thistle cause St Johnstone are a superior team to Partick and to destroy them the way we did shows how far we've come in the last month and now we are all buzzing for the rest of the season. Bring on Inverness !!

That was actually a very good game of football. We played really well and thoroughly deserved our 1-0 half time lead. That being said St Johnstone were crisp with the ball as well and looked lively going forward and at half time, although we were playing well it was a game that could easily have slid from our grasp.

Second half started as a good game as well and Vigurs' goal helped ease the nerves a bit. Half an hour to go and St Johnstone started to make changes to try and get back into the game but that cost them any foothold on the midfield and from that moment we were only going to rack up the goals and we really went for the jugular.

Thought every Motherwell player did well today and the result they deservedly managed against a team that played well for long spells was a fantastic credit to each and every one of them.

Strange there's only four pages in this thread when we have 5 wins on the spin .I think the last time we managed that was 2007 ? Anyway I thought that was brilliant today .5 wins out of 5 for Dan ,he's had some immense saves in the 5 games he's played too .Well done Dan Twardzik !!

I think a good number of posters are thoroughly scunnered with match threads. It's great to see folk enjoying the good results and good to see that rage, has moved through grudging praise to high unequivocal praise.

Folk don't know what to do with themselves when the performances are so good.

Maybe a few are embarrassed about comments posted a few short weeks ago and are perhaps just lying low.

Aye the twats wanting McCall out have fucked off big style. Had a chat to the father in law this evening about it and he thought it was totally bizarre. He is an ict fan so is currently gutted he has yogi Hughes in charge - said he would bite your hand off for McCall. While we have elements of our support happy to sack him after two bad results.

They should all wear black leather gloves and call themselves Tan...

After the Albion Rovers disaster and the heavy defeats against the United kids and the rotten mob we were on a slippery slope and at one point looked like we were heading for a battle to stay in the top 6 all we asked as Well fans was for a bit of grit, determination and 100% effort. McCall and the players have done that and so much more and deserve massive credit for turning the season around. I would say this result today is better than the one against Thistle cause St Johnstone are a superior team to Partick and to destroy them the way we did shows how far we've come in the last month and now we are all buzzing for the rest of the season. Bring on Inverness !!

Excellently put, I concur with this 100%. From where we were after the Rovers and Celtic games, the players and management deserve huge credit for turning it round so convincingly. Today was a tremendous display of attacking fitba combined with some solid defence. On another day we'd have scored 7 or 8.

for the bedwetters / moaners on here that demanded an explanation from s mccall as to why we were signing an untried goalie from dundee , the answer has been seen by us all .and if he cant get a game with dundee ,then there goalie must be FECKIN good ...... just my assesment like ..:whistling: