Do We Need a New Manager?

steelboy

No idea. The shout for Craigen temporarily never jumped into my head, but it might just work.

Long term? There's probably 10 or 15 names from Leagues 1 and 2 out of jobs in England that I don't even know that could be in the mix.

Whoever it is, one of three things will happen:

1. He'll be great and piss aff like Brown and McGhee after two seasons.

2. He'll be shite have us battling relegation and resign / be let go.

3. He'll keep us between 8th and 4th. No other teams will pay attention to him because that'll be viewed as par for the course and he'll be here for 4 or 5 years. He'll run down his contract and move on with a moderate reputation.

Sorry to see McCall go, as he is a good guy. He's been badly let down by his backroom staff (why they still have brass neck to still hang around speaks volumes) and certain players. McCall has done the decent thing and they should also. They serve no purpose to hang about. Why Leitch? surely JJ should be in charge until a new manager is appointed.

As for the next appointment even on a temp basis, the fans need to remember their feelings when McCall signed up. Not fancied, but until now he certainly delivered in very difficult times. Time to trust the board to do the right thing again, and be patient when the new guy is appointed.

Our club has done well in recent times by having a good solid backbone of senior pro's who have been in and around Motherwell a long time. Even if their form has dipped, and they should be benched, they are still invaluable to have in the squad.

Time to move on into a new era and hopefully upwards.

All the best in the future Mr McCall.

Thanks for all the good memories Stuart and there were a good few.

I hope he gets his career back on track as soon as possible.

Him resigning has probably saved the club £50k + so good on him for doing the decent thing.

NO to Leitch. Need a new man with fresh views to come in and turn thjngs around. Sadly 10th is still the target for this season.

McCalls record with us , this season apart ,has been nothing short of miraculous.He was always loyal to the club and always done the best for us. Theres not many you can say that about in the modern game . Best of luck in the future Stuart

Why not? not any worse than some of the suggestions. Me thinks his departure started the downward spiral that we find ourselves in now. Maybe, his fellow players and mates would rediscover the form they had if he returned. We would however need a very good assistant manager with bags of experience and organisation skills.

Naw, just naw.

Ignoring the fact he doesn't have pro licence and probably hasn't taken a training session In his life, where going to find the money to buy out his playing contract at St Johnstone

Ps hope it won't be leitch and can't see it happening either. He's hated by the youngsters in the squad and apparently tried to be snide and embarrass a few of them at training last week.

Is that not the approach fans' favourite Tommy McLean used to take?

new manager must omly get a contract till the end of the season to see if he keeps us up / and does the business no use giving someone a 2 year contract only to find out hes pish :wallbash:

Aye, that's a great idea. Bring someone in to prove themselves on a 6 month contract, let them succeed, and after 6 months when everyone can see how good he is, have him poached for nowt by a different club.

We are staring relegation in the face and can't really afford to pay anyone off. It might also bec the case that the best man to turn things round short term isn't the best man for the rebuilding job we need to undertake in the summer

aw well you must be right then wee yin ..... bring a numpty inn ,, give him a 2 year contract , he takes us down , is utter shite ,playing drab fitbaw and we canny afford to sack him ? 6 months and if he does well reward him / (her) ? with 2 years to finish what he / she has srarted to build ?????

For what it's worth, I think this is a great opportunity to start a fresh at the club. Now is not the time to rush a decision.

Not only should we be looking for candidates, I would also be spending the next couple of weeks carrying out an internal review/audit. We need to work towards implementing a new structure throughout the club as both on and off the park we are in desperate need of it. Of course this process takes longer than two weeks, however we should begin by mapping out how we need the club to progress from the youth levels right up - cresting a value chain which will see youngsters turned into sellable assets. Imo we need to find a candidate not from the "old boys" but someone with fresh ideas both managerially and in a footballing sense to make sure we create the right environment to nature e talent we need to not only perform in the spl but also create revenue. It is a mammoth challenge of course and maybe we should be thinking outside of the box with the view of creating a more integrated strcture to the club and secure not only success but also its future.