Former Motherwell Fc Players Thread

Andy_P

1 hour ago, steelboy said:

That Killie result has to be the worst ever for a Scottish team.

FOUR (4) killie players were involved in the last Scottish international game.........

The Welsh part-timers set up a second qualifying round tie with Partizan Belgrade after a stunning 2-0 win at Rugby Park overturned a 2-1 deficit.

Six of the Nomads team, who will get home at 05:00 BST, have work on Friday.

12 minutes ago, daver said:

When we played Stjarnan and Mypa we were at a disadvantage because their season was well underway and they were match fit. Anyone know if the Welsh season is underway because that would have helped them?

Played their last league match last week in April ,then lost Welsh Cup final 5thMay.........don't start this season till league cup 9th-league 16th August 

15 minutes ago, daver said:

When we played Stjarnan and Mypa we were at a disadvantage because their season was well underway and they were match fit. Anyone know if the Welsh season is underway because that would have helped them?

In theory, as their league starts later than ours, Killie should have been further in to their pre-season schedule.

Maybe the new manager has been working them on grass by mistake. CQ's stadium has a grass playing surface and Killie won on that.

24 minutes ago, daver said:

They had a wee fat guy up front and full time jobs. We had been to Portugal for a training camp. The problem was our team was full of dross and the goalie was 5 foot 9.

I watched the first leg of the Killie tie and I don't think fitness was a factor,  the main problem was Kilmarnock couldn't string 2 passes together.

26 minutes ago, daver said:

Didn’t Mypa have Sammi Hyypia playing at the time, who would become one of Europe’s best centre backs?

Arguably only Lambert would reach similar career levels as a player?

Outwith Dortmund, have  we ever faced a better overseas player in Hyypia visit for a competitive match?

13 minutes ago, Cumbaeyabas said:

Didn’t Mypa have Sammi Hyypia playing at the time, who would become one of Europe’s best centre backs?

Arguably only Lambert would reach similar career levels as a player?

Outwith Dortmund, have  we ever faced a better overseas player in Hyypia visit for a competitive match?

Suspect a few of the Levante and Nancy players went on to have decent careers. 

Not sure Hyypia played that game...

EDIT I stand corrected, just checked...

5 minutes ago, MelvinBragg said:

Suspect a few of the Levante and Nancy players went on to have decent careers.

Pretty sure the goal keeper from the levante games is the same guy who is a current Real Madrid player with multiple champions league trophies?

17 minutes ago, numpty said:

George Best was quite a long way overseas when he played for San Jose Earthquakes...

Not a competitive match, though.

If we're including friendlies, then the entire Ajax team we played and most of the Liverpool team would be up there too.