Scottish Premiership Game 9: Accies (A) Saturday 14/10/17

CoF

Basically yet again Accies made an erse of this. First steward we asked said sit in your ticketed seat, steward next to him said he had just heard through his ear piece we could sit anywhere....this is at 2.40!. Fortunately most of our support is reasonable and situations around us anyway were resolved amicably but there is always one eejit determined to make a point and 'front row man' was a case in point.

So its not a case of wanting escorted to seats its just clarity and when a senior steward tells you to sit anywhere thats just what we did. I certainly wasnt going to go to L44 or whatever my ticket was and have an argument with who was sitting there.

My preference would be sit in your allocated seat but that needs to be clear when purchasing tickets and not changed 20 mins before kick off

Sent from my GT-I9195 using Tapatalk

Why even ask - the only question that should reasonably be asked is “where is seat L44” then go to it. You wouldn’t do it a concert or theatre why feel the need to do anything different at a football match. What I do agree with is the crap communication and conflicting information doesn’t help.

Oh agree wholeheartedly about Accies making an erse of it yet again. Happens every time we turn up at that dump. The quicker this lot are lost to the Premiership can’t come quick enough.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

No doubt that instruction line caused issues, but I have to question why? There shouldn't be any need to be 'escorted - shown' to your seat. All the tickets have row and seat numbers on them, if you or anyone else is incapable of finding the correct seat, I doubt you should be out on your own. Has the nanny state taken that much control? We as a support shouldn't need to ask where to sit - go to the seat your ticket has been allocated for - is that really too much to expect?

As for the guy at the front - he had every right to arrive when he did and expect to get the seat he was given a ticket for. Would you expect to relinquish your season ticket seat, because someone else happened to be told 'sit wherever you lilke mate!".

Were you at the game ?

Nobody is incapable of finding their seat. I did yesterday and someone was sitting in it. He also mentioned he had been told to sit anywhere. So to avoid aggro I found another seat and then told someone else the same thing when they came to sit in their allocated seat.

That is no-ones fault apart from Accies and their stewards. If they are going to adopt such an approach they are as well printing 2000+ tickets with no rows or seat numbers and saying 1st come 1st served basis. Then everyone would know where they stood.

Were you at the game ?

Nobody is incapable of finding their seat. I did yesterday and someone was sitting in it. He also mentioned he had been told to sit anywhere. So to avoid aggro I found another seat and then told someone else the same thing when they came to sit in their allocated seat.

That is no-ones fault apart from Accies and their stewards. If they are going to adopt such an approach they are as well printing 2000+ tickets with no rows or seat numbers and saying 1st come 1st served basis. Then everyone would know where they stood.

Yes I was and sat in my allocated seat a concept that seems alien to some when buying a ticket with a row and seat number on it .

Why even ask - the only question that should reasonably be asked is “where is seat L44” then go to it. You wouldn’t do it a concert or theatre why feel the need to do anything different at a football match. What I do agree with is the crap communication and conflicting information doesn’t help.

Oh agree wholeheartedly about Accies making an erse of it yet again. Happens every time we turn up at that dump. The quicker this lot are lost to the Premiership can’t come quick enough.

I asked because previously I have had issues with someone sitting in the seat I had a ticket for and been told we can sit anywhere so I don't need to be told what question to 'reasonably ask'. It is entirely reasonable to ask and get clarification on what the policy is before going to take a seat. OK?

Sent from my GT-I9195 using Tapatalk

Every away game that is close to a sell out has the same carry on. Mates with tickets apart sit together and fuck everything up but dont give a toss. Ive seen guys challenge other fans to a fight because they asked them to move.

At FP if you PATG you get a ticket without a seat number but if someone comes along and says to someone that they were sitting in there season ticket seat, they would move but at away games the same folk always believe they have the right to do as they want - unfortunately folk like that wont change.

If they are going to adopt such an approach they are as well printing 2000+ tickets with no rows or seat numbers and saying 1st come 1st served basis. Then everyone would know where they stood.

Absolutely Iain. At the point of sale ie Fir Park and on entry to the stadium fans should be told either "sit where you want" as theres' no allocated seats or you must stick to your allocated seat no exceptions. This will be enforced by the stewards. However its the responsibility of the host club to clarify this well in advance. Fortunately, as Clackscat wrote, most of us managed to resolve seating issues in an adult and amicable way but we can't assume that will always be the case.

Accies are a streetwise side and thats been a major factor in their top league survival to date. They approached the game in just the manner many of us expected beforehand. The dive at the penalty was simply ridiculous there's no other word for it. Accies conned Craig Thomson, an experienced ref, for much of the game. MacKinnon does a job for them and we all know what it is. However he threw 2 deliberate elbows yesterday and committed at least 10 fouls that I could see and yet was not even yellow carded.

I have to mention the poor stewarding yesterday which caused a completely avoidable altercation or two. Our party presented our tickets to a steward for checking but were told just to go and to sit anywhere, which we did. Just prior to kick off two guys appeared and asked us to move as we were in their seats. We explained what we had been instructed to do but they weren't happy, understandably so. The situation was resolved amicably though when we moved along one seat to accommodate them. All was well that ended well as far as that was concerned. As some of you will have witnessed, one punter turned up very late and demanded his ticketed seat right behind the goal. He then argued with a steward for what seemed like hours before he got his seat. I felt sorry for the fans in the row immediately behind him who no doubt hardly saw a thing for several minutes. No doubt there were more such incidents, which could have have caused totally avoidable trouble. Now I don't know what stewards were told beforehand; maybe our steward just got it wrong, but such things shouldn't happen.

But, to finish on a positive note, our team did the business on the park and our big support behaved well off it and backed the team to the hilt. Too often in the past the team has let down a big travelling support but not yesterday.

Witnessed the chap who came very very late and he seemed like a right twat. Just sit in another seat and move on with your life....he was getting dogs abuse from a number of fans around us watching on.

It's always the same with seats there.

Best thing accies can do is print tickets with no seat numbers.

I love comments like this. Players in Iceland, Finland, Norway, Denmark, Russia, Sweden, Netherlands and more play on "plastic pitches" every week. Same pitches made by same people, so how is it only Scottish footballers have these perceived issues?

These pitches are tested every 4-6 months for run and bounce of ball. They play like a firm pitch, the only possible questionmark over them is how they impact players with regard impact injuries

Its "problems" like this that are the reason were still in the dark ages!

First time I've managed to get on since the match...I wonder if Shaka has changed his mind any on plastic pitches??

I managed to get complimentary tickets for the Main Stand on Saturday through my sons boys club and attended that match with a few neutrals and 5 or 6 other 'well fans. The general consensus of everyone, was that the match was utterly dire, played in the air for at least 50% of the time and almost zero in the way of fluent, passing moves.

Given that we have played some really decent stuff this season and have competent players from back to front that are comfortable in possession, while Accies have an advantage in that they use the park a helluva lot more than we do, I'd have thought that if the park was semi-decent, then we'd have been able to see a game that was more than kick-and-rush and aerial football. The truth is that this pitch in particular (though I'm against plastic pitches at the top level as a rule), isnt fit for purpose and they should be made to sort it out, its an utter embarrassment to the SPL in my opinion.

For me, it was the worst we have played this season, in the matches that I've attended. I thought the defence was ropey, with Dunne in particular having a mare, Cadden looked drained, while our midfield 3, just couldnt seem to get their foot on the ball. Tait again worked away tirelessly as did the lads up front, without really getting the breaks required...again though, our character showed through and while we werent at our best, and the park can be partly blamed for that it was good to see our character and will-to-win getting us through that 90mins.

Unlike the song that the youngsters were singing, I don't particularly 'hate Hamilton Accies', but I really would like to see them out of the league as soon as possible. Hopefully Partick Thistle can get their act together.

p.s. There were umpteen 'well fans I spotted, dotted around the Main Stand

Would the best thing not to be sit where your ticket says?

Definitely. That's why me and my old man always get to NDP early - to save this hassle.

The fact was the seat was taken the game had started and there were other single seats close by. Just sit doon. Or stand there clutching a pie and bovril, miss more of the game, make others around you miss the game, shout in the face of your fellow well fans and get 1 guy to move a few seats along "Coz that's ma seat and I want my seat". Better ways to deal with the situation from a few angles including his

In a perfect world it would be great if everybody sat in their ticked seat but we don't live in a perfect world. It only takes 2 or 3 Muppets to decide they want to sit somewhere else and you get all sort of ructions going. I sat in my numbered seat on Saturday with no problem but it hasn't always been like that at NDP. Maybe it's a problem with the venue as I don't think there will be problems at Hampden on Sunday.

Perhaps for the next game over there they could just number the tickets from 1-2000 and let people sit where that want

In a perfect world it would be great if everybody sat in their ticked seat but we don't live in a perfect world. It only takes 2 or 3 Muppets to decide they want to sit somewhere else and you get all sort of ructions going. I sat in my numbered seat on Saturday with no problem but it hasn't always been like that at NDP. Maybe it's a problem with the venue as I don't think there will be problems at Hampden on Sunday.

Perhaps for the next game over there they could just number the tickets from 1-2000 and let people sit where that want

And people wonder why we have certain bills for football fans :doh:

You buy a plane ticket, a cinema ticket, book a room in a hotel etc. you don't just go anywhere

Definitely. That's why me and my old man always get to NDP early - to save this hassle.

The fact was the seat was taken the game had started and there were other single seats close by. Just sit doon. Or stand there clutching a pie and bovril, miss more of the game, make others around you miss the game, shout in the face of your fellow well fans and get 1 guy to move a few seats along "Coz that's ma seat and I want my seat". Better ways to deal with the situation from a few angles including his

To be fair it was some entertainment during a dull passage of play.

However unless a match is ALL ticket it surely stands to reason that the seat row and number on a ticket is meaningless and the ticket should only be considered as a pre-paid entry.

Are fans that paid at the gate supposed to know whether someone will turn up late for the match with a ticket for the seat they sat in?

The guy that turned up late was an ass and utterly humiliated himself. But like I said, it's entertainment.

Reasonable assumption to make - perhaps someone who paid at the gate could shed some light on what happened - were they given a ticket when passing through the turnstyle - for a seat. I presumed the tickets left over and returned to Accies would be issued to those PATG punters - @Fal_Dosser - care to pass comment?

Just be careful what you wish for.

I dread to think what kind of atmosphere would have been generated on Saturday - and more importantly the game back in May when it was needed most - if those couple of hundred souls who wished to congregate together to try to generate some atmosphere had been split across that stand because everyone was duty bound to sit in their allocated seat.

Would the best thing not to be sit where your ticket says?

That concept is lost on some.

It's not rocket science when you know the stand is going to be full to sit in the seat you buy a ticket for.

I couldn't agree more, but as I understand it the point most are making is that this only works if you don't then have the stewards (who we're told to listen to), instructing everyone that the official line is to sit wherever you want. Seems the lack of consistency is the issue....if you want everyone to adhere to the instructions, then you have to be giving everyone the same ones.

The place is a shambles and the sooner their wee amateur set-up is back where it belongs in a wee part-time league, the better.

That probably happened because the stewards decided it would be less work for them to make it a free for all.

Rangers an Celtic fans manage to deal with this every week so it's a poor reflection of those in our support who can't.

quite sure both Celtic & rangers will be a sit where you like at all away games. Certainly seems to be the case at fir park.