The 'Magnificent' David Turnbull Discussion Thread

sailor_h

On Motherwell's handling of the David Turnbull situation, what are your thoughts (assuming no minimum release clause)?  

123 members have voted

1. 1. On Motherwell's handling of the David Turnbull situation, what are your thoughts (assuming no minimum release clause)?

• Happy we have accepted the quoted fee of 3.25m + add ons.
    • Think we should have held out for more, but still sold this summer
    • Think we should have kept David for at least one more season
    • Happy we have accepted the quoted fee of 3.25m + add ons, but shouldn't have accepted a bid from a club in Scotland
    • Other thoughts. Please comment

28 minutes ago, Shaka said:

Also Campbell is a real worry for me. He is turning into David Clarkson 2.0, too much football and pressure is making him jaded and he looks like he is regressing

Eh?

He has had a couple of bad games. He has been outstanding for about a year and a half!

35 minutes ago, johnstone said:

Eh?

He has had a couple of bad games. He has been outstanding for about a year and a half!

Id say more than a couple. He is a fantastic player but I feel needs either more support in mid, or a bit of a rest.

As well as getting a proper striker, we also badly needed to replace Gorrin, Donnelly is pish in the DM role, Id have him CB

Why is Turnbull being shoved back into the team already? Surely he needs to build things up in the reserves first, instead of being flung in (albeit for 20 minutes) the day after getting the OK from his specialist? I hope management know what they are doing (HAHAHA!!!!)

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

7 hours ago, Haggischomper said:

Why is Turnbull being shoved back into the team already? Surely he needs to build things up in the reserves first, instead of being flung in (albeit for 20 minutes) the day after getting the OK from his specialist? I hope management know what they are doing (HAHAHA!!!!)

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

Probably because we are desperate for any confidence boost and he is still the best player we have in our squad.  I agree any other player would probably get a couple of reserve games at least and who knows he may well get some reserve game time. In saying that it is clear to me we have been ultra cautious with our prized possession and goodness knows we could do with the pre injury Turnbull back in the team ASAP. 

We don't have another reserve game until the 9th march according to the website so I am guessing that's why he has been put in the squad. The team could do with the lift of having him back, must be some buzz knowing one of the best if not the best young player in Scotland is on the verge of coming back. 

I doubt anyone, Robbo, Physio, specialist or even the player would have been happy going back in the squad if he wasn't ready.

I think everyone has dealt with the whole situation very well, not putting any timeline on it which in turn puts pressure on the player to be back for xyz. I have thought for a while that he is slightly further forward than the club are letting on, Robbo said a few weeks ago we don't expect to see him until April and here we are.

Its all very well to say that DT should have played in a few reserve games first but perhaps there's none scheduled for some time?

As far as Allan Campbell is concerned, I've a lot of time for his committed all action style of play and he was one of the main reasons for our great early season. However, I've said for some time, going back to the autumn,  that he was burnt out having played too much football.  Thats not to say he's been poor in every game; he hasn't. He badly needs a rest and I hoped that he'd be rested more in the past week or two. Sometimes you have to take a short term hit for a long term win. 

I think one of Campbell's big issues is the amount of running he does.  He must be way ahead of everyone else in the league in terms of distance covered, but that doesn't necessarily mean that it is a good stat.  I think his recent figures suggest he is running himself into the ground rather than it being a positive asset of his game. 

6 minutes ago, Shaka said:

And thats all thats important for the club!

And rightly so.  

We know the training facilities are inadequate and are reaching the point where they are off-putting for players the club want to sign, we know the budget is at the lower end of the league and requires to be upped, we know Fir Park has an increasingly limited shelf-life, we know that the club have only recently become debt free and are aiming to build up a reserve to 

So when a bid is made that (and let's not pretend they accept the first offer that's put to them) enables them to take steps to address that, then aye I'd imagine that would be pretty important to the club. 

2 hours ago, Shaka said:

And thats all thats important for the club!

As it should be, without transfers the club would very quickly spiral back into debt. The attendances along with other income won’t come close to being enough. 

2 hours ago, Andy_P said:

And rightly so.  

We know the training facilities are inadequate and are reaching the point where they are off-putting for players the club want to sign, we know the budget is at the lower end of the league and requires to be upped, we know Fir Park has an increasingly limited shelf-life, we know that the club have only recently become debt free and are aiming to build up a reserve to 

So when a bid is made that (and let's not pretend they accept the first offer that's put to them) enables them to take steps to address that, then aye I'd imagine that would be pretty important to the club. 

We do, however, need to be wary of falling into the cycle of developing young players and selling them off before they play a full 1st team season in order to generate funds to improve the training facilities to develop young players to sell off before they play a full 1st team season etc. etc.

At some point we need some of our next crop of youngsters to play the number of games a Cadden or a Campbell have given us. With Scott gone, there is going to be a gap before the next youngsters start making regular appearances.

As I may have said before, the first priority of the academy is to develop a quality of player we could never afford to buy. The second is to generate income, but if we don't get a decent run in the team from them then we are losing value to the team - the value that is a fan paying money to be entertained; the only reason our club (or any club) exists.

4 hours ago, weeyin said:

We do, however, need to be wary of falling into the cycle of developing young players and selling them off before they play a full 1st team season in order to generate funds to improve the training facilities to develop young players to sell off before they play a full 1st team season etc. etc.

At some point we need some of our next crop of youngsters to play the number of games a Cadden or a Campbell have given us. With Scott gone, there is going to be a gap before the next youngsters start making regular appearances.

As I may have said before, the first priority of the academy is to develop a quality of player we could never afford to buy. The second is to generate income, but if we don't get a decent run in the team from them then we are losing value to the team - the value that is a fan paying money to be entertained; the only reason our club (or any club) exists.

That's fair. Like everything there's a balance to be struck and for me it the sale of Scott and potential sale of Turnbull mean that in time we'll be better placed to find that balance.

As I see it we're edging our way along a pathway from a point say eight or nine years ago when come the January window we were desperate to get someone out the door simply to make it until the end of the season.  Since then we've been able to become increasingly more choosy at when we sell at and what price to the point in more recent times we've been able to get decent sums up front with deals also have the potential for future benefits.

It is still relatively early days in the fan ownership era and whilst I'd absolutely love to have seen both Scott and Turnbull on the pitch the other night if the club believe that if their valuations are met and that the sums taken in can put the club on a secure footing in the short term and increase the chances sustained success in the longer term I can't really be too critical of that.

It's certainly a fine balance, and one that obviously has market and timing pressures. It just feels that in the past 12 - 18 months the pendulum has swung too far towards "sell young and sell early" and now we are in the situation where our only regularly starting academy graduate claimed his place in 2017.

It wasn't that long ago we had Cadden, Campbell, Turnbull, Hastie and Scott in the first team. We need to get back towards that model sooner rather than later.

15 hours ago, weeyin said:

It's certainly a fine balance, and one that obviously has market and timing pressures. It just feels that in the past 12 - 18 months the pendulum has swung too far towards "sell young and sell early" and now we are in the situation where our only regularly starting academy graduate claimed his place in 2017.

It wasn't that long ago we had Cadden, Campbell, Turnbull, Hastie and Scott in the first team. We need to get back towards that model sooner rather than later.

100% weeyin. last year for a wee bit was great feeling with all our own young uns in the team. It might sound patronising but I definitely felt more proud watching them win and also the smiles on their faces when they won seemed to be a wee bit bigger than the rest.  the hastie.campbell and turnbull song was magical for the short time we could sing it.

On 2/27/2020 at 11:05 AM, Winning by Name said:

I think the post 3 before you has said they have done. Is a closed door game the same as a bounce game?

Hadn’t read that post. Hint of sarcasm,  maybe even being facetious in my reply to the posts mentioning the lack of reserve fixtures.

18 hours ago, weeyin said:

Sorry if I’ve forgotten anyone but of those you mention we only sold Scott, and at that it was for a pretty tidy sum. The club tried to keep Hastie and Cadden but both players decided to move on, the club never sold them. We’re all aware of the Turnbull saga, could’ve moved on for a chunk of change that would have pushed us on a level or two, but for all we know he could sign an extension tomorrow and be here for another two years (before leaving for nothing a la Cadden/Hastie) and we’re exactly where we started at...)

Slight side note, but I’m constantly amazed that Campbell has never been linked with a move elsewhere as he has (last few fatigue-laden games aside) been one of our most consistent performers and a powerhouse central to getting us going imo. 

1 hour ago, Stu92 said:

Sorry if I’ve forgotten anyone but of those you mention we only sold Scott, and at that it was for a pretty tidy sum. The club tried to keep Hastie and Cadden but both players decided to move on, the club never sold them. We’re all aware of the Turnbull saga, could’ve moved on for a chunk of change that would have pushed us on a level or two, but for all we know he could sign an extension tomorrow and be here for another two years (before leaving for nothing a la Cadden/Hastie) and we’re exactly where we started at...)

Slight side note, but I’m constantly amazed that Campbell has never been linked with a move elsewhere as he has (last few fatigue-laden games aside) been one of our most consistent performers and a powerhouse central to getting us going imo. 

Sshhh!

• David locked this topic