Jump to content

grizzlyg

Sportscene trial by tv

Recommended Posts

2 hours ago, Ya Bezzer! said:

 

I'm not a referee but surely if the foul starts outside the box it's not a penalty.

I will agree though that the referee didn't get the decision right.

If it carries on into the box it’s a penalty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, GrahamH said:

If it carries on into the box it’s a penalty.

No it's not, if the original contact / foul is outside the box then it's not a penalty,

  • Haha 1
  • Confused 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 minutes ago, Spiderpig said:

No it's not, if the original contact / foul is outside the box then it's not a penalty,

Really? Tell that to the FA.

If a defender starts holding an attacker outside the penalty area and continues holding inside the penalty area, the referee must award a penalty kick.
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, GrahamH said:

Really? Tell that to the FA.

If a defender starts holding an attacker outside the penalty area and continues holding inside the penalty area, the referee must award a penalty kick.
 

The Law was changed to exactly this. If a penalty is not given (as often happens), then it is the referee ignoring the law change or bottling it. Change introduced specifically to address jersey tugging which often ends with the player falling inside the box after having tried to stay on his feet when he was first dragged back. It was seen as penalising the attacking player to bring the play back to the place of the initial contact. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A number of the law updates have been sensible changes. It just seems to be the handball "improvements" that have been misguided.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
10 minutes ago, weeyin said:

A number of the law updates have been sensible changes. It just seems to be the handball "improvements" that have been misguided.

They are well intentioned, but they’ve made a pigs ear of it.

I think the intention was to remove the possibility of gaining a big advantage from an accidental handball.

To be honest, the way the rule was being applied before was ok. Perhaps changing the wording to replace “deliberate” with something like “avoidable” was all that was needed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

Twitter @MotherwellFC

×