Greatest Motherwell 11 You Have Seen

joewarkfanclub

Given we are all bored shitless with nae fitba, and topic posts have pretty much dried up with nothing to talk about, I thought Id start a post to generate discussion. Who are the best 11 Motherwell players you have seen in the flesh?  Obviously dependent on your age this will throw up some wildly different selections.

Feel free to give reasons for selection and discuss / debate ad nauseum!

I will start with

GK - Sieb Dijkstra

there are other goalkeepers I could pick that would be considered more solid, however, Sieb was a true character of the game. Helped by his dayglow  rubiks cube shirt and pornstar moustache, he was a stickout as soon as he walked onto the pitch. But Sieb was also a great goalkeeper. An excellent shotstopper, his ability to come out for cross balls and catch them cleanly was something to behold and coined its own chant, "Seeeeeeeeib!". He must have been a dream for any centre half to play with as he repeatedly came as far as the penalty spot to take what was rightfully his. He did also however, drive Wee Tommy mad with his dribbling out of defence, which on the odd occasion did cost us a goal, but the big man was an entertainer and his showboating was a thing of legend.

Right Back - Luc Nijholt

Another dutchmen Luc wasnt with us for very long, but his contribution in that time brought a Scottish Cup Winners medal. He will be forever remembered for his tough tackling no nonsense style, however, being dutch he was very comfortable on the ball and a very valuable addition to the team. You wouldnt mess eith Luc, especially after he'd had his Weetabix!

Centre Half - Brian Martin 

Big Buff for 2 seasons was head and shoulders the best centre back in Scotland. The crime was that he didnt get his Scotland call up until his form had started to dip a little and no one really saw the end of season tour in Japan, so his international recognituon was shortlived and easily forgotten. Buff was imperious in the air and majestic on the ground. He could stride out of defence with the ball at his feet and I will never forget his 30 yard howitzer at Ibrox right into the top corner. Absolute scenes!

Centre Half - Miodrag Krivokapic

Big Mio joined after the Cup winning success and many wondered if his best years were behind him at Dundee United.  We could not have been more wrong. He slipped seemlessly into the team and his performances over the piece were outstanding. Similar to Nijholt in his uncompromising style, but Mio could also play. 

Left Back - Joe Wark

There can be only one. Quite simply Motherwell FCs greatest ever player. How he never got a single cap for Scotland is not only incredible but a national disgrace.

Right Midfield - James McFadden

Well, I had to get him in somewhere! Maybe didnt play here that often for Motherwell, but there was no better sight than Faddy collecting the ball out wide and coming in onto his left foot and letting rip. We all know what happened next!

Centre Midfield - Phil O'Donnell

Over his 2 spells at Fir Park Phil was a class act, although, a much different type of player in either spell. From the young exhuberant box to box midfielder of his first spell, to the slightly deeper holding midfielder of his second, Phil was just always so composed and did what all good players do, made it look easy. I will never forget his debut against St Mirren where wee Tommy pitched him in at left back and Kenny McDowall just booted him up and down the park.  I think they used to call it "Character building". Will always be remembered for being "Brave as a Lion" and will continue to be sadly missed.

Centre Midfield - Paul Lambert

I did toy with the idea of putting Bobby Russell in here due to his telepathic understanding with my next pick, and there are some merits to be had in arguing for Davy Turnbulls potential, but seriously, how many former Motherwell players have won the Champions League? A creative midfielder with style and flair Lambert shone in the 2 games v Dortmund, which ultimately got him his move and propelled him into the international arena where alongside John Collins and Barry Ferguson he was an absolute standoutfor Scotland. Class act.

Left Midfield - Davy Cooper

Nothing more needs said

Forwards - Bobby Graham / Willie Pettigrew

We have been blessed with some great strikers over my time supporting Motherwell, Coyne, Arnott, Sutton, Higdon, Moult. But this pair had a partnership which was unique. Similar to Russell / Cooper, they had a telepathy which delivered. The stars of my first ever Motherwell,  they left a wee boy transfixed and subject to an addiction I have not yet been able to beat.

Subs

We all have our favourites and folk we would like to have got in the team but just couldnt because there was someone better in that position. There are also the cult heroes who, although maybe werent the best became fans favourites. Here are a few of mine.

Ally Maxwell, George Burley, Martyn "Kaiser" Corrigan, Chris McCart, Fraser Wishart, Colin "Psycho" ONeill, Bobby Russell, Johnny Gahagan (on the wing), Dougie Arnott, Tommy Coyne (m'Lord), Michael Higdon, Henrik Ojaama, Louis Moult.

Look forward to reading everyone elses Motherwell story.....

Here’s the team from a younger point of view
Goalkeeper-Darren Randolph
I don’t remember a specific moment of him but I do remember him in his pink kit being a good goalie
Right Back-Richard Tait
I know he has lost all his pace this season but he has been solid for a few seasons before this year
Centre Half-Shaun Hutchison
Centre Half-Declan Gallagher
Left Back-Stevie Hammell
Not had another left back in with a shout
Right Winger-Chris Humphrey
Was my favourite player when I was young
Centre midfield-David Turnbull
The best player I’ve seen for us
Centre midfield-Keith Lasley
Left Winger-Marvin Johnson
Centre Forward-Louis Moult
Centre Forward-Michael Higdon

Subs-Carson,Kipre,Craig Reid,Campbell, sloth,Ainsworth,McDonald

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

1 hour ago, Ross said:

Here’s the team from a younger point of view
Goalkeeper-Darren Randolph
I don’t remember a specific moment of him but I do remember him in his pink kit being a good goalie
Right Back-Richard Tait
I know he has lost all his pace this season but he has been solid for a few seasons before this year
Centre Half-Shaun Hutchison
Centre Half-Declan Gallagher
Left Back-Stevie Hammell
Not had another left back in with a shout
Right Winger-Chris Humphrey
Was my favourite player when I was young
Centre midfield-David Turnbull
The best player I’ve seen for us
Centre midfield-Keith Lasley
Left Winger-Marvin Johnson
Centre Forward-Louis Moult
Centre Forward-Michael Higdon

Subs-Carson,Kipre,Craig Reid,Campbell, sloth,Ainsworth,McDonald

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

That team would qualify for Europe comfortably most years!