An evening with '91 legends

Toxteth O'Grady

2 hours ago, numpty said:

Probably, although  not sure they can have any stories left at this point that we haven't heard half a dozen times before!

Agreed, as great as it was for those of us who were there and for the club , we will always remember it, but all of the Anniversary date stuff, talks with legends etc has been done to death, it was 30 years ago ffs, all we should get now is an update on the club twitter, " on this day 30 years ago etc we won the cup", we all like the tweet and move on.

Mixed thoughts, I’ve never participated in any of the commemorative things before, I didn’t even travel for the bus parade the day after.  An on-line thing is now part of life.  In some ways if the players still get something out of it I would be happy to join in.

37 minutes ago, Spiderpig said:

Agreed, as great as it was for those of us who were there and for the club , we will always remember it, but all of the Anniversary date stuff, talks with legends etc has been done to death, it was 30 years ago ffs, all we should get now is an update on the club twitter, " on this day 30 years ago etc we won the cup", we all like the tweet and move on.

It's a nice little way to raise some funds for the youth academy, and a chance for those fans who are interested to listen to some of the old stories for an hour or so. 

2 hours ago, David said:

It's a nice little way to raise some funds for the youth academy, and a chance for those fans who are interested to listen to some of the old stories for an hour or so. 

I assume the vast majority, if not all of the people who will be there will have been at the game in 91 so  they have probably heard "the old" Stories a dozen times, so whats the point.

Raising funds for the youth academy is a great idea but the club could have been a bit more creative in deciding what fund raiser to implement. 

An event centering around the current players / club, with the 91 players involved as a nod to the cup win, comparing new and old styles,  can this years squad repeat the win etc would have been appealing to a wider audience of fans of all ages, instead of the "Tam Cowan, asking Patterson or Nijholt for another funny story from the cup that year, or was Colin O'Neil really a psycho"  format that's been done to death. 

1 hour ago, fizoxy said:

Looking forward to doing g the same with this current squad in 30 years time. Should be some banter, and maybe as a wee "this is your life" style surprise they can all meet Eddie Nolan for the first time. 

"Do you recognise this voice?"

"Naw."

1 hour ago, Spiderpig said:

I assume the vast majority, if not all of the people who will be there will have been at the game in 91 so  they have probably heard "the old" Stories a dozen times, so whats the point.

Raising funds for the youth academy is a great idea but the club could have been a bit more creative in deciding what fund raiser to implement. 

An event centering around the current players / club, with the 91 players involved as a nod to the cup win, comparing new and old styles,  can this years squad repeat the win etc would have been appealing to a wider audience of fans of all ages, instead of the "Tam Cowan, asking Patterson or Nijholt for another funny story from the cup that year, or was Colin O'Neil really a psycho"  format that's been done to death. 

It's not like this is the only fund raiser there's ever going to be. For all the people who aren't interested, if it's not for you then fine but some people will be interested.  As others have said above some want to celebrate the day whenever they can, some haven't taken part in any events before or there might be younger supporters who haven't heard any of the stories before and want to know more.

1 hour ago, fizoxy said:

Looking forward to doing g the same with this current squad in 30 years time. Should be some banter, and maybe as a wee "this is your life" style surprise they can all meet Eddie Nolan for the first time. 

I don't know why everyone thinks this is such a big mystery. Here he is in his last game at Crewe, just before he signed for us.

inflatable-soccer-player.jpg