In's And Out's

AndyRoss

• Replies 3.6k

I think its more to do with the fact that people are on Frasers back when he has done fuck all wrong.

All about opinions, mate. I think I have seen Fraser in all his competitive games this season; the first four Europa League ones and Accies away, and I do not agree at all. With the exception of Flamurtari home, in my opinion, he has looked very, very nervous- think more nervous than the blonde woman on Vicar of Dibley.....I know a shite analogy, though I'm sure people will understand what I mean.  :lol:

In no way, would I say he has "done fuck all wrong". If he had "done fuck all wrong" in the Accies match, he would have retained his place next game. Simples. Why play a loan player when a full-time player is just as good? 

Just my opinion.

SD

In no way, would I say he has "done fuck all wrong". If he had "done fuck all wrong" in the Accies match, he would have retained his place next game. Simples. Why play a loan player when a full-time player is just as good? 

Just my opinion.

SD

Well, Kuszczak played in the Carling Cup final for Man Utd and 'done fuck all wrong' but was replaces by Van der Saar in the next match. Kinda blows your theory out the water.

Also, Fraser isn't my cousin. I just love the arguing against the uninformed views of most football fans.

I'm not saying thats eveyone who says Fraser is pish, because a few folk have actually given reasons for their opinion.

He's been at fault for one of the goals we've conceded, letting the Flamurtari player meg him.

I'm not doubting that it would seem Ruddy is a better all-round 'keeper, but for a guy his size he's been lobbed far too often. Thats down to decision making. Something that both our current 'keepers will get better at as time goes on.

fraser had an absolute nightmare in the game against rhyll which gannon watched before meeting any of the players. i think first impressions that day might have done for fraser, fitzy and mcgarry in his eyes, they were beyond honking.

he's also lucky if he's 6 foot tall which isnae much use.

Well, Kuszczak played in the Carling Cup final for Man Utd and 'done fuck all wrong' but was replaces by Van der Saar in the next match. Kinda blows your theory out the water.

Also, Fraser isn't my cousin.

Sentence 1: Personally, I don't follow the English game that much. I actually don't comment on games where I have only viewed on the TV and I don't vote on Andy P's polls unless I've actually been to the game. It appears that Man United didn't keep a clean sheet in the game you refer to. Don't know the reason; nor want to. B-)

Sentence 2: Your opinion. :P

Sentence 3: I never suggested he was. :huh:  

Do you want me to create a poll: "Do you think that M Fraser is/could be a decent SPL keeper?

It is easily done. :lol:

The last bit wasn't aimed at you lol.

Absolutely no problem, Mr MFC. :lol:  

As I mentioned, it's all to do with opinions.

I guess we've taken this thread a bit OT? Fraser is still with us, whilst it is the young Pole who has moved on.....unless I've missed something?

SD

No really because what he said was if he 'done fuck all wrong' he wouldn't have lost his place to a loan player. The boy is understandably nervous as this is his chance on a bigger stage.

Seem to remember when big Sieb started he was rank in his first few games & we all know what a legend he went on to be. Sure i seen him the other day playing a plumber in a porno :lol:

Also, Steelboy. Mind how that Glasgow team dominated the Scottish game for a good while with a minus 6 foot 'keeper. Also, explain why, IMO, the best 'keeper in the world is under 6ft.

the best keeper at fir park isn't though :lol:

if it's fraser in goals next season then so be it and we'll have to get behind him, nobody wants to see us losing goals. we'll cross that bridge (and talk on shite about it on here) when we come to it.

Seem to remember when big Sieb started he was rank in his first few games & we all know what a legend he went on to be. Sure i seen him the other day playing a plumber in a porno :lol:

Shurley shome mishtake?

"In a porno"? :huh:

"In every porno" B-)

Unlesh ah've mished somenthin.....

the best keeper at fir park isn't though :lol:

if it's fraser in goals next season then so be it and we'll have to get behind him, nobody wants to see us losing goals. we'll cross that bridge (and talk on shite about it on here) when we come to it.

Looks like you've got a head start then.

Fraser looked dodgy as fuck against LLANELLI never mind a whole season against SPL teams. He is fine for a back up for a club at our level but he aint a no1 keeper, I still have Caley supporting mates who laugh when asking bout him.

His kicking is ok and shot stopping is superb, but cross taking,command + decision making are junior level. As i said,ok back up,not 1st team number 1.

You've just described Graeme Smith, and we were fine with him for 3 years! Fuck, he even got a Scotland call up!

Fraser's a good 'keeper, more than able to play in the SPL, and when Ruddy goes next year, I hope Fraser gets his chance to prove himself.

Personally, I have seen Fraser struggle/drop too many crosses for not only us already but also when he played with ICT. We drew 2-2 with ICT at Fir Park near the end of last season and I thought Fraser, who had been reinstated to the team by then, was poor. Kicking and ownership of his own box wasn't the best and IIRC I thought he should have done better with the cross that led to the first goal. In a European game at Airdrie (Flamurtari at home I think) he tried to take a cross into his stomach instead of jumping for it, dropped it, and had to scramble and dive to recover it. I would expect a fat 14 year old with the speed and turning circle of a juggernaut to easily deal with that never mind a pro. I am also constantly reminded by an ICT fan I know that Fraser wasn't even their first choice keeper when we signed him. Relegated to the bench for shoddy performances and conceeding five goals before halftime at Ibrox being the final straw for Big Tel.

If we had our hearts in our mouths when a cross came into the box when Buzz was the keeper, then we are in for some worrying moments next season that is for sure.

Simply put none of us have seen enough of Fraser to make an informed judgement, pre-conceived opinion was that he was shite and that seems to have been accepted as fact.

Gie the guy a fuckin' break FFS.

I've seen him plenty - he's murder.

Relegated to the bench for shoddy performances and conceeding five goals before halftime at Ibrox being the final straw for Big Tel.

I could be TOTALLY wrong here (and probably am), but was it not Ryan Esson in goals that game?

Checked as yuo had cast some doubt in my mind. Seems we are both wrong.......in a way. Fraser played the full 90 mins. Esson didn't replace him at all.

This was an interesting quote from the BBC match report though;

"Rangers made the breakthrough in the seventh minute when Boyd's free-kick shot was spilled by Inverness goalkeeper Michael Fraser into the path of Novo, who slid in to find the back of the net. Another goalkeeping error cost Inverness as Rangers doubled their lead minutes later when Fraser's poor clearance was picked up by Pedro Mendes."

:P:lol:

I'm sure though this was Fraser's last game for ICT for a wee while right enough.

Poor fraser he has some big boots to fill!!!!

The guys an honest pro unfortunately he was bought in by an old manager and we have uncovered an amazing talent in john ruddy for him to live up to.

Lets get behind the guy if he is going to be our no.1 nobody in our team is the finished article i'm looking forward to see the guy improve.

Give him a chance!!!

I think we should qualify this thread by remembering that Motherwell Football Club also backed Yaas to the hilt!
I was thinking more of the fans who were saying Jutkiewicz (and to a lesser extent, Jennings) was useless after a couple of games.

I've seen him plenty - he's murder.

How many is plenty?

I think we should qualify this thread by remembering that Motherwell Football Club also backed Yaas to the hilt!

Fraser, whether he's competant on not, is not a patch on John Ruddy. End of!

No argument there but that's not the point is it? It's about folk jumping to conclusions about a player they've hardly seen in action. Half his detractors had him marked down before he even played for us remember.

Poor fraser he has some big boots to fill!!!!

The guys an honest pro unfortunately he was bought in by an old manager and we have uncovered an amazing talent in john ruddy for him to live up to.

Lets get behind the guy if he is going to be our no.1 nobody in our team is the finished article i'm looking forward to see the guy improve.

Give him a chance!!!

Those are key points in this debate for me. Regardless of how you rate Michael Fraser there are few who will argue that he isn't of the same calibre as Ruddy. No slight intended on Fraser incidently. Just I believe in Ruddy we have something a little bit special and beyond our normal reach.

And as such be it Michael Fraser or whoever happens to come after Ruddy is going to have a really difficult task of replacing him, simply because memories of him will be so fresh. You hope whoever comes in gets off to a flyer.

Clearly ability plays a large part but Woods was getting similar to Fraser before he'd even settled in at Fir Park after replacing Sieb, Billy Thomson the same coming in for Maxi, both very popular and highly rated keepers at the time.

If there's a hint that Ruddy's replacement doesn't have anything like the same capabilities then I fear for him a bit in terms of the reception some of the support will give him.

How many is plenty?

Well we've seen him about half a dozen times for Motherwell, and probably about the same against Motherwell, so I'd say double figures games is plenty to judge whether someone is good enough or not. Not to mention the fact that every manager he's ever had has relegated him to number 2.