The Green Green Grass Of Home

delboy

Apologies for a negative post at this time of all round optimism - but I found this article in Times Online from back in February regarding the Fir Park pitch.

Pat Nevin advises Motherwell

Nevin describes the efforts the club put in to solve flooding when he was Chief Executive. His conclusion was the only solution was for the club to move grounds.

The bottom line is that the water table in that part of Motherwell is above the level of the pitch, so every time it rains, the surface will flood. Because the drainage system is so “ancient”, rainwater will never seep away and, just to add insult to injury, the turf has the wrong type of sand in the worst-affected area, which prevents water being absorbed. Nevin said the specialists believe that Motherwell would need to dig down 40 feet deep to put in new drains, and even then there is no guarantee of success, so moving to a new site would be best.

“There is not a specialist a round who can fix this,” a sympathetic Nevin said yesterday. “We spent a lot of time, money and effort when I was at Motherwell. We listened to every agronomist, did everything they asked and got nowhere. To fix the problem, you are probably talking about millions.”

The new pitch looked like a bowling green against Killie. After last season's embarrassment, it was great to see. But does anyone know if all the problems regards soil, undersoil heating and drainage have been resolved.

Here's hoping.

• Replies 649

the new drains work a treat

would take 15 inches of rain in 30 minutes for it to flood

so i think we are safe that way!!!!

teh heating is tip top and the new rootzone works perfectly with the drainage also

all in all its a great pitch!

Even last years pitch looked good at the beginning of the season. The big test will come when we have to play a run of games in bad weather. The drainage was only one of many problems and the shade from the south stand is something we will never be able to do anything about.

The problem with the old pitch was when it started to deteriorate it went down hill fast. If it starts to go again then we'll be fooked again, but here's hoping the work done on the drainage will stop it ever getting as bad.

Fair do's to the groundstaff and club you cant fault their effort.

Until we get 15 inches of rain in half an hour of course Would you bet against it happening? :doh:

Fucking Nevin. That piece basically tries to deflect blame away from him. Slimy wee c**t. Allegedly.

Not really, just explaining the same way as he did at the time what the problem was way I read it.

I also saw a moment when a Killie player crossed the ball in from the edge of the box and a big pile of sand flew of into the air!!!!!!!! :doh:

FFS are you some sort of Beechgrove Garden expert to identify that it was sand and not top soil (or some other stuff i'm nae Percy Thrower). Oor wee club have spent the best part/more of our annual transfer budget on improving our playing surface. We are potentially on the cusp of a new Ancell Babes era and you post a big bangy heid cos a pile of sand?????????????????

FFS mibees i'm jist gettin a cantancerous auld bugger :thumbup:

Even last years pitch looked good at the beginning of the season. The big test will come when we have to play a run of games in bad weather. The drainage was only one of many problems and the shade from the south stand is something we will never be able to do anything about.

The problem with the old pitch was when it started to deteriorate it went down hill fast. If it starts to go again then we'll be fooked again, but here's hoping the work done on the drainage will stop it ever getting as bad.

Fair do's to the groundstaff and club you cant fault their effort.

Installation of roof panels that allow sunlight to meet the pitch? Simples. Incorporated in the design of the San Giro, another faux pas by our in-house architect...

Artificial lighting rigs? A wonder of modern technology, likely to be detrimental to the club budget never mind their carbon footprint.

I'm sure they did speak to drainage experts during Nevin's time at the club but to say the water table in that part of Motherwell is above the level of the pitch is nonsense. Much as the water table varies, to be below it you would need to be in a loch or pond!

I was at the game on Saturday and was delighted to see the pitch, i think the grass was quite long on the day as you could clearly see the footprints from the warm up.

Al in all very impressed and a great job by the groundsmen and the team who sorted (i hope) the undersoil heating/drainage.

Hope it continues to impress all season.

FFS are you some sort of Beechgrove Garden expert to identify that it was sand and not top soil (or some other stuff i'm nae Percy Thrower). Oor wee club have spent the best part/more of our annual transfer budget on improving our playing surface. We are potentially on the cusp of a new Ancell Babes era and you post a big bangy heid cos a pile of sand?????????????????

FFS mibees i'm jist gettin a cantancerous auld bugger ;)

Reading that gave me a full on Dosser chubby

teh heating is tip top and the new rootzone works perfectly with the drainage also

all in all its a great pitch!

Out of interest, have you got some inside knowledge? Is it possible to know the heating is going to work until it's tried out for real in the winter?

Installation of roof panels that allow sunlight to meet the pitch? Simples. Incorporated in the design of the San Giro, another faux pas by our in-house architect...

Artificial lighting rigs? A wonder of modern technology, likely to be detrimental to the club budget never mind their carbon footprint.

The roof panel idea is a good one, never thought of that.

The artificial lights I think would make a massive difference, you just have to look at Ibrox since they started using them. But as you say they're well outwith our budget.

Out of interest, have you got some inside knowledge? Is it possible to know the heating is going to work until it's tried out for real in the winter?

the heating does work mate :lol:

one of the links in an earlier post giving the daily updates shows it being pressure tested

also on one of those links theres a pic of me :huh:

No effect whatsoever - it's as dry as a bone (honestly)... There hasn't been a single puddle either on or around the surface.

We've got 19 drains running across the pitch which leads into our main drain that runs alongside the Main Stand. These drains are linked up using sand channels a few inches down into the pitch.

The net result is despite the deluge of rain, we've got a perfect pitch.

Well worth the money!

Seeing as the entire exercise of relaying the pitch was to avoid a repeat of the problems we had last winter, I imagine that it will fare okay.

i've heard from someone who does work at fir park and knows the groundsman well that the pitch could be quite bare this winter due to the grass not being properly established. the technicalities of growing grass were lost on me but the jist of it was it could be poor this winter but fine after that.

whatever happens it won't be as bad as last winter.