Remember Football Before.......

Scarecrow

Saturated TV coverage, The Internet, SKY, Football computer games, All seated stadium, Sunday Monday Tuesday Thursday Friday matchdays/nights, The East Stand, The South Stand, The DC Stand, Squad numbers, The SPL, The Premier Division, Food kiosks, Fanzines and added time.....it was great!!

Feel free to add to list as there will be a lot more I have forgot.

Fao Mods had a think about which forum to put it in and this one looked best from MFC perspective. Please move if you think otherwise.

• Replies 118

Home one week,away the next and sportscene/scotsport was the tv highlight of the weekend if a Motherwell game was covered.

And the main game got 20 minutes or more of highlights, not the 5 minutes you get nowadays. And sometimes that main game wasn't even a Premier League game, if there was a better First Division game on.

Might I add: switching ends at half time, James Sanderson and Richard Park (before he was better known for being the Headmaster on Fame Academy), Chipmunk salt and vinegar crisps, and erra macaroon bars and spearmint chewing gum.

As a nipper, it was the big team at home one week, and the reserves at FP the next - excitedly waiting on the half time results at the reserves game to get an idea of how the big team were doing, and then watching Grandstand at tea time and sitting through the English results before finally getting to know whether the Dossers had won or not.

And the Pink on a Saturday night for the first match report.

I remember fitba before our collective mental and physical faculties deserted us and standing suddenly became dangerous

Unfortunately we live in a world where the leaders and top earners are either Lawyers, Accountants or Bankers. We live in a blame, risk and litigation culture imported from the US.

If an alien was to look down at us from his little spaceship, I bet he couldn't understand why they were in the acendency opposed to Teachers, Nurses or Emergency Services.

While Hillsborough was horrible, the reaction of politicians fueled by media hype is why we've got what we have now. It still happens, anyone remember the Pandemic Swine Flu that was going to be nothing compared to the black death? Millions spent by politicians because of the media frenzy, hazard suits, masks, viles of antidote now sitting in warehouses with the use by dates fast approaching while nurses being laid off to make up for the shortfall in the budgets.

...seeing a guy walking past on the track escorted by 2 of Strathclyde Polis' finest...wae a dart sticking oot his heid and me thinking "hmmm ye don't see THAT every day"

:lol::lol:

The Well V Hivees mid 70s ? One of my first memories of going to see the well .Happy days ;)

Before Tannoy announcements watching the guy put the half time scores in the wee slots at the end of the ground and if you didn't have a programme looking for somebody with one to find out what was Game A, Game B, etc.

The freedom to decide right up until the last minute whether to go to the game or not and walking up to the park and paying in, for every match.

Forget the Evening Times Pink, The Evening Citizen green was a far better paper.

Deserted streets when a big match was on the telly, Cup Finals and Scotland v England and most places were like a ghost town.

I remember football before the smoking ban was introduced. I'm not a smoker myself but I always thought the smell of fags and cigars floating through the stands on a cold, dark Saturday afternoon or midweek night added to the atmosphere of being at the football. Even nowadays when I'm walking past folk on the street who are smoking or standing outside a boozer next to some old guy puffing a cigar, the smell of it brings back my childhood memories of going to the games as that's the smell I always associated with it. It may be healthier without it, but I miss the passive smoking in fitba grounds.

Before Tannoy announcements watching the guy put the half time scores in the wee slots at the end of the ground and if you didn't have a programme looking for somebody with one to find out what was Game A, Game B, etc.

The freedom to decide right up until the last minute whether to go to the game or not and walking up to the park and paying in, for every match.

Forget the Evening Times Pink, The Evening Citizen green was a far better paper.

Deserted streets when a big match was on the telly, Cup Finals and Scotland v England and most places were like a ghost town.

They should bring that back, would certainly be an improvement.