Worst Ever Away Day

Judge Jules

Gotta be the cup tie against the New Rangers at Ibrox . Stuck next to them at the edge of our support, in the back row with a jobsworth h*n bastard steward behind us.Having to sit and watch the most spineless peformance ever, all the while being goaded by those fuckwits .Fuckin horrendous. Beats the wet cup tie at Tynecastle by a mile

hibs away, when they had the wooden benches behind the goal - no cover

cant remember if hibs infiltrated the well end or if it was well fans fighting the police

but i was about 10, and more interested in that than watching the game!!!!

anyone else have a recollection of that?

from a football point of view -

losing to St Mirren in the cup when they were in the First division - we'll call it Charlie Adam day - he destroyed us

losing to Airdrie in th cup, someone (Lasely?) scored an O|G from about 25 yards

i can accept defeats in the league, i think we are much of a muchness, losing cup games always hits me hardest as i know its our only real chance of success

remember it well. Large Hibs mob in the Well end who celebrated when they took the lead early on . Q a bigger Motherwell mob attacking them under the floodlight towards the Hibs shed. Motherwell forced their casuals right against the fence & were laying into them with a huge Hibs mob at the other side of the fence baying for blood. Eventually the police split up the warring factions & forced the bloodied Hibs mob back over into their end & after taking the names of the Motherwell boys they chucked them all out before HT leaving only the "ordinary" fans & a handful of casuals in the game. Hibs were 2-0 up & Stevie Bryce scored late on for us to make 2-1 but we never got the equaliser. Came out of the ground & crossed that bridge to absolutely hundreds of Hibs casuals ready for murder. The polis were at full stretch trying to stop them coming over the road to get at us & there were dozens of them mixed in with our escort up Easter Rd trying to get at us at every opportunity wi' some wee polis wummin waving her truncheon at them keeping them back like a lion tamer. They were jumping over cars trying to force their way over the road, constantly getting beaten back by the boys (and girl) in blue. Never been as relieved in my life to get on a bus. Even then they were trying to get on the coaches up at the top of Easter Rd & if the cops hadn't been up for it as much as their mob it would have been straight to casualty for half the buses. After Motherwell's finest getting the "result" so to speak on the terraces they were right up for revenge & I can honestly say it was the most nerve-wracking experience of my time watching Motherwell.

didnae stop me going back right enough!

That was the 88 game. Scary stuff. Remember a few old motherwell fans laying into some Hibs late with their brollys as it was all kicking off.

The other game was in the mid 90's. Stewards being heavy handed to a few old motherwell fans, so the SS attacked them. Remember a steward getting stretchered out the game.

That was the 88 game. Scary stuff. Remember a few old motherwell fans laying into some Hibs late with their brollys as it was all kicking off.

The other game was in the mid 90's. Stewards being heavy handed to a few old motherwell fans, so the SS attacked them. Remember a steward getting stretchered out the game.

was there too. 2 buses left the Dalziel Arms for this one & got escorted right up to the gate at the away end. For the first time that season we went up in my mates car instead of the DL bus. Ended up parked miles away & had to walk the gauntlet thru scores of bams looking for grief. again trouble on the terraces saw the steward getting knocked out & after Hibs went up 2-0 (again) we headed back to the car with another lad who'd travelled thru on the bus. Eerie as f*ck wandering thru the deserted streets with the token Hibs boy at just about every corner en-route back to the car checking in with their mates on the mobiles. Once again a nervy escape fae Easter Rd which believe me was a nightmare ground in the mid to late 80's & early 90's. In saying that they didnae get it all their own way at FP in those days no matter what hooligan books you read or website's you visit....

Came out of the ground & crossed that bridge to absolutely hundreds of Hibs casuals ready for murder. The polis were at full stretch trying to stop them coming over the road to get at us & there were dozens of them mixed in with our escort up Easter Rd trying to get at us at every opportunity wi' some wee polis wummin waving her truncheon at them keeping them back like a lion tamer. They were jumping over cars trying to force their way over the road, constantly getting beaten back by the boys (and girl) in blue!

I ended up on the Hibs side of the road, calling youse all 'Motherwell bassas' in my finest Leith accent.

wise move Kev! me & you were experts at staying out of trouble in those days. The Scooby & Shaggy double-act on the DL bus.....

Tid I must know you. I went on dalziel arms bus for years.

Every chance mate. Hardly missed an away game for a good few years early 90's right thru til it stopped running. Great time being a Well fan. Cracking bunch ay boys & some "lively" characters travelled on that bus. Went to Dortmund on the bus as well in 94. Trip & a half.

Both the 2005 and 2011 Cup finals were awful (if they count? Not sure if they do)

League cup semi defeat with Corrigans pass back was a sickener. It was only in the days afterwards it dawned on me how robbed we were.

The Dumfermline game in the Malpas season where we lost 4-1. I honestly thought we were down that night.

Dumbarton away in the cup in 97/98 where we scraped a draw.

Every trip to Tynecastle up to about 2004.

Every trip to Ibrox I ever made (bar the 2-2 draw in 1997 as that was the only game I ever seen us return undefeated)

Every trip I ever made to Parkhead (bar the Kevin Twaddle 1-0 win game)

St Mirren in the cup maybe 06/07 where we were gubbed 3-0.

St Mirren away second game of the season in the Malpas season. Realised early doors that season we were in trouble.

St Mirren Cup replay in McGhees 2nd season.

I wasn't at the Sevco or Albion Rovers debacles but I sure as hell felt those games! Still haunt me.

The game v St Johnstone earlier in the season where we lost 2-0 was horrendous. Soaked to the skin before I even got in, not one shot on target the whole game, poor crowd, no atmosphere and just a total "meh" day. the fact that it was on telly and I still decided to go didn't help. A horrible all round football experience.

The away result that really kicked me in the balls was Airdrie away in the league cup 01/02 i think, when we lost 2-1 with one of the best own goals ever by Keith Lasley of all players !! I was at the BP garage outside their shithole stadium going nuts about our shit performance so much that a few fellow Well fans mistook me for an Airdrie wrong-un and offered me it, to which i said "i'm a fucking Well fan tae mate "!!! He then joined me in my vocal disgust of the result and performance. Was a very grim evening :(