Marc Fitzpatrick

Sieb Dykstra

Have never really been a fan of Fitzpatrick over the years but thought he played really well tonight considering he has not had much match time. Hope he gets a chance now to earn a new longer term deal as we have been looking light in the middle of the park recently with Lasley being out and surely the competition can only do us good.

I always support the lads regardless of performance but Fitzy never really done it for me in the past, here's hoping it's onwards and upwards for him now and his injuries are behind him....

I thought he looked a like a different player tonight, I was very impressed.

He looked very confident, tracking back, looking for the ball all the time and not allowing himself to be bullied.

I thought he also added a wee bit of balance and mobility to the midfield.

Well played Mark. :wank:

He'll have harder nights but couldn't have done much better. Always thought he was a steady eddie and the criticism he got was harsh and to be fair Lasley, Jennings and Hateley are all better than him but given there are nights when Hateley will have to move into defence and one of the other two are not available he is a good dependable reserve. Well done sir.

Have never really been a fan of Fitzpatrick over the years but thought he played really well tonight considering he has not had much match time. Hope he gets a chance now to earn a new longer term deal as we have been looking light in the middle of the park recently with Lasley being out and surely the competition can only do us good.

I always support the lads regardless of performance but Fitzy never really done it for me in the past, here's hoping it's onwards and upwards for him now and his injuries are behind him....

Without trawling back, were you not one of the fans who wanted shot of him? Matured through his injury no doubt and will be a better player for it watching week in week out, he has the potential to be a first team player.

Sorry lads can't agree with any of the assessments. Always wanted him to do well, but tonight again showed his limitations - erm two legs and no ability. He certainly has the ability to breakup the play, unfortunately it tended to be when we were in possession rather than the opposition and in my opinion he contributed little to the team at all.

Purely my opinion, but really didn't see the marked improvement commented on here.

Agreed, I thought he had a very solid game given his lack of match time recently. Onwards and upwards for fizzy. Hope he does well as he's one you always will to do well.

Thought he was way better than Jennings tonight anway. One of the poorer performances from him I thought.

He certainly worked his socks off, as he always does. Yes he could've used the ball better at times, but I think he did pretty well all in all.

I thought he played well but then I never thought he was anywhere near as a bad a player as some folk seem to get a chubby out of proclaiming he is, so I'm not exactly surprised.

He's always been a decent midfielder and he showed that tonight.

happy with his performance tonight - a marked improvement from earlier games/seasons. put himself about well, chased things down and worked for the team - can we ask for more? thought he played well with Jenno tonight, altho for me, and more importantly Paw Broon, he's always going to be behind Las and Jenno.

tonights performance has given me a little hope, and if he can keep that up he'll do well.......he'd be in my team before Forbes and Hately for a central midfield position

marc played well tonight but the same issues with his touch/passing were still there. he deserved his place tonight as hateley and forbes have shown they aren't up to it in the centre of the park. i still wouldn't give him a new deal as i think we can get better value bringing someone in.

i felt sorry for saunders tonight. he was excellent on saturday but loses his place to hateley who has been poor recently. it seems like we're determined to persevere with hateley because we're stuck paying him a big wage for the next two and half years, he should have to earn his place on merit.

Without being crucified as a boo boy, Fitzy and Sutton were our two poorest players tonight. Average game from Fitzy. Good engine, heart, poor footballer with poor vision, awareness decision making and poor touch. That is about the sum of the player in general. If Forbes had the engine of Fitzy, he would be different gravy...

One of those players who never really does much wrong, but does not do much at all and the game just passes him by.

Fairly good in the tackle......unfortuantely most of the time that is him having to retrieve the ball after a shocking first touch.

Sorry Marc don't think we will be seing you in a Well shirt after the New year. Better freeing up your wages and putting the cash towards keeping Blackman and or Gow.

Just another poster who doesn't understand football

Apologies big man, I bow to your superior fitba knowledge.

As I said in my previous post he does very little wrong, but unfortunately he contributes very little full stop.

It's not good enough anymore just to have a "good engine" as seem to be a common phrase on this thread.

Thanks mate. I appreciate your feedback.

Thing is you also said he doesn't do much at all either. Which is incorrect and doing him a disservice.

In his first start for ages - he did well. his first touch let him down on a couple of occasions - but hey have we watched everybody else in our squad this season or not? It was his first game back!

Fitzpatrick was mobile and got himself up and down the park linking up and supporting both the defence and the forwards..

He was better in that role than others currently in the squad that have been tried so far this season (outwith Las and jenno).

I dont think we missed Lasley last night (for the first time since he was out).

The things he does do (and doesn't get the credit for) is that he always makes himself available to receive the ball, make a pass and get back into position to receive it again.

he constantly gets goal side and blocks movement towards our goal - we've been crying out for a bit of that if you watch a highlights package of our goals against this season.

if you're not seeing that - then your missing a big part of what the game is about.

Letting him go would be a mistake as i don't think it's an either / or in any way shape or form regarding Blackman and Gow. what has been indicated is that we won't be adding unless we sell. The perceived gulf in class between him and say Lasley is for me - bollocks

He's portrayed as a shite player or a 1st Division player on here constantly and that couldn't be further from the truth. He's the type of dependaple player we need in our team if we're gonna let other guys develop to make dosh in the transfer market.

Give the boy a contract!

Sorry Marc don't think we will be seing you in a Well shirt after the New year. Better freeing up your wages and putting the cash towards keeping Blackman and or Gow.

I was quite surprised at his inclusion last night - perhaps down to a few players suffering with illness and resting a few legs after a tough couple of weeks?

Rarely put a foot wrong, worked hard and chased well to win the ball the on the rare occasion he did make make a mistake.

Do think we are quite blessed in the centre of the park though and with Fitzy's deal due to expire in January I'd say he's the most likely to depart.

I'd like to see how he fares in our matches, if selected, before New Years Day before a new deal is offered. No idea what he earns but we need to make sure we are getting tbe best value for money. In saying that I'd expect him to start at Easter Road on Saturday. He has waited a long, long, time for his chance and it is up to him to take it.