Overrated Players

fizoxy

• Replies 127

I'd go as far as to say Kirk was under-rated. Anyway.....

Personally, I liked Stevie Kirk but he seemed to always have one good season followed by one bad one. I can see why some peoples' opinion of him may vary.

What about Mark Caughey or Paul Kinnaird......both pish!

My memory of Kirk was that he wasn't all that good a player but he did have a knack of scoring goals now and again. A club legend but yeah he certainly did take pelters in his time, underrated at the time perhaps but the claret and amber tinted specs for some seem to be taking the white Pele tag a bit to seriously. :)

Mark Reynolds.

The ratio of Craigan being responsible for the loss of a goal and people coming on here saying: "That was Craggs' fault. Pish." is far higher than Reynolds being responsible for the loss of a goal and people coming on here saying: "That was Reynolds' fault. Pish."

Mark Reynolds.

The ratio of Craigan being responsible for the loss of a goal and people coming on here saying: "That was Craggs' fault. Pish." is far higher than Reynolds being responsible for the loss of a goal and people coming on here saying: "That was Reynolds' fault. Pish."

Aye but only because in a lot of peoples eyes when Reynolds does it they jump on here and blame Craigan anyway! :lol:

chris porter.. it was always "cheeky" goals i never liked him

there was one goal he claimed that came from a bob malcolm free kick that brushed the spikes of hiss hair.. still say to this day that goal was bob malcolms another he nearly caused an offside trying to claim a goal that was going in anyway from clarky

simo - big jim smith must have had a fetish for finnish good looks. the guy got a move to the premiership and was an international ffs. he was popular because he was brave, commited and massively improved himself as a player in his time here.

foran - he scored 35 goals in 105 appearances from midfield. as far as i know he's the only motherwell player to score in two semi finals.

dougie arnott - not even worth responding to.

mcdonald - great player for us and has proved his class since he left. he also didn't celebrate after scoring his first hat trick for celtic against us and only started when he got pelters back at fir park.

lasley - :lol: a shite point at any time but after the start of the broon era it's ridiculous bordering on retarded.

a better question is why are so many well fans these days keen to put down players who are commited to the club and work hard on the park. hammell, craigan and lasley are club legends and have shown recently thay still have loads to contribute yet people consistently want to put them down and this season we've had threads in which posters (diddies) say they're finished and should be punted.

i remember my dad telling me how him and all the guys from his pub wrote a letter to john philliben after the 91 final because they were that guttted for him they didn't play. would something like that happen these days? what would be the reaction to some of our club legends from modern fans. imagine the reaction to wullie p coming back with fhw and united and i bet there would be threads about how it was time for joe wark to retire.

we've been extremely lucky over the years and especially so recently that we've had a good combination of talented players and also quite a few who truly have the club at heart. the players we've had in my time have been far better than what fans at the other non city clubs have had to watch so can we not maybe just be grateful we're not st mirren fans and give our guys a bit of support and recognition.

This is going to shock you but I AGREE 100%.

For fuck sake go away ya fud!!! Chris Porter ?

Anyway Lee McCulloch for me. I was more gutted about McMillan leaving than McCulloch.

The last part that you've highlighted is me saying that him being one of our own is an after-thought in the reasoning. Playing for more than one good team isn't the same as hanging about for years - it proves the measure of a good Motherwell player that he was an integral part of our 2nd and 3rd place finishes, as well as the cup-winning team. Even outwith those three seasons, he scored a load of fondly remembered goals against the bigots, another thing Boyd didn't achieve for the 'Well.

Boyd is a c**t, Arnott is a ledge, and the difference is not because of what team they support.

Edit - In fact, I've just thought of two words that prove my point and blow your argument out of the water...

Stevie. Kirk.

I am with you 100% Frazzle. Arnott is a legend and always will be. This is no misty eyed look back in history. He was our Wayne Rooney - only not so ugly and probably not so talented. My fave player over 35 years - not hear a bad word against the barman :D

How come when i put Klimpl in my worst ever XI it gets slated but now he was overrated?

Still, Klimpl for me though. Ran about like a headless chicken. Kicked folk for no reason when we were trying to avoid any cards. Then there is the fact that he was injured for 5 months but people still couldn't wait for this Slovakian superstar to play.

Aww aye, he scored a goal once and chopped James McCarthy.

i don't think klimpl was overrated, people knew exactly what he was. he was a guy that came in to our team when it was struggling and played a part in turning a losing run into a winning run, he was aggressive and mental which wll always appeal to 'well fans and he was something totally different from what we had had in the previous few years. someone thought up a belter of a song and the flags were a laugh. i don't think anyone thought he was a great player but for 3-4 months he was an enjoyable presence in our team.

Hahaha, Belter of a song aye. Shame we never had a MAR-I-OS Klimpl.

In one game Marc Fitzpatrick showed up Klimpl for the shite he is.

And Leitch, who was much the same player, hadn't been away that long. I enjoy having a team where I don't expect a player to get sent off every game.

Harsh on Corrigan, he was excellent for a spell but it was preceded by a couple of seasons of ordinaryness and followed by a failure to recapture best form after injuries. Good servant who deserves to be remembered well although if you only concentrate on the better couple of seasons or so and forget the rest then you could argue he is remembered through C&A coloured specs a bit.

Ross McCormack for me...dead ball specialist my arse! Very near every corner he took never got by the first man! I can only remember him scoring one free kick against Hibs at easter rd and that was only cos it was Makalamity in goals!..And he was a greedy wee waster to boot!

Kirk's abilities are overstated now because of his part in the Cup run. I remember him getting dogs abuse when playing for us. A frustrating player if ever...

Actually, I cannae keep it up. I just wanted to see how long I could compare Reynolds and Arnott before you had a stroke... :lol:

Point still holds that both are held in higher esteem than they might be because they're seen as "our" players... :D

The motherwell player with the most goals in the premier league was ?