Scotland U21

CrosshillWell

Did anyone else notice the lack of our players in the U21 squad for next week?

I know Murphy and Forbes are now twenty-two, but I thought we'd have a few players in our squad.

Yeah, like who? Saunders is out or he'd most likely have been in. No one else anywhere near deserving of a place.

• Like 1

Harsh crowd in here is it not :rolleyes:

but I thought we'd have a few players in our squad.

Did you mean, you thought we'd have a few players in our squad that would be in with a shout of a Scotland U21 squad place and are surprised not to see any in there

and as such opening the debate for others with more knowledge for input into why we have none at this time or perhaps lending an opinion on who might be on the horizon?

Because

thats what I was thinking when I seen your post and I'm also a little surprised to see no 'Well players in the pool although I have limited knowledge of the U21 pool of players who are in contention

Is it not just the case though that there is a slight bit of a gap between the likes of Saunders and the next crop coming through.

That whilst our squad is young in general some of them have just crept above the U21 threshold or have yet to establish themselves enough in the first team to warrant inclusion?

If you want to take some consolation both Josh Watt and Stuart Carswell were picked for the U19's squad.

Having a quick look at the Under 21 squad. A good few i've either never seen playing or even knew of their existence.

Goalkeepers

Grant Adam (Rangers)

Jordan Archer (Tottenham Hotspur)

Mark Ridgers (Heart of Midlothian)

Defenders

Callum Booth (Hibernian)

Darren Cole (Rangers)

Paul Hanlon (Hibernian)

Ryan Jack (Aberdeen)

Ross Perry (Rangers)

Lewis Toshney (Celtic)

Midfielders

Scott Allan (Dundee United)

Stuart Armstrong (Dundee United)

Tom Cairney (Hull City)

Liam Kelly (Kilmarnock)

Liam Palmer (Sheffield Wednesday)

Peter Pawlett (Aberdeen)

David Wotherspoon (Hibernian)