Well Players That Stay In Your Town

Coolhandluc

Served Kirky Lawson, the ex Well forward from the 70s in Larkhall today. Got me thinking about the other Well players that live in Larkie.

Joe Wark, Billy Thomson, Willie Mcvie, and my mate Barry McGrory says he played for the Well. Duisburg and Shaun Teale also resided in the orange county during their spell with Motherwell. Oh aye and Alan Sneddon!

What Well players, past or present stay in your town?

Served Kirky Lawson, the ex Well forward from the 70s in Larkhall today. Got me thinking about the other Well players that live in Larkie.

Joe Wark, Billy Thomson, Willie Mcvie, and my mate Barry McGrory says he played for the Well. Duisburg and Shaun Teale also resided in the orange county during their spell with Motherwell. Oh aye and Alan Sneddon!

What Well players, past or present stay in your town?

Not realy on topic but also Paul mcstay for quite some time.

However ojaama is in the popinjay where most players go before they get a house.

Closest I have over here are John Spencer (Portland) and Ally Maxwell (Phoenix), but those towns are are about as far away from me as Motherwell!

In fact, we only have one famous sportsman from my wee town and that is Dan Orlovsky (QB for the Tampa Bay Bucs)

closest ive been to it is brian kerr when he had a trial and stayed in toronto for a bit. im sure the other kerr our old goalie coach lives in canada somewhere

in other sports bryan little of the winnipeg jets lives here and kirk maltby of the detroit red wings went to my old high school.theres also two scottish former wwe wrestlers that live down the road :P

I think it might just have been before I moved down here but Jon Connolly, who got one, possibly two appearances in goals when Billy Davies was in charge stayed in Bargeddie. His mate stayed a few doors along from the good lady's old dear so he was in the vicinity quite a bit.

As for Chapelhall before that, I can't remember any 'Well living in the village although in the pre-internet days when the Clydesdale Bank League Review Book was a volume to be cherished and every detail poured over I remember being fascinated that Francis Mulvaney who was on MFC's books briefly in the 1980's was listed as being born in Chapelhall.

I also used to sell tatties and eggs to Cammy Duncan's gran.

All earth shattering stuff I'm sure you'll agree!

We lived in the new(ish) flats at Windmill court behind Glencairn tower from '95 until 02 & had umpteen Well legends(!) living in the same block round that time including Ged Brannan (who had Lee McCulloch as a constant visitor), Eliphas Shivute, Martin Wood & Dougie Ramsey, plus Mario Dorner & Franz sum coont or other that Austrian boy. Monday nights were the worst as the boys must have been off training on the tuesday & spent every Monday in the Palace on the pull so you would end up wi' steamin fitba players & their mates all pushing your buzzer at 3am after the dancin' wi' a never ending squad of wee slunkers that they'd picked up.

Ged Brannan's scouse mates came up & were absolutely oot o' their tits constantly trying to get in the wrong door driving us aw nuts.

Came back in from work one day to find mucky footprints all over our front door where some scumbag had tried to break in. turned out he'd been some junkie ersehole who had been coming back from getting his methadone at the chemist & decided to burgle our flat. luckily he didnae get in but he did manage to kick in the flat below's door which turned out to be Martin Woods & Dougie Ramsay's. they came back from training to find the guy filling a bin bag with their clothes. he seemingly turned round & asked them "what the f*ck do yooz want?" at which the two laddies about turned & done a Usain Bolt impression up to the polis station. by the time they got back the guy was away leaving his methadone prescription with his name & address lying on the floor so obviously didnae need Columbo to solve that yin.

the best by far though was Sasa Curcic. he was proper nuts & would have full blown raves in the flat, himsel, while whooping & hollering at the top of his voice, between mad hand claps & whistling like a manic sheep herder listening to mad Eurotechno at full pelt.

christ knows what he was oan but I could have done wi' a wee line masel!

We lived in the new(ish) flats at Windmill court behind Glencairn tower from '95 until 02 & had umpteen Well legends(!) living in the same block round that time including Ged Brannan (who had Lee McCulloch as a constant visitor), Eliphas Shivute, Martin Wood & Dougie Ramsey, plus Mario Dorner & Franz sum coont or other that Austrian boy. Monday nights were the worst as the boys must have been off training on the tuesday & spent every Monday in the Palace on the pull so you would end up wi' steamin fitba players & their mates all pushing your buzzer at 3am after the dancin' wi' a never ending squad of wee slunkers that they'd picked up.

Ged Brannan's scouse mates came up & were absolutely oot o' their tits constantly trying to get in the wrong door driving us aw nuts.

Came back in from work one day to find mucky footprints all over our front door where some scumbag had tried to break in. turned out he'd been some junkie ersehole who had been coming back from getting his methadone at the chemist & decided to burgle our flat. luckily he didnae get in but he did manage to kick in the flat below's door which turned out to be Martin Woods & Dougie Ramsay's. they came back from training to find the guy filling a bin bag with their clothes. he seemingly turned round & asked them "what the f*ck do yooz want?" at which the two laddies about turned & done a Usain Bolt impression up to the polis station. by the time they got back the guy was away leaving his methadone prescription with his name & address lying on the floor so obviously didnae need Columbo to solve that yin.

the best by far though was Sasa Curcic. he was proper nuts & would have full blown raves in the flat, himsel, while whooping & hollering at the top of his voice, between mad hand claps & whistling like a manic sheep herder listening to mad Eurotechno at full pelt.

christ knows what he was oan but I could have done wi' a wee line masel!

Excellent post! :thumbup: