St Mirren Thread

Andy_P

• Replies 163

First time I've seen the boys play since Jack and Victor took over, and I liked what I saw. Not brilliant but much more like it lots of effort, aggression and a fair bit of good football to boot. Good to see the guys putting in some tackles and not get pushed about and looking like they might actualy be enjoying playing football again.

I had forgotten what it was like actually winning a game and not shitting myself that we were going to draw or lose the game in the last few minutes with strange substitutions and tactical switches.

If JG is still unemployed get him back as a scout, he seems to know how to find a good player pity he turned out to be a dick.

As far as the pitch is concerned, I remember when it was laid someone said that it would take a couple of seasons to knit properly and it would look terrible in January.

You are 100% right. Also we have had a freak winter but some people would still rather focus on the negatives. They don't have a player to moan about so they will greet aboot the pitch.

At the end of the day we won and thats what makes me happy no how pish the pitch is :rolleyes:

Solid performance today. We were just beginning to really dominate when LJ got injured and that seemed to cost us the momentum for the rest of the first half. However we did a lot of unspectacular work in the first half which minus Sutton's effort was not terribly close. Second half we didn't start well but a well worked goal gave us a lead we deserved. St Mirren then threw everything at us arially and whilst a bit more composure on the ball could have seen us cope more comfortably we did cope pretty well. Another good goal, this time on the break sealed us the win and after that St Mirren really petered out. The referee was appalling. Nothing game changing but he seemed lenient with his cards which provided no deterrent to them leading the arm, elbow or the cynical challenges from St Mirren. But overall we did well today - a professional job.

Solid performance today. We were just beginning to really dominate when LJ got injured and that seemed to cost us the momentum for the rest of the first half. However we did a lot of unspectacular work in the first half which minus Sutton's effort was not terribly close. Second half we didn't start well but a well worked goal gave us a lead we deserved. St Mirren then through everything at us arially and whilst a bit more composure on the ball could have seen us cope more comfortably we did cope pretty well. Another good goal, this time on the break sealed us the win and after that St Mirren really petered out. The referee was appalling. Nothing game changing but he seemed lenient with his cards which provided no deterrent to them leading the arm, elbow or the cynical challenges from St Mirren. But overall we did well today - a professional job.

Good summary. Nice to see a balanced point of view.

Well done today, wouldn't get to carried away, we have no creativity and, until the second goal, we had considerably more pressure, albeit with no real flair or threat.

Expect to see you when the bottom six split happens. :)

Good summary. Nice to see a balanced point of view.

Well done today, wouldn't get to carried away, we have no creativity and, until the second goal, we had considerably more pressure, albeit with no real flair or threat.

Between the first and second goals St Mirren did put pressue on us.......but before that and after the second they offered absolutley nothing. Different team from the one that we have played a couple of times already this season that's for sure. Or maybe that is just down to home/away form. Both are quite different for the Saints this season. No doubt we will probably see you in the bottom six but thems the breaks :P

It always is, crowd control I think is their excuse, not quite sure why though.

Maybe something Leeann or Flow could clarify for us, surely the stewards and police are there for crowd control.

I'm fairly sure it wont make a differece to crowd numbers right enough but if that is the case its a poor reflection on how the supporters are treated.

One final point which is slightly off topic. Was listening to "Off The Ball" on the way to the game and whilst I tend to agree with a lot of what Sydney says I was very surprised to hear him say that as Motherwell's season was over he would like us to get involved in a relegation dogfight to add excitement......as long as we ultimately dodn't go down. Eh? :) Must be a wind up :P I'd rather not take that chance just to enjoy a bumper crowd at our last home game of the season. To get involved in a relegation dogfight would mean losing games like we won last Saturday, today, and even our upcoming games against Falkirk and Aberden. Who wants that? Not me that's for sure.

Aye, I've got disagree with that too. I reckon 4th place isny totally out the question.

One final point which is slightly off topic. Was listening to "Off The Ball" on the way to the game and whilst I tend to agree with a lot of what Sydney says I was very surprised to hear him say that as Motherwell's season was over he would like us to get involved in a relegation dogfight to add excitement......as long as we ultimately dodn't go down. Eh? :) Must be a wind up :P I'd rather not take that chance just to enjoy a bumper crowd at our last home game of the season. To get involved in a relegation dogfight would mean losing games like we won last Saturday, today, and even our upcoming games against Falkirk and Aberden. Who wants that? Not me that's for sure.

Its in his column for the Daily Ranger too, bloody stupid thing to say in my opinion.

(Although theres also a picture of the rockettes wearing very little :P )

Aye, we might need a friendly if our opponents are busy in the Cup Semis :P . I don't think we'll be bottom six, enough in the tank to sneak a top six place.

Good solid performance today. Nice to see the defence has had a couple of clean sheets in the last 2 SPL games as well although I am a bit surprised as I was under the impression that they weren't good enough for that.

Craigy Broon has had them practising juggling soap in training......................

Solid performance today.

Ruddy was impeccable on the few occasions he was called upon - he is the key for a decent season, dont want to contemplate losing him next week, but no word on that so who knows?

Hamell - The coolest man in the team today, totally unfazed and great first touch.

Craigen - Solid enough but rarely threatened. Outpaced regularly but had a decent second half. Almost celebrated when he managed to PASS the ball out of defence.

Reynolds - Terrific, great movement and never caught out of position despite moving forward regularly

Hateley - Great shift in an unnatural postion. No complaints whatsoever.

Forbes - Invisible for large parts of the game, good off the ball movement fantastic positioning though. First season at this level. Keep him in the team. He will be a major asset.

Coke - Never stopped chasing although slow in getting forward. Ran the midfield for large parts of the first half

Lasley - Good game - got lucky with the pass for the goal as it was the wrong one - who cares about that though.

O'Brien - Again failed to produce much of an end product - needs to learn to pass and cross and ride tackles, Better options on the bench.

Jutkiewicz - Looked useful before going off - centre halfs hate him

Sutton - Sold performance - great finish - wish he was quicker but he aint. Would love to see him challenge in the air a bit more.

Murphy - Outstanding - man of the match -

Humphrey - ten minutes and produced more than the man he replaced had done in 80 - could be a big player for us in years to come.

Jennings - shored it up in the middle and kept us sharp.

All in it was an ugly scrappy game - I was bored out my tree in the first half with only one real shot on target and the ref intent on blowing every time the wind got high and knocked the delicate players off their feet. However its three points in the bag. Bodes well for the Falkirk game.

Everyone did well today. Craigan actually played some accurate passes which was a shock.

Glad to see Forbes kept in the team, he works well next to Coke and does well with Hammell in behind him. I actually think he is the stongest 'link' in the team. When he's left stranded he tends to be rather useless but I think he links passes better than anyone in the team. That was shown today after a great performance last saturday.

The negative note was that the pitch was absolutely shocking in the goal mouths.

Wednesday will be another good sign. 3 points there and he IS steadying the ship so to speak. Since they took over it has been Loss, Win, Loss, Win. Let's see if he can get us on a wee run now.

Sounds like Falkirk are taking a humping right now from Dundee Utd. Has to be good for us as Falkirk looked like they were turning the corner.

Aye, watching it just now. Falkirk are dreadful. The goals they have lost have been the stuff of Sunday league.

Its in his column for the Daily Ranger too, bloody stupid thing to say in my opinion.

Can kind of see where he's coming from, one or two folk on here after the Cup exit saying they wouldn't be back this season because there was nothing left to play for. I bet they'd be back if we had to win a couple of our last few games to avoid relegation.

So you would rather we got beat yesterday? Then the same again on Wednesday and next Saturday. All for the sake of a couple of games in April/May (four/five months of crap performances and defeats away) with a better crowd and atmosphere? 'Cause that is what will need to happen if we are to end up at that end of the table. Tam's reasoning was that he would only want that if we didn't go down. Like we have a divine right to stay up. I'm sure if we ended up in a battle with Falkirk and it was us finding ourselves in the First Division next year he wouldn't be long in thinking it was a stupid idea.

Good game yesterday, workmanlike, good mix-up of neat passing and direct stuff when appropriate, defence was very solid, jobs a good 'un. The Forbes dilemma is an interesting one, he's not got a lot of pace however has good range of passing and is a dead ball specialist You could probably carry a player like that in a midfield three or diamond-stylee midfield 4, however out wide left in a 4-4-2, is probably not his best position as he isny a pacey, hit the byline type, unlike say the Hump. Which brings me round to how the f**k did big Giles miss that one at the end, ach well didny cost us the game or anything.

Jack and Victor are clearly more adept at juggling soot that Mr Gannon....