Toxteth O'Grady Posted January 18, 2013 Report Share Posted January 18, 2013 Official Site Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted January 18, 2013 Report Share Posted January 18, 2013 yip pretty shit for anyone thats made arrangements to get to the game the club might have reasons that we would sympathise with, but since they choose not to share, I'll stick with being pissed off that a game I'd made arrangements to get to has been moved with less than two weeks notice Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted January 18, 2013 Report Share Posted January 18, 2013 yip pretty shit for anyone thats made arrangements to get to the game the club might have reasons that we would sympathise with, but since they choose not to share, I'll stick with being pissed off that a game I'd made arrangements to get to has been moved with less than two weeks notice Yip. Total agreement. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toxteth O'Grady Posted January 18, 2013 Author Report Share Posted January 18, 2013 Yep, it's a bit ridiculous that a fixture can be moved with only 11 days notice. I've actually specifically arranged something for the 29th, thinking that the game would be the following night. Now I won't be able to make it. Fair enough if there's a valid reason for the switch, but surely a bit more notice could have been given. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
superward Posted January 18, 2013 Report Share Posted January 18, 2013 Yeah, not fussed really. Can re-jig things so maybe lucky. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted January 18, 2013 Report Share Posted January 18, 2013 United will be happy as it gives them an extra days preparation for the sevco game. Way too short notice though. There are a fair few regulars who need to plan well in advance to make a midweek game. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
delboy Posted January 19, 2013 Report Share Posted January 19, 2013 swings and roundabouts I could make the Wednesday night as I'm going to a gig at celtic connections so the fact it's been moved back means I can make it however it would be nice to know why Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
another number Posted January 19, 2013 Report Share Posted January 19, 2013 Can only agree with earlier posts. Had specifically moved something else to get up to the match but cant now move it back. Sometimes they don't make things any easier on fans. If there's a reason fair enough but surely since the change is at such short notice they could share why? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted January 19, 2013 Report Share Posted January 19, 2013 Pish. Cannae go now. Why has it been moved? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tweed Posted January 20, 2013 Report Share Posted January 20, 2013 Pish. Cannae go now. Why has it been moved? In good news, that generally means we win. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Malky79 Posted January 20, 2013 Report Share Posted January 20, 2013 Another minor irritation, kills my game of football for the week. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
milo Posted January 20, 2013 Report Share Posted January 20, 2013 In good news, that generally means we win. For home games aye. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toxteth O'Grady Posted January 20, 2013 Author Report Share Posted January 20, 2013 Emailed Leeann Dempster to ask about this, and to be fair to her she replied very quickly with this: Thanks for the note and I understand that you may not be happy however when the request came in from United on Thursday to move the game we looked at the options for the match. After speaking to the manager and looking at the competitive dates i.e. when United are playing, we decided that a move to the Tuesday would be advantageous for us. I know that these changes do cause supporters some issues and that ideally we’d like to keep every game as planned but on looking at the balance of games, we feel (myself and the manager) that a move suits Motherwell in terms of recovery time, potential injuries etc. This is the reason we decided to make the change and if we did not believe that it was advantageous for the team to play a day earlier then I would not have entertained it. I hope this helps in terms of an explanation of events and I am sorry that you now won’t make the match. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sieb Dykstra Posted January 20, 2013 Report Share Posted January 20, 2013 Whilst she has provided a reason I'm not sure that it actually stacks up....if it helps us with an extra day recovery time for the next game by bringing it forward does it not actually give us one less day for recovery after today's game? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ropy Posted January 20, 2013 Report Share Posted January 20, 2013 Whilst she has provided a reason I'm not sure that it actually stacks up....if it helps us with an extra day recovery time for the next game by bringing it forward does it not actually give us one less day for recovery after today's game? 9 days instead of 10? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted January 20, 2013 Report Share Posted January 20, 2013 Does Dempster think we are still in the Cup? Poor explanation. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dmacd1 Posted January 20, 2013 Report Share Posted January 20, 2013 "Thanks for the note and I understand that you may not be happy however when the request came in from United on Thursday to move the game we looked at the options for the match. After speaking to the manager and looking at the competitive dates i.e. when United are playing, we decided that a move to the Tuesday would be advantageous for us. I know that these changes do cause supporters some issues and that ideally we’d like to keep every game as planned but on looking at the balance of games, we feel (myself and the manager) that a move suits Motherwell in terms of recovery time, potential injuries etc. This is the reason we decided to make the change and if we did not believe that it was advantageous for the team to play a day earlier then I would not have entertained it. I hope this helps in terms of an explanation of events and I am sorry that you now won’t make the match." So basically Im sorry you wont make the match but we dont think of fans first???? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted January 20, 2013 Report Share Posted January 20, 2013 Guess If I worked at the club and was to try and make up a reason that might fly with pissed off fans I'd go with it is to help the team eleven days rest instead of ten should set us up nicely for the trip to Killie only nine from today until Utd tho, hope the players dont suffer (esp; Randolph) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted January 20, 2013 Report Share Posted January 20, 2013 Guess If I worked at the club and was to try and make up a reason that might fly with pissed off fans I'd go with it is to help the team eleven days rest instead of ten should set us up nicely for the trip to Killie only nine from today until Utd tho, hope the players dont suffer (esp; Randolph) is it not that we are hoping that dundee united pick up injuries against ross county on the saturday? it's still inexcusable moving it this late. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted January 20, 2013 Report Share Posted January 20, 2013 is it not that we are hoping that dundee united pick up injuries against ross county on the saturday? it's still inexcusable moving it this late. Guess it does Steelboy United play Saturday-Tuesday-Saturday-Tuesday we will play -----Sunday---------------------Tuesday Can't really see that 24 hours being huge influence to the lost goodwill, but hey fans always come back when they get put out, dont they? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
that hat Posted January 20, 2013 Report Share Posted January 20, 2013 Pleased as I can now go to this and another event that has been planned for 30th. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted January 21, 2013 Report Share Posted January 21, 2013 Appears to be done in the hope of catching Utd a bit weary. It's a gamble as there will be a good few fans scunnered with this. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...