How I Became A Well Fan

Well Up For It!

How I Became A Well Fan  

77 members have voted

1. 1. Are you from a Well supporting background?

• Nope - fans of another team
    • Aye
  2. 2. If no - what team does your family support?

• Rangers
    • Celtic
    • Other SPL
    • Other non-SPL

• Replies 80

My Dad took me to my first game when I was 5 and then I trialed and played for the first Fir Park Boys Club when we were trained by Billy Campbell and St John was the manager. Jim "Jazzer" Bett played in the same team.

I'm sure my (much)older brother played in the same FPBC team as Jim Bett and my dad was president of the boys club.

Was it the same team that played in the European Boys Club Cup Final against Celtic at Parkhead? Or is my brother making up stories? :notworthy:

Was wondering if anyone could give me details on my first game. It was against Hamilton and we won - that's all I know. I think it was 20years ago this week just now - March or April 1989. Would love to know the score and scorers if possible?

Motherwell v Accies, 1st April 1989, 1-0 win for the 'Well. Can't find the scorer though. Accies were relegated that season.

Kid Kirk scored the goal.

One of these :mellow: for Kirky. Still my favourite.

Much appreciated Cakes & Fatcalf! Talked to my Uncle and we think thats the game! So I'm technically gonna celebrate 20years a Well fan by watching Davie Clarkson score a double against Iceland?! :cheers:

Felt terrible that I couldn't mind much about my first Well game - but I do now! The fact it was a game that relegated Hamilton aswell!! :P

If my papa was still living he'd not be pleased at that news - a diehard Celtic man, he played professional football pre-war for Accies and always had a distaste for Motherwell.

Anyway, the stories on here are great reading. It's just interesting to see how many folk on here have chosen Well over other teams!

Apologies for any problems with the poll. First time I've done one and I've fucked it up. If a mod wants to fix it so you don't have to answer part 2 if you answer part 1 aye I'd be much obligied!

I had no choice in the matter. My old man made sure I was a 'Well fan from birth.

No real memories of my 1st game, apart from leaving the ground. Was just a couple of months after my 4th birthday, so was around Jan/Feb 1991. We lost 3-1 to Hearts at Fir Park I believe.

Even went to the '91 cup final, but again, not much recollection unfortunately.

Been a regular ever since, tho my Dad gave it up a few years back.

I used to love Scottish Cup days when I was younger, as my Dad never took me to any away league games, but would take me to the cup ones. Loved the old rickety stadiums I visited (Ayr, East Fife, Dumbarton, Clydebank to name a few. Also at the Arbroath game that got abondoned at half time).

My claim to fame is being in the Simply the Greatest Cup Winning DVD. After Iain Ferguson blazes over the bar in the last few minutes of the Morton home game, you see me sitting on the East Stand wall next to my Da. :cheers:

p.s AndyRoss a dirty h*n for over 10 years. Shocking! Im changing my season ticket seat next season to move away from him!!

Ah comfae Craigneuk and ma old man was a Cel'ic man. Probably season 74-75 when I was 7\8 he'd take me on the Cel'ic Wishy bus to Parkheid one week and down to Fir Park the next for a Motherwell game. There was something magical in making that walk doon the Bee Hive Brae towards Fir Park. More so for a kid for an evening match when you could make out the glare of the floodlights even fae Craigneuk. Getting closer to the grun and being lifted over and then scrambling up the bing to get to the top of the terracing and taking in the view afore ye will never be forgotten. All you could see was a lush green carpet (Boyle take note) of a playing surface spectaculary lit. A warm, fuzzing feeling inside without the use of a porn mag - amazing.

Walking to the games, ah remember thinking I couldn't understand people going about their daily lives when there was a game kicking off in an hour's time. How could they be wasting their time doing mundane things like going shopping, to the pub or staying in?

Realised I was a Dosser probably in the '75 semi-final against Airdrie. Not knowing all the nuances of fitba, all I gathered from my 7 year old reading of the Record was something to do with Rennie, 4 steps and a free-kick. It didn't make sense.

Ma old man definately realised I was lost to "the cause" when he couldn't get tickets for the '76 3rd round game against Cel'ic so we went up to King George's Parks and heard the game on the radio. 2-0 down but I didn't give up hope. When the 3rd goal went in for a famous win, you could have seen ma smile fae Fir Park tae the Maracana. Gie ma old man his due, he allowed me to make my own decision about it cos I know plenty OF faithers who widney let their boy support anything other than the so-called big two. To top it off that season ma maw got me ma first fitba tap, course it was 20 sizes too big for me and went doon o'er ma knees but far as I was concerned, I WAS Wullie Pettigrew every time ah pulled it on. Number 8 will always have a special fascination for me on a fitba shirt.

First time I cried over a result of course was the semi defeat against Rangers. JPR Gordon, Newport-on-Tay never forgotten or forgiven.

Blood, sweat & tears is all you can be sure of as a Dosser but once the magic is in you, you'll never give it up.

There was something magical in making that walk doon the Bee Hive Brae towards Fir Park. More so for a kid for an evening match when you could make out the glare of the floodlights even fae Craigneuk. Getting closer to the grun and being lifted over and then scrambling up the bing to get to the top of the terracing and taking in the view afore ye will never be forgotten. All you could see was a lush green carpet (Boyle take note) of a playing surface spectaculary lit. A warm, fuzzing feeling inside without the use of a porn mag - amazing.

Felt a chill reading this bit ............ exactly how I felt heading up Dalzell Ave for those Texaco Cup Ties of the 70's.

When my dad was younger he used to play, but as a fan he didnt really have a team or an interest in watching football, and my mum absolutely DETESTED the game. Used to tag along with friends whenever I could ................

great story mate

I married a 'Well fan I met at uni, and it was the best thing I ever did. She's from Bellshill and never went home. Most of her relations are Rangers fans, but her immediate family is 'Well. My family, going back generations, is Manchester United, so, like some of you guys my team was in the blood.

My support for her team isn't reciprocal, and she enjoys winding me up when United lose.

Not sure what my 1st 'Well game was, but Now that Your Gone by Freda Pane could be clearly heard from the FP tannoy most weeks, (late 60's), and was the signal to head up to FP.

I remember when I started going by myself, late sixties/early seventies,

they seemed to play the same couple of songs every week, Tears of a Clown by Smokey Robinson, and In a broken dream by Python Lee Jackson. Rod Stewart as lead singer.

I'm sure my (much)older brother played in the same FPBC team as Jim Bett and my dad was president of the boys club.

Was it the same team that played in the European Boys Club Cup Final against Celtic at Parkhead? Or is my brother making up stories? :cheers:

That was the same team. I still have my medal. Celtic had a very strong side because we were hammering everybody we met until we played them and they hammered us. We were introduced to Jock Stein before the game and we had a dinner at the Albany Hotel later that evening.

A close call indeed. Thank fuck for Owen Coyle.

Dad born Motherwell Mum born Dundee. Dad followed Hibs when I was young my uncle took me to Fir Park but my dad told me not to support any of the Ugly Sisters when older went to Fir Park myself now stay in Dundee but still come through to see the Well. Sons are Well supporters

LOL. Think I was greetin at the Katowice game. Completely wide that away goals rule...

As was I in Finland. Came out of that game against MyPa about as gutted as I have ever been.

• 5 weeks later...

My Dad saw the Well become champions.

We were never out the top three in a decade around the thirties. My mother took me to see the 1952 Cup winning team at Motherwell Cross. Remember all those black and white photos ? I WAS THERE.

Of course, I was only 3 months old but my mither ayways said, " Mind son, you SAW the 1952 team, cos' Ah lifted ye up to look at them. It wisnae easy but if onybody ever denies it ... they're lying."

First game I remember was against Thirds ( Third Lanark) at the OLD Fir Park Main Stand.

Ancell Babes, Willie Pettigrew, Dougie Arnott, and the great Faddie all followed.

AND I saw TWO Cup winning teams (but I remember the 1991 ones better !!!!)

It has been a roller coaster with ups and downs, but I wouldna huv it ony other wey.

C'mon the Well !

Theres not an option for you're parents supporting one team and yer Papa supporting the well and how it was him that got you into the game.

Saying that, My Papa always said Motherwell were his second team... second to who? Wishaw Juniors of course.

Edit: Aye, Da's a 'Gers mand and the Mother.. Accies apparently.