Man Utd

Claret&Amber

How many of you folk are going along next weekend to this?

I've been on the official site looking at getting tickets, and there aren't many sold.

Do you think there is a chance they will make it pay at the gate?

Was on Man Utd site and searched, but no mention of anything at all. Wondering if their fans know about this at all - and if they will bring many up with them?

• Replies 181

Sorry, don't like Fergie and what the fekk did Busby ever do for MFC ?

Totally pointless game against Man-U unknowns, with nothing to be achieved for anyone.

Better than watching Scotland big yin :blush:

Launch of an initiative which will hopefully be a good addition to opportunites for youngsters in this area, can't be a bad thing. Take the white tinted glasses off and see it for what it is.

what the fekk did Busby ever do for MFC ?

Totally pointless game against Man-U unknowns, with nothing to be achieved for anyone.

Couldn't agree more. Despite being born near Bellshill you wonder if he ever set foot inside Fir Park or bothered about his local 'big' team. I doubt if I'll be going to the game and i think we will be lucky to see a 1000 fans in the ground. He was a great manager but I can't see why we are playing this game.

I'll be going along. Even their reserve team will be a stern test.
I don't even think it will be their reserves though. It was promoted as the best reserve squad available on international weekend. Which didn't exactly inspire me, I have to say.

Couldn't agree more. Despite being born near Bellshill you wonder if he ever set foot inside Fir Park or bothered about his local 'big' team. I doubt if I'll be going to the game and i think we will be lucky to see a 1000 fans in the ground. He was a great manager but I can't see why we are playing this game.

The match isn't about Motherwell FC or Manchester United FC. It is about the whole new initiative that Lanarkshire (North and South) are starting up in the name of Sir Matt Busby. The reason why we're playing in the game is because as you say, we're the local "big" team. If United wanted to play a glamour friendly there are two clubs in Glasgow they would have played.

Instead they wanted to play a local club.

The match isn't about Motherwell FC or Manchester United FC. It is about the whole new initiative that Lanarkshire (North and South) are starting up in the name of Sir Matt Busby. The reason why we're playing in the game is because as you say, we're the local "big" team. If United wanted to play a glamour friendly there are two clubs in Glasgow they would have played.

Instead they wanted to play a local club.

Why don't we all get in to the 'friendly' for free then since both North and South Lanarkshire Councils are involved in this ? I wonder how many of our local 'councillors' will dip into their own pockets to see the game...................

Why no mention of John 'Sailor' Hunter ?

John "The Sailor" Hunter is such a legend that every topic that comes up about Legends of Motherwell FC you're lucky if he gets a mention more than once, twice at a push. I would bet 99% of people on this forum would name Tommy McLean long before they thought about Hunter. :blush: Sad state, but maybe, just maybe United just care more and have pushed it on North and South (in otherwords put down money for it.... have Motherwell done the same for Hunter?)

The match isn't about Motherwell FC or Manchester United FC.

Maybe it would have been better to have a match between two youth sides one from the South/North Lanarkshire and one from Manchester. Using Fir Park as a venue would have given proper young grass roots sides an opportunity to play in a big stadium.

John 'Sailor' Hunter is 'THE' legend of Motherwell FC........... ( the club should know that surely)

Outwith that, we're playing a friendly against Manchester United (reserves, youth team ? who knows !!! )

Busby wisnae a Dosser, so I don't really care about him to be honest............

I will repeat though............

I wonder how many of our local 'councillors' will dip into their own pockets to see the game...................

Jolly A Go Go for them......... :(