MelvinBragg Posted June 14, 2010 Report Share Posted June 14, 2010 For what it's worth, I've seen Heaton play. Very decent keeper, not the best at crosses but a good talker for one so young. Problem is he's very highly rated and the rumours are that Notts Forest are after him. If we were to get him, it'd soon be "John who???", but for that reason I reckon we would have no chance... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steve Diggle Posted June 14, 2010 Report Share Posted June 14, 2010 For what it's worth, I've seen Heaton play. Very decent keeper, not the best at crosses but a good talker for one so young. Problem is he's very highly rated and the rumours are that Notts Forest are after him. If we were to get him, it'd soon be "John who???", but for that reason I reckon we would have no chance... Was that when he was still in The Housemartins? You must be one of the few that's seen him outwith Football Manager Melv. Respect Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Stall Posted June 15, 2010 Report Share Posted June 15, 2010 I think some posters here have to wind their necks in. A fucking man u player?? Very good. Yes we got a couple of boys from Everton this year but its not like that happens every year does it. I think a good bit of that was down to Gannon. And yes as someone mentioned. Just because you can get a good young player up from man u, when your playing on your computer, doesnt mean it works like that in real life! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy_P Posted June 18, 2010 Report Share Posted June 18, 2010 Were McLeish and Roddie not related via eithers marriage?? I recall hearing that Roddie was a relation of McLeish's wife. Could be one of the many Motherwell Myths right enough. Yir Elder has confirmed that the Roddie part was a myth. It's possibly stemmed from the Ray Allan signing (The 40 year old keeper from Brechin who we beat off Barca and Milan to sign) who I believe was a relation of McLeish's. We needed a backup keeper for Woods for the Havnar Boltfelag UEFA Cup games, and he got the last few minutes over in the Faroes by way of a thank you. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
decorator Posted June 18, 2010 Report Share Posted June 18, 2010 Yir Elder has confirmed that the Roddie part was a myth. It's possibly stemmed from the Ray Allan signing (The 40 year old keeper from Brechin who we beat off Barca and Milan to sign) who I believe was a relation of McLeish's. We needed a backup keeper for Woods for the Havnar Boltfelag UEFA Cup games, and he got the last few minutes over in the Faroes by way of a thank you. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted June 18, 2010 Report Share Posted June 18, 2010 Doubtful. Probably would struggle to name the back-up to VDS. Betamax? Aye ok, coat aff peg already Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shallow Dave Posted June 20, 2010 Report Share Posted June 20, 2010 Betamax? Aye ok, coat aff peg already Aye, but Betamax was supposed to be "technically better" than VHS. A bit like some here who rated Fraser above Ruddy, I suppose..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted June 20, 2010 Report Share Posted June 20, 2010 Aye, but Betamax was supposed to be "technically better" than VHS. A bit like some here who rated Fraser above Ruddy, I suppose..... Can't recall anyone saying that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Motherwell Football Club Posted June 20, 2010 Report Share Posted June 20, 2010 Can't recall anyone saying that. Naw, you're forgetting that saying someone isn't shite means they are the best. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...