Best Players Of The Last Ten Years!

Motherwell89

Im really going on the last five years, as im 18 im maybe just a bit young to make a good judgement on anything before that.

Ruddy

Corrigan - Craigan - Partridge - Lappin

Hughes - O'Donnell - McFadden

McDonald - Porter - McCormack

Theres probably some iv missed out, but i was just going with off the top of my head. Some may not agree with some of my selections such as Lappin, but i thought he had a wonderful left foot on him and was a very able defender when played there.

-------------Goram :ph34r:

Corrigan--Craigan--Hutchison--Mcmillan

---Vadocz---O'Donnell---Pearson

--------------McFadden

------Clarkson-------McDonald

Subs would have to include:

Ruddy, Reynolds, Leitch, Fitzpatrick, Jutkiewicz-Porter

Im really going on the last five years, as im 18 im maybe just a bit young to make a good judgement on anything before that.

Ruddy

Corrigan - Craigan - Partridge - Lappin

Hughes - O'Donnell - McFadden

McDonald - Porter - McCormack

Theres probably some iv missed out, but i was just going with off the top of my head. Some may not agree with some of my selections such as Lappin, but i thought he had a wonderful left foot on him and was a very able defender when played there.

Faddy left us in 2003 so yer a wee bit out wi yer 5 years lol :ph34r:

Ruddy

Hammell (8 years)

Craigan (7 years)

Corrigan (8 years)

Quinn (6 years)

Hughes

Lasley

Leitch

McFadden

McDonald

McCormack

Picked most of the team cos they played in that position for the majority of the decade. Ruddy stands out as the best keeper, and the strikers pick themselves.

Aye i made an exception for Faddy, Dodge surely thats allowed. :ph34r: And as great a servant as Hammell has been i thought Lappin was a better player when he was with us and having seen him play several times since iv been even more impressed with him.

I only started regularly attending Fir Park in the last 6 years or so when I moved to Edinburgh so may be a little weighted towards more recent players.

Great idea for a thread though. I'm going to cheat and add some subs who are close to the top 11 IMO.

Ruddy

Corrigan - Craigan - McMillan - Hammell

Hughes - O'Donnell - Pearson

McCormack - McDonald - McFadden

Subs: Porter, Clarkson, Paterson (Post slim-down), Jutkiewicz, Leitch, McLean (pre-injury), McBride (pre-injury)

Vadocz always looked like a tidy player but I just don't think we ever saw enough of him to really include him on here.

Brian Kerr could also be superb on his day but just didn't have the attitude or consistency to be considered.

McBride might be a controversial one but I remember him being absolutely brilliant before he did his knee and unfortunately, never the same after.

But surely if you're going to pick out best left back of the last ten years, the guy who was our best left back for 8 of those years should be an automatic choice? Lappin barely even played at left back.

Vadocz and Kemble were shite.

But surely if you're going to pick out best left back of the last ten years, the guy who was our best left back for 8 of those years should be an automatic choice? Lappin barely even played at left back.

Vadocz and Kemble were shite.

I think he was asking the question about who we think were the best players not those who played most often. Smith probably played most games in goals over the last 10 years but nobody has picked him yet. There is no right or wrong only opinions my friend.

I certainly went for Hammell as he's been a consistent performer for the longest period of time. Lappin was never a natural left-back in the first place but did well enough over a short time. Paterson was superb at the start of the 07/08 season under McGhee but again, just hadn't been as consistent for as long before then.

Over the entire period, Hammell's been the standout first choice left back.

Ruddy

Quinn Craigan Reynolds Hammell

O'Donnell

Hughes Pearson

McCormack McFadden

McDonald

Almost bang on the money for me, although would have the Kaiser ahead of Quinn and Porter ahead of McCormack. I'm trying desperately hard to think of a midfielder to get rid of that dick Pearson as well :ph34r:

I only started regularly attending Fir Park in the last 6 years or so when I moved to Edinburgh so may be a little weighted towards more recent players.

Great idea for a thread though. I'm going to cheat and add some subs who are close to the top 11 IMO.

Ruddy

Corrigan - Craigan - McMillan - Hammell

Hughes - O'Donnell - Pearson

McCormack - McDonald - McFadden

Subs: Porter, Clarkson, Paterson (Post slim-down), Jutkiewicz, Leitch, McLean (pre-injury), McBride (pre-injury)

Vadocz always looked like a tidy player but I just don't think we ever saw enough of him to really include him on here.

Brian Kerr could also be superb on his day but just didn't have the attitude or consistency to be considered.

McBride might be a controversial one but I remember him being absolutely brilliant before he did his knee and unfortunately, never the same after.

You've got 2 left-backs in your starting 11.

Brian Kerr and Kevin McBride? Surely to fuck we have had better than them over the past 10years - minging, the two of them.

I agree with fat_tony, I thought McBride pre-injury was a terrific player. Scored every penalty he hit and scored some other good goals from RM and CM. Pity his injury ruined his career and basicallt turned him into a shitebag.

I will admit that he was good while he was on loan, but as soon as he got that full-time contract, he was minging. Biggest shitebag you'll see on a fitba' pitch.

You've got 2 left-backs in your starting 11.

Brian Kerr and Kevin McBride? Surely to fuck we have had better than them over the past 10years - minging, the two of them.

I know but I really felt there was a place for both McMillan and Hammell! :ph34r:

As for the other two, I didn't include them in the list due to their inconsistency/other problems. But when Brian Kerr played well and put the effort in, he could turn a game and did on quite a few occasions. Just a pity he let his ego get in the way of his ability.

McBride was a brilliant player when we had him on loan from Celtic. Unfortunately, after he did his knee he came back a shadow of the player and was never able to reach anywhere near the form of his early days at the club.

Which is why I didn't include the two in the list. I'm surprised no-one's put in Alan McCormack yet given his god-like status on here. :P

----------------Ruddy---------------

Corrigan--Craigan--Reynolds--Hammell

---------------O'Donnell--------------

--------Hughes---------Pearson------

McCormack-----------------McFadden

----------------Porter----------------

I think a lot of people would put McDonald in for Porter but I loved watching Porter play and think he would work better in this team.

Was Shaun Teale still with us in 2000? If so, he's in just so we would never miss a penalty!

Graeme Smith

Martyn Corrigan

Stephen Craigan

Shaun Teale

Steven Hammell

Keith Lasley

Scott Leitch

Phil O'Donnell

James McFadden

David Clarkson

Scott McDonald