How Did They Ever Wear The Jersey?

Ian-in-Oz

Eddie May. Though there are many others, I always thought he was rotten. Maybe that is partly because he actually got so many games when he was clearly a completely brutal player, but also largely because McLeish swapped Steve Kirk, Paul McGrillen AND gave them money for him. Possibly the worst transfer deal I have ever seen.

Andy Smith was brutal. I remember someone telling me that in training he did things that were unbelievably good. All I saw was a diddy with bad hair.

Keegan is far and away the worst I've ever seen, the guy was just fucked, could not run, could hold it up. Brutal.

Mair is mentioned earlier on yes, truly rank!

I seem to remember Mair being the Kevin McBride of his day: a handy enough, if not exactly world-class winger until he was on the wrong end of a horrendous tackle in front of the main stand one day (can't remember who the culprit was, but I could hear the crack of splintering shinpads from the East Stand!), and lost all his confidence after that.

Before he joined us, he'd scored a decent number of goals for Notts County in the (old, proper) English First Division, including one in a 3-1 win over Ipswich Town who finished second to Liverpool that year, so he was certainly no donkey, in his day. He even played alongside Martin O'Neill and Don Masson in that team for a while :mad:

John Reilly used to drive me mental - couldny hit a coo on the arse wi a shovel

Annoying thing about him was that, just occasionally, he would beat a couple of players and curl one right into the postage stamp corner. *Very* occasionally, mind. Possibly even just once :mad:

Did he no score twice vs the Jambo's - including one of said curlers - which almost saves him - almost but not quite.

for all you older posters - what about Alex Spark, midfielder from late 70's - early 80's. Was slower than Any Ritchie with both legs tied together and was the combined weight of Andy Gorman & Joe Smith. In the team photo he took up all the right hand side of the pic. He even had the mullet with porno mustache. Bad, bad, bad...........

Don't know of him but would haved loved to see him.

By the way, this thread was done was a few months back and one guy who took a slating turned out to be a poster's step-dad. :)

Mario Doerner, I think, to my memory, the only man to blaze a shot so far over from inside the penalty box, I'm pretty sure he hit the big M in Motorola on the top of the Cooper.

My mate claims that Shivute hit the Motorola sign on the South Stand with a shot one day.

I want to beleive him but surely no possible!