Trouble At The Aberdeen Game

Brazilian

The stewards created a hard time for themselves by being arseholes. Nobody was complaining about the lads standing but they had to go on a power trip to justify their £6 an hour job and pick on the youngest boys to make an example of. Saw a boy being chucked out for videoing what the jobsworths were doing which was ridiculous and you can see how some of our section were riled to dish out the abuse the stewards deserved.

As soon as David Gonzalez's twin and the wee woman were taken off duty in the second half there was little to no trouble and we were allowed to stand, sing and enjoy ourselves. Could easily have been prevented if the stewards thought about their actions first instead of wading in to cause trouble.

Some will remember the time I was thrown out of East End Park for taking pictures of the game. That, coupled with things like yesterday, are a massive part of why football fans are drifting away in massive numbers to sports and activities where they can enjoy things without fear of being ejected for doing something which actually promotes the game!

Personal abuse aside (from which I take it you were our well spoken caller), it is not a crime to support your team. It is against the rules to stand in a seated stadium. How much do you feel fans should get away with under the "supporting your team" line?

40 posts and not one that is positive about motherwell or even interested in the team on the park.

the only football related post you've made is to big up james forrest

fuck off to the huddleboard you nonce.

I wasn't at the game today so can't really comment on what happened but I can make some general points.

It's against the law to stand in a seated area and the clubs are responsible for making sure the law is upheld. Therefore one can hardly complain if asked to sit down or removed for consistently disobeying instructions.

you should have ended it at the first line. is it against the law to stand in a seated area? any convictions for that? you are talking pish.

people were standing in the aberdeen ends for 90 minutes and in our our end for the full second half without any hassle. the police and stewards enflamed a situation that wasn't even remotely dangerous and ruined a lot people's days. they totalluy changed their tactics in the second half because they knew they made an arse of it.

I wasn't at the game today so can't really comment on what happened but I can make some general points.

It's against the law to stand in a seated area and the clubs are responsible for making sure the law is upheld. Therefore one can hardly complain if asked to sit down or removed for consistently disobeying instructions.

However, the stewards and police also have a responsibility to treat people with respect, to behave and react in a way appropriate to the situation and perhaps most important off all, not to artificially create a flash point or dangerous situation themselves by enforcing a 'safety' measure.

Unfortunately people become entrenched in a 'cause'. Officials to make sure fans do not stand, no matter what, thereby often causing scenes which are more dangerous than they would otherwise be. And fans who sometimes defiantly go out of their way to disobey the law, wind up stewards and behave rowdily towards those enforcing the law.

We need some common sense from all sides on this.

However, if a small group of fans stand in the back rows of the stand, thereby not blocking the view of seated supporters, and who are merely supporting the team, then I don't see how ejecting fans can really be justified from a safety perspective.

It's not against the law at all.

Was it not the SS(the real SS not the saturday service) who would use the excuse "just doin our job" when they carried out ethnic cleansing on a scale never seen before or since? Just cos your doing a job doesn't mean its right.

and martin, no as far as I am aware it is not illegal to stand in an all seater stadium, the rules state teams must have an all seater stadium but I don't think the rules say anybody has to sit down in it.

Can't possibly be illegal to stand in a stadium otherwise we'd all be crawling to our seats. Situation really is an utter mockery and the very things supposed to provide safety and comfort to supporters - seats and stewards -are the very things that are endangering and causing harm. See the 21st century? See progress? See "health and safety"? Shove it. Ridiculous.

Utterly outstanding posts.

It's against the rules, not the law. Hence why they are chucked out and not charged.

And when the point of people not complaining about the weans standing comes up, what are they meant to do? Walk up and take on a group of alcopopped idiots or contact a steward? Contact a steward and we have what happened yesterday. They had to move from the seat they chose and wanted to sit in, because a bunch of clowns can't move up the back or sit down.

It's against the rules, not the law. Hence why they are chucked out and not charged.

And when the point of people not complaining about the weans standing comes up, what are they meant to do? Walk up and take on a group of alcopopped idiots or contact a steward? Contact a steward and we have what happened yesterday. They had to move from the seat they chose and wanted to sit in, because a bunch of clowns can't move up the back or sit down.

Personal abuse aside(i assume you were sat down being well behaved) you could flip the coin and say why should these lads who like a drink and like to enjoy the football in their own way have to move from the seat they chose and wanted to stand next to because a couple of people want to sit and watch the game. Move further forward or away from the people who won't sit down. The atmosphere has improved greatly both home and away as stewards have generally turned a blind eye to standing, the players have commented on the efforts of the end section of the east stand, as have several media outlets and other members of our support, yet people like you still feel the need to come on and detract from a group of people who are doing NO harm to anybody and resort to calling them clowns?

Only against the rules at the fitba too. I have been to loads of concerts in all seater stadiums and not once have I been asked to sit on my arse. I don't see what your problem is with people standing.

See, this is the danger of posting stuff when you weren't actually there (and if you are indeed a Motherwell fan which I have serious doubts about)

No-one complained to the stewards or the police for a start

Everyone who goes to away games know that these young guys stand up and support their team so sit in an area where they can watch the games (there is always plenty of room)

Yes they were in high spirits and god forbid they might even have partaken in some of the devils brew but nobody was drunk or being aggressive or abusive.

I saw as many arguments between Motherwell fans who were nowhere near what was happening and stewards/police about the way they were dealing with the situation.

The Stewards were to blame for starting the trouble and it could all have been so easily avoided. Even Aberdeen fans on Pie and Bovril are saying this but I suspect that fact probably wont fit in with your own personal agenda

Personal abuse aside(i assume you were sat down being well behaved) you could flip the coin and say why should these lads who like a drink and like to enjoy the football in their own way have to move from the seat they chose and wanted to stand next to because a couple of people want to sit and watch the game. Move further forward or away from the people who won't sit down. The atmosphere has improved greatly both home and away as stewards have generally turned a blind eye to standing, the players have commented on the efforts of the end section of the east stand, as have several media outlets and other members of our support, yet people like you still feel the need to come on and detract from a group of people who are doing NO harm to anybody and resort to calling them clowns?

Personal abuse? I've bolded the bit you can go look up.

Regarding your point, these boys are breaking the rules and know that their actions are causing fans views to be obstructed. Try have a bit of consideration for your fellow fans.

I've got nothing against standing at grounds, infact I prefer it. But there's a time and a place for it. If the whole stand are on their feet, then fine. But this is a small group of inconsiderate boys who are going to end up with a reputation, and will be focused on by stewards all over the country, and will complain about the way they are being treated week in week out.

By all means, continue what you're doing if you're having fun, but please don't come on here and make out you're being victimised.

This wee group of alcopop drinking boys you keep referring to is actually quite a large group of fans of all ages (and sexes) who are expanding in numbers week in week out because of the fantastic atmosphere they have successfully created at numerous away grounds.

The most ridiculous part of the whole thing was there was a whole section taped off in our part of the stand that could have easily housed those who wanted to stand.

The standing rule just doesn't work, and as yesterday proved isn't even enforceable when dealing with the smallest number of "offenders".

The sooner the rules are changed the better.

Personal abuse? I've bolded the bit you can go look up.

Regarding your point, these boys are breaking the rules and know that their actions are causing fans views to be obstructed. Try have a bit of consideration for your fellow fans.

I've got nothing against standing at grounds, infact I prefer it. But there's a time and a place for it. If the whole stand are on their feet, then fine. But this is a small group of inconsiderate boys who are going to end up with a reputation, and will be focused on by stewards all over the country, and will complain about the way they are being treated week in week out.

By all means, continue what you're doing if you're having fun, but please don't come on here and make out you're being victimised.

We're the only section, in the whole of Fir Park to have been singled out by police for extra attention- video cameras etc. For what? not breaking a law? I'm sorry but that is being victimised. We've been to Killie, Dunfermiline, Inverness, Hibs and St. Mirren and had free reign to do as we've pleased, this has resulted in people enjoying the football and police and stewards having to deal with a reasonably easy shift in which they received no abuse. The police do gather intelligence on fans in that section, boys have been spoken to by police who have addressed them by name having never met them before, with out doing anything other than not breaking the law and enjoying themselves. Wether you believe it or not fans are being singled out and victimised.

Just spoke to my father who was at the game yesterday, he's 76 yrs old and he's the first to complain about idiot supporters, but yesterday he said he couldn't believe the police and stewards attitude!! He said it was just a bunch of wee guys being a bit of a pain in the arse but not causing any harm!! some of the older supporters moved out their road and sat and watched the game along from them. He said there was no harm being done and actually said the wee guys were adding a bit of atmosphere to the place until the police got heavy handed and grabbed a few and chucked them out.

As i say this is from an old man who would be the first to say if our fans were being offensive and aggrivating people, and he said they weren't....good enough for me!!

I am 16 years old, and have consistently travelled to away games with the "Singing section." I Travelled up to Pittodrie yesterday and paid £17 to get in. Upon celebrating the first goal with the usual, singing, bouncing, cheering, and HARMLESS atmosphere 2 or 3 stewards moved into the section. They began to tell individuals to sit, some did others kept celebrating with the rest of the energetic support, A friend a year younger than myself was then dragged off to the side and ejected from the grounds, for what a Steward later explained to him as being the first to kick off the trouble (this "trouble" was standing and singing) Of course at this point I had began filming as did another 20-30 odd lads in an attempt to make sure everything was caught on camera, in case of over-zealous force, And yet again another one of my friends was ejected for asking a Steward why he wasn't allowed to Celebrate, for the next 10 minutes, I watched as stewards and police ran about in the section grabbing anyone questioning there motives or "not listening to what they're were being TOLD to do" I stood at the end of my row, phone in hand as I had been for the last 10 minutes, Steward number 0389 approached me, shouted sit down and grabbed my phone, I pulled my hand away, to which he then made several attempts to grab my wrist and phone, then he grabbed the back of my neck and put his arm around my arms and dragged me down the stairs through the gate onto trackside, I was ridiculed as several onlooking Aberdeen fans chanted AT me, on shouting back, a nearby officer also ran onto trackside and helped the Steward escort me ( A skinny lad under 6 foot) out of the grounds, to Which I was forced to spend the remaining 80 odd minutes in a foreign city. Luckily I phoned a fewother friends whom decided to leave or where themselves ejected, and we sat on our supporters bus waiting for the game to end.

£17 pound to be unfairly, victimised. Heavy Hands - Empty Stands

Dr Pangloss - "By all means, continue what you're doing if you're having fun, but please don't come on here and make out you're being victimised."

Im offended.

Edited by Ricky

Just spoke to my father who was at the game yesterday, he's 76 yrs old and he's the first to complain about idiot supporters, but yesterday he said he couldn't believe the police and stewards attitude!! He said it was just a bunch of wee guys being a bit of a pain in the arse but not causing any harm!! some of the older supporters moved out their road and sat and watched the game along from them. He said there was no harm being done and actually said the wee guys were adding a bit of atmosphere to the place until the police got heavy handed and grabbed a few and chucked them out.

As i say this is from an old man who would be the first to say if our fans were being offensive and aggrivating people, and he said they weren't....good enough for me!!

This seems to be the general consensus, doesn't it? Whilst the lads who were standing may have technically been breaking the rules, it appears they weren't actually doing any harm, and the stewards saw a chance to flex their muscles.

Aberdeens equaliser would have done the job for them aswell!

Missed a good chunk of the 1st half because of it.

Was started by over the top, heavy handed stewarding, and wasn't helped by folk being a bit tipsy and confrontational.

The police seemed embarrassed by the melee the stewards had created.

MotherwellvShellicNov2011003.jpg

Not many fans sitting in this picture..............and no ejections! Note those standing in the stairwell!

It was like that at Hampden as well. Disgrace. Did they not want their own stewards to go to their away games because their fans were not being treated like royalty? I think the Club should grow a pair and when this happens, kick the lot of them out!! have the game stopped if needs be.

Although, I don't agree with the sitting but as said above, rules are rules...