Your Drunkest Time Watchin The Well

ankles

Talking with my mate last week about what we'ed do for the semi's if we got there, but we didn't :whistling: ,and we remembered carrying our mate George through the turnstyles at Hampden for the final last year and the chaos that ensued afterwards leading to him getting lifted :thumbup: So then we were talking about being drunk at games and what was the worst we had been . mine has to be in the 81 promotion season when at the age of 17 and trying discover what drink i liked ,i drunk 6 cans of Breaker on the way down to Berwick.( i now hate any sort of beer) Ended up missing all the game,sleeping on top of the corrugated roof of a pidgeon dookit and cos it was a warm day i got cooked to death :) I blame the Muirhouse Branch for leaving so early for games and their lack of parental control.

Cand mind Big pie chuckin fried rice over someone on the bus years ago . What a steamer :)

Talking with my mate last week about what we'ed do for the semi's if we got there, but we didn't :whistling: ,and we remembered carrying our mate George through the turnstyles at Hampden for the final last year and the chaos that ensued afterwards leading to him getting lifted :thumbup: So then we were talking about being drunk at games and what was the worst we had been . mine has to be in the 81 promotion season when at the age of 17 and trying discover what drink i liked ,i drunk 6 cans of Breaker on the way down to Berwick.( i now hate any sort of beer) Ended up missing all the game,sleeping on top of the corrugated roof of a pidgeon dookit and cos it was a warm day i got cooked to death :) I blame the Muirhouse Branch for leaving so early for games and their lack of parental control.

Cand mind Big pie chuckin fried rice over someone on the bus years ago . What a steamer :)

Love to tell my drunkext day but to be honest I cannae remember much :thumbup::drinks:

easy ............. 1980 Div 1 game - Motherwell at Dens.

Met Jimmy Yuille at 8am at Flemington and got a bottle of Old England each and consumed on the walk up to the Cottage Inn - Newharthill. Met up with Geordie Bowie and the N/hill lads and enjoyed several pints and Buckie chasers before the Muirhouse bus picked us up.

Then this skinny 19yr year old skinhead in his best crombie coat and doc martens proved his drinking prowess by throwing up into a pollybag most of the way to Dundee :doh:

Dens only had one end terrace open, (the covered Provost Road end), and I somehow managed to end up in with the Dundee skinheads. It's all a bit cloudy, could hardly stand-up, but I mind the cops pulling me out and shoving me across the no-mans land much to the delight of the travelling Well fans.

Ahh the days :laugh:

Never understood the point of being drunk at the football, or even watching football, when you dont remember anything. What a wasted time and wasted money. I dont mind having "a" beer at the football, but drunk???? No thanks!

Bah humbug !:cheers:

don't remember most of Nancy away, none of the first half of the 2-2 cup game at tyncastle game after uncle phil died and don't mind anything on the park of the "mark mcghee's a peadophile ooooooooooh" game just the chants

I've got a list as long as my arm :drinks:

ICT last season when I got the wrong train home and only realised when the conductor told me I was heading to Wick :blink:

Parkhead in 1999, when Twaddle scored and we hung on to win 1-0, spewed my load inside the ground but I think I was just excited - fuck all to do with the Buckie

Easter Road Semi-Final, got fucked out the ground after about 5mins for being melted, somehow managed to get back in and got fucked back out again, so headed for the nearest boozer obviously and missed my bus hame. Thankfully the Central Branch took pity on me.

Stranraer away in the Cup a few years back, swallying fae 8am, and managed to go into the ground with all my mates tickets, meaning they had to pay in again - not fucking popular

Nancy Away, but I think everybody there was blazing

Crusaders away a few years ago, drinking all day in teh knowledge that I'd get a bit of respite during the game, only to find that they were allowing us to buy a carry-out off them and drink it on the terrace

Odense away, after 36hours on a bevvy bus

Sure I've missed plenty but I dont want to come across as a total jakey

Stranraer away in the Cup a few years back, swallying fae 8am, and managed to go into the ground with all my mates tickets, meaning they had to pay in again - not fucking popular

This was probably mine. 16 years old and my first away without my old man and left to my own devices

CARNAGE.

Same as many others, got absolutely fucked going to Nancy.

Also have a vague recollection of a drunken day on the way up to Aberdeen on the bus fighting with Airdrie and Celtic fans in some shithole town on the way up, can't remember where but there ye go that's the drink for you.

The Killie game at Rugby Park, the 1st game we played after liquidation. Was a young 17 year old, and got the train down from Aberdeen myself to support the Well Worth Saving cause. Ended up me who was needing saving by the end of the night.....

And Odense away. if i hadnt seen the pictures, i wouldnt of known i was there

Most certainly everyone can do what they want, but the Well playing in Nancy or Odense, a fab trip and game and people have been drunk and cnt remember anything? I know for some people the footie is just an excuse to drink (how sad!) but that to me is hard to understand. "yeah great, we played in Nancy in the Uefa Cup Qualifier but cant remember anything" and it seems people are proud of it. It is a great Quote which shows to me the people dont care about the football....

As i mentioned earlier, it may sound boring, but i dont get it....

Nancy away speaks for itself. One of the drunkest days of my life (well could say 4 days!). The bang on the head didn't really do much for the hangover the following day! Bucharest was one hell of a trip with too much beer consumed before the match.

In Scotland it would have to be one of the trips to Inverness. Arriving in Inverness for 10:30am before a 3pm kick off it asking for it. Always a great day out and probably my favourite of the season. Delighted that we are going to have Ross County involved too next season.

Probably the drunkest I have ever been watching football was Italy v Scotland in Bari. Also probably the worst hangover I have ever had and didn't think I would make it off the train back to Milan alive! Could probably add in a few other Scotland matches home and away.

I'm a bit better these days at staying fairly sober before matches but the odd away day (generally Scottish Cup) blots my copybook!

Most certainly everyone can do what they want, but the Well playing in Nancy or Odense, a fab trip and game and people have been drunk and cnt remember anything? I know for some people the footie is just an excuse to drink (how sad!) but that to me is hard to understand. "yeah great, we played in Nancy in the Uefa Cup Qualifier but cant remember anything" and it seems people are proud of it. It is a great Quote which shows to me the people dont care about the football....

As i mentioned earlier, it may sound boring, but i dont get it....

Want some sugar lumps for that high horse?

watching fitba sober is gash. need a wee charge before a game, it's all part of the full matchday experience :drinks:

had a right mental trips away with clouded memories of what went on but one that sticks in my mind is a trip to Aberdeen on the Dalziel Arms bus in the 90's. 57 seater with around 45 or so members of the ever well behaved Saturday Service & a sprinkling of less casually dressed but all good lads. stopped at a boozer in Bridge of Don & left about 50 in there all day while the bus ran around 7 of us to game. came back to pick them all up after the game & everyone was blazing as you could imagine.

rounded up everyone & headed back to Stonehaven where we stopped in the square to pick up a cargo from Haddows. they had nae Tonic so I bought a bottle of Thunderbird (!) whilst the shop is being systematically looted by the rest of our bus. the haul was phenomenal with vodka, champers & even a huge basket full of red wine being dragged out the shop in full view of the bemused staff & a polis motor outside with two cops slack-jawed as this massive free cairry oot was lifted onto the bus.

a couple of miles down the road with the party in full swing a convoy of polis motors & vans performs a perfect circle round the bus pulling it on to the hard shoulder.

everyone sets about hiding their booze as the cops come on.

unbelievably the polisman at the front gies it "right lads, we know you've stolen alcohol from the shop up the road, now if you just give us back the champagne & spirits you can get on your way".

so eventually the stolen booze is passed down the bus & they disappear back to their cars & vans with it.

i'm that pissed i start arguing that i've got a receipt for the Thunderbird & they let me keep it!

they made us put any beer or cider that anyone had in the hold under the bus & we got an escort first from Grampian police, then Tayside & so on until we got back to Lanarkshire.

half expected to all get huckled back at the Dalziel but didnae happen.

I bet they had some f*ckin' party at the station that night!:D