86 members have voted

1. 1. How would you like to see things progress

• Status Quo
    • Less restrictions for corporate fans
    • 1 or 2 vouchers issued to over 18's to use in stands
    • Booze served until 5 minutes before KO in stands
    • 5 minutes before and 15 minutes at halftime
    • No restrictions at all

All in favour of copying the English system but have my doubts whether we would be allowed it in the East Stand.

Down south (from my own experiences), you can't take your drink to your seat but can stand in concourse drinking(in theory you could do for the entire game but with no view of the game). We could clearly get that working in South Stand, Cooper & Main Stand but with the East, you would have to stand up the back and drink it.

You'll end up with folk trying to drink throughout the game by standing up the back. This in-turn will no doubt lead to issues with stewarding/policing.

cheers.gif

I'm all for letting people choose to have a drink, even if just as a point of principle over the Holier Than Thou brigade on here who choose to dictate that the guys that they stand beside every Saturday (who they don't know personally) can't be trusted with a plastic glass of 3% cat-piss without going off their trollies.

There's guys in the East Stand I wouldn't trust with a pair of plastic scissors.

Outdated legislation brought in nearly 35 years ago.......that stopped people bring carry outs in to game

Time to move on and bring our football in line with England / rest of Europe......something that we have never had inside our grounds

I travel down to Engerland a couple of times a season for Premiership/Championship games......don't think I've ever had more than 3 pints inside the ground/......lager is normally no stronger than 4%

Its nice to have the choice before the game to stand on the concourse out with the viewing area having a pint and the same at halftime.

All this rubbish all of a sudden that fans are going to get mad with it, if you can get a pint at halftime :doh:

Its all about choices and its time football fans in Scotland were given that choice

On a foot note the way we are playing I would prefer 3 pints of Stella at half time :cheers:

Not understanding why you can't enjoy a beer at yer seat. Why stand at the concourse? Some sort of safety concern? Surely not - folk can drink hot beverages at their seat so why should beer be different?

Laws in Engerland and Wales from mid 80's say you can not have a beer and watch the football at the same time

Think in England some clubs especially in the championship have been trying to get it changed for a couple of years......At Reading you cant watch a football match with a beer....but when London Irish play rugby there you can bevy the whole game !

A couple of beer pumps or fridges isn't gonnae cost a fortune.....and the club would make money on it .....was at Hull earlier in the season and it was under £4 a pint......and £16 for an away ticket for their match against Palace !

You can guarantee the beer would be rotten, cost 6 quid and come in a plastic glass so there's not much to get worked about.

Pretty much this.

I'm against the re-introduction of alcohol for a variety of reasons but even if it was re-introduced you can guarantee you'd get a shite plastic beaker of Carling and pay over the odds for it.

If you want a drink go to a decent boozer before or after the match.

Pretty much this.

I'm against the re-introduction of alcohol for a variety of reasons but even if it was re-introduced you can guarantee you'd get a shite plastic beaker of Carling and pay over the odds for it.

"Re Introduction"......never been to football match in Scotland where you could buy a beer inside the ground......taken a carry out in though

Pish warm beer I would not buy.......must be loads of micro breweries that would jump at the chance to supply ground's.......again its about choices......football supporters are treated like second class citizens by the authorities and the clubs.....and the quicker it changes the better !

1424196355[/url]' post='432756']

Pretty much this.

Gies a decent one out of your 'variety'...

The voting trend has stayed pretty consistent.

From what can be derived, approximately 50% are looking for no change or minor changes where corporate guests can drink in view of the pitch.

The remaining 50% are looking for varying levels of booze being available, all of which would need a change in the law and infrastructure at grounds.

By no means scientific or representative of the whole or our support but also not a landslide for booze to be available as has been suggested reflects the public mood.

There are pubs not far from the ground. I don't think it's necessary (Although to be fair, sometimes you need a drink at half time to keep you going!)

It won't add to the crowds, but it might mean more queuing, followed by spilt pints/pish trickling down the stands. The queues take long enough just to get a tea or juice at half time, so I don't know how they'd cope with any more demand.

Gies a decent one out of your 'variety'...

Easy, it will tip some people over the edge and lead to trouble and violence. You can deny this but show me the study that says when you introduce more alcohol into an environment it produces less violence and a calming effect. There are none, because it doesn't.

Secondly, aren't people always complaining about the price of going to a football match? Yet these same people suddenly have all this extra cash so that as soon as you can get pints in a ground they will be throwing fivers over the bar. I'd actually question the economics of it, especially at a smaller club like ours. If 1,000 people each bought a pint at £4, the club would then have £4,000 minus all sorts of costs. It wouldn't even bring in a lot of money. Clubs are trying to bring down policing costs that are huge but I'd bet you anything the police would not allow alcohol on sale at football grounds with reduced policing.

Thirdly, if the legislation mirrored that in England and you weren't allowed to watch football while drinking, why would you want alcohol in the stadium anyway? Go to the pub before or after the match, or just sit in the pub and watch Soccer Saturday.

So there we have it. It will lead to more trouble at matches, the economics of it I think are being exaggerated and I doubt it would bring in much extra income and in the context of watching a football match, it's completely pointless.

Throw in the fact that the quality of the experience and product would probably be poor and over expensive and that I'm already fed up getting up and down out my seat 15 times a match without guys with a couple of extra pints of fizzy lager in their bladders, and I'll leave it at that.

If it was introduced I wouldn't quite football over it, I just think it is a backwards step.

Easy, it will tip some people over the edge and lead to trouble and violence. You can deny this but show me the study that says when you introduce more alcohol into an environment it produces less violence and a calming effect. There are none, because it doesn't.

Secondly, aren't people always complaining about the price of going to a football match? Yet these same people suddenly have all this extra cash so that as soon as you can get pints in a ground they will be throwing fivers over the bar. I'd actually question the economics of it, especially at a smaller club like ours. If 1,000 people each bought a pint at £4, the club would then have £4,000 minus all sorts of costs. It wouldn't even bring in a lot of money. Clubs are trying to bring down policing costs that are huge but I'd bet you anything the police would not allow alcohol on sale at football grounds with reduced policing.

Thirdly, if the legislation mirrored that in England and you weren't allowed to watch football while drinking, why would you want alcohol in the stadium anyway? Go to the pub before or after the match, or just sit in the pub and watch Soccer Saturday.

So there we have it. It will lead to more trouble at matches, the economics of it I think are being exaggerated and I doubt it would bring in much extra income and in the context of watching a football match, it's completely pointless.

Throw in the fact that the quality of the experience and product would probably be poor and over expensive and that I'm already fed up getting up and down out my seat 15 times a match without guys with a couple of extra pints of fizzy lager in their bladders, and I'll leave it at that.

If it was introduced I wouldn't quite football over it, I just think it is a backwards step.

The closest you have got to a decent argument is the bit in bold. It can be a pain in the arse having to stand up/sit down umpteen times during a match, and for that reason I'd ban weans from drinking juice for up to 2hours before kick-off and for the whole 90mins....or introduce safe standing to allow people a choice.

1 or 2 pints of lager at half-time after an hour of having nothing, is unlikely to 'tip anyone over the edge', unless they are already mortal and therefore shouldnt be in the ground in the 1st place. More trouble my arse.

The potential cost of the product isnt an argument not to have it, it will be at each 'customers' discretion whether they pay the price that Motherwell decide to impose...and in turn, Motherwells decision whether it makes economic sense. Remember, this isnt just about Motherwell, it may not suit the Club to sell alcohol, but it might suit Kilmarnock or Partick or whoever, it may be that its easy to do in the Cooper Stand but totally unrealistic to do in the East.

Your 3rd point from your 'variety' isnt even a point to be honest...Murphy is stating that its his preference to see alcohol sold to the average fan at half-time only, so whilst you are buying a pie, you can have a pint instead of a Coke....IF YOU WANT.

I never said anything about buying it.

"I'm against the re-introduction of alcohol for a variety of reasons but even if it was re-introduced you can guarantee you'd get a shite plastic beaker of Carling and pay over the odds for it"

What you giving it away for nothing ? Now I am in favour of that..................But that's when the bother really starts.......free bars :thumbup:

As I said its about choices.........you obviously quite clearly don't want the choice

We are in 2015 we have licensing laws that were first introduced in during the First world war to stop workers going to the pub and they have remained in various guises since.

Unfortunately alcohol does cause violence in certain situations...... but selling a few pints at a football match to make some profit for the club is not going to recreate the Hampden 1980 Scottish cup final riot.

Violence inside football grounds is extremely rare nowadays and why should the product be poor ???

What's it got to do with the cost of going to a football match......its about choices .you don't have to go to the match and buy a programme ,you don't have to buy a pie or Bovril etc etc

I enjoy a pre and post match pint......but would like the choice to consider buying one at half time !

Or do you own Daniels or the New Century............:whistling:

It might actually encourage more folk to go the local bars on match day. If you usually drive and think, fuck it I'll have a pint during the game instead of taking the motor then you are more likely to stay out socialising with friends afterwards. I wouldn't think most local pubs in Motherwell would have too much issue with it.