Jg In Today's Rancid

jammyget

I agree but if you were being entertained ang getting beat 5-3 every week would you still go? That's what too many chairmen and boards think about. If we lost the next 10 games whether we play attractive football and entertain the fans or not alot of people will be calling for Gannon's head. Although on the other side Celtic fans preferred Tommy Burns to Gordon Strachan although Strachan won alot more than Burns did and the entertainment is one of the reasons used to justify this.

I actually agree with you but you know as well as I do that if we are bottom of the league nobody will care about performances and entertainment. You will start hearing the old cliche "let's win ugly". I absolutely love the football we are playing just now especially the Bucharest game and the second half on Saturday. I think as long as your winning then great but if you go on a losing run then people start getting impatient.

Call me naive but I believe that if we played to entertain the fans, then we'd get enough positive results to get a decent finish.

I agree with this. If we play good, attractive football then we will get results. We will ship goals but we'll score loads too. Saturday's game was gripping listening (well the second half was) and the commentators were raving about it. I'll take that.

Personally one of the most enjoyable seasons I can remember was the season we finished bottom and were saved by Falkirk's gash stadium.

Something I've been saying for a while now as well. In fact if it meant relegation because we were playing attractive football and blooding a lot of youngsters I wouldn't be too disheartened at all. If it's a results driven business (which I agree it largely is) then what really is the best result we can hope for? A 3rd place finish in the great league that is the SPL?

Really the biggest 'reward' we can get from supporting Motherwell, pride and all that aside, is a good cup run/win or a wee stint in Europe. So I'd much rather we played entertaining football, even if it means not doing great in the league, than watch most of the shite that has been on offer at other SPL clubs in the last few years.

I'd agree with you Jay. The cup run was great that year going to Killie, Clyde, Stranraer and Hampden on the way. The Rangers, Celtic, Hearts and Livingston games were great. But I must say it being a results driven business is true. I love to see Motherwell play stylish, attractive football, but at the cost of winning I'd say no. I'd take a scrappy 1-0 over a 4-4 draw any day to be honest. Good football is nothing without end product in my opinion.

I agree but if you were being entertained ang getting beat 5-3 every week would you still go? That's what too many chairmen and boards think about. If we lost the next 10 games whether we play attractive football and entertain the fans or not alot of people will be calling for Gannon's head. Although on the other side Celtic fans preferred Tommy Burns to Gordon Strachan although Strachan won alot more than Burns did and the entertainment is one of the reasons used to justify this.

I think we all know the real reason they preferred Burns to Strachan, and it ain't entertainment.

Personally one of the most enjoyable seasons I can remember was the season we finished bottom and were saved by Falkirk's gash stadium.

there were a lot of highs that season but we also went on runs of 11 league games without a win and 10 league games without a win.

i'll pass.

For me a good mix of generally entertaining fitba with the odd scrappy and dull game will be fine, it can't be great every week as we all know by now!

"The two subs brought energy to the team and the fans were entertained. It's an entertainment industry we're in after all."

Well done JG, at last a manager who recognises this.

Discuss

Interesting. Not only have you expressed an optimistic opinion Jammyget, but so far, there's almost a page full of replies all acknowledging a need for entertaining football. I suspect I've been watching Motherwell for as long as YirElder, so know if we play silky football but too many results go against us, we will have to grind out a few dreich performances to survive. However JG has suggested results will probably be up and down early in the season. Once the young lads have developed and adopted his style of play, we should achieve consistency.

Agreed. Some real lows during that year but it was worth it.

While I don't think we are in danger of finisg bottom of the pile this year, I sense a similar season it terms of losing games that we deserve to win, while there will be weeks where the young guns just fail to turn up.

That scary post administration year got me back into the well after years of apathy. Give me that anyday of the week.

There were some great performances in that season, but there were some gash one's as well. I remember v.s. Partick at Firhill where we needed a result to be guaranteed safety and the team just didn't turn up.

I also enjoyed the many highpoints of that season, but lets not carried away. Our enjoyment of that often grim season was linked with the whole administration issue. The fact that we were just relieved to have a club at all to support and were fighting against the odds. The fact that at times we could play some good football certainly helped keep us going but ultimately week in week out we were poor and ended up bottom. A certain fondness though I have for that season it is one I hope not to see repeated for many reasons.

All that said I do agree it is an entertainment industry and though results are crucial I'd rather watch good football than dour grinding out winning football. If we play good stuff we should do alright anyway and sure come the last quarter of a season if we in a sticky patch by all means do whatever it takes to survive but I want to see teams throughout the SPL go out with the emphasis of entertaining the people there to watch first and foremost.

All that said I do agree it is an entertainment industry and though results are crucial I'd rather watch good football than dour grinding out winning football.

I couldn't disagree with that more. A 1-0 'Well win with the ball hitting Sutton on the arse, ricocheting off three divots and rolling over the line is absolutely fine in my book. Aye, winning pretty is better, but winning is the main thing.

And it's that attitude that has kept Scottish teams uncompetitive in Europe and at international level in recent times. Once you step up to a decent level, basic technique wins out over grinding most of the time.

Give me JG's team over Malpas' team any day of the week.

Out of curiosity, would you feel the same about JG's team if the average age was closer to 30 rather than 20?

I am quite excited about the youf coming through, but do think we are gambling to a certain extent that they will be able to maintain performances over a season etc. I have no questions in my mind about their raw talent, ability etc and the goals we have seen certainly suggest that they have technique, but I also wonder if I have been somewhat carried away simply because they are young stars of the future, rather than mid/end career pros?