3rd Place Is Definitely For The Taking

well4eva

Can motherwell get 3rd place  

115 members have voted

1. 1. can the steelmen get 3rd place

• Yes
    • No

To cut a long story short i was at the Hibs united game today and thourgly enjoyed especially getting kicked out at the end for standing :P to often.

But all in all Hibs (Expensive strikers) i quote where dreadfull Zemmama was brilliant again but stokes and riordan where shocking!! riordan missed an open goal and united had no presence up front even cadamateri was un inspriational Stack was average and well tbh 3rd place is a strong possibility as both teams where shocking.

• Replies 57

To cut a long story short i was at the Hibs united game today and thourgly enjoyed especially getting kicked out at the end for standing :P to often.

But all in all Hibs (Expensive strikers) i quote where dreadfull Zemmama was brilliant again but stokes and riordan where shocking!! riordan missed an open goal and united had no presence up front even cadamateri was un inspriational Stack was average and well tbh 3rd place is a strong possibility as both teams where shocking.

Can't agree about Riordan. Added to the fact Hibs have Miller and Zemmama. Stokes and Benji aren't too bad either. Hibs have better attacking options than us without doubt. Utd are guff though

To be fair we weren't exactly world beaters today either and there was probably some Hibs supporter watching our game saying the same thing as you are.

Both of those teams would be rather content with a point against each other. Both, will be there or thereabouts come May. Whereas we were playing the relegation favourites, and anything less than 3 points today, would have been construed as 2/3 points dropped.

They may have been gash, but Hibs have more quality in the attacking department we do, and have scope in January to strenghten.

Anything better than 12th will be just fine. No problem aiming higher, but after all the selling and rebuilding required, this is a consolidation year.

Top 6 is possible, but I won't be too disappointed if we finish 7th or 8th this season. With 6 month loan deals and players possibly signing pre-contracts in December, it's difficult to tell even what team will be playing in January.

Anything better than 12th will be just fine. No problem aiming higher, but after all the selling and rebuilding required, this is a consolidation year.

Top 6 is possible, but I won't be too disappointed if we finish 7th or 8th this season. With 6 month loan deals and players possibly signing pre-contracts in December, it's difficult to tell even what team will be playing in January.

stuff 3rd.... second is there for the taking!!!!! :lol:

As said before anything above 12th will do me but top 6 is there for the taking, if we can keep up this run of taking points from games.

Hamilton, falkirk, killie have shown nothing special and i think they will fight out the bottom 3. the teams above them could finish anywhere.

I think this team could be really scary going forward when slane gets in the team, we just need a striker.

Lee

I wasn't at the Dundee United match but supposedly we ground out a win much like we did today with out really playing much football.

If so, that's one good performance (against Rangers) in the last six matches.

To be honest I think I'd rather watch us play better football and finish out side the Top Six than watch the drivel like we were served up today. I'm glad of the three points but a repeat of today over the rest of the season wouldn't exactly have us looking forward to the weekends.

I wasn't at the Dundee United match but supposedly we ground out a win much like we did today with out really playing much football.

If so, that's one good performance (against Rangers) in the last six matches.

To be honest I think I'd rather watch us play better football and finish out side the Top Six than watch the drivel like we were served up today. I'm glad of the three points but a repeat of today over the rest of the season wouldn't exactly have us looking forward to the weekends.

I would take points over performances every day of the week, but the problem with trying to grind out results is that a) we will get caught out on occassion as we nearly did today, or against better teams and b) it wont attract any new fans through the door, playing like we did today.

In fairness though, Gannon has said many times that he wants his teams to play good attacking football, so I really see this team as a work in progress.

+2

Third place is up for grabs, and it will be either us, Dundee United, Hibs or Aberdeen that will get it. Hearts are playing pish and losing, we are playing not so good and winning.

We need to put things into perspective. Aye we didn't play well today but we still got the three points. We absolutely humped Kilmarnock, played Rangers off the park, battled well against St Johnstone and shagged Flamutari 8-1. We have clear potential to play well when we feel like it. Problem is we are inconsistant (story of my life watching Motherwell). But that happens with young players, especially young players playing under Jim Gannon.

We have a manager who is constantly trying new players, new formations, new tactics and new systems in order to try and find a combination that works. He also switches things about to adapt depending on who we are playing. It is therefore hard for any of the guys to get into their stride.

Today, we also need to take into account the conditions. It was blowing a gale for the whole game with the rain lashing down for the most part. It was never going to be about getting the ball down and silky soccer. Especially against Falkirk, it was always going to be a battle.

At the moment though we have too many players, Forbes and Murphy for example, that drift in and out of games far too often when a bit of drive is maybe needed. We have to remember though how young these guys are and that in time things will improve. If Jim O'Brien is out for a wee while then that will be a blow, as Murphy just doesn't look like he wants to run at anybody. The sooner he and Slane get back the better.

edit: On a sidenote, whoever mentioned Rangers finishing third has a shout. They are rank rotten!

Scott

Third place is up for grabs, and it will be either us, Dundee United, Hibs or Aberdeen that will get it. Hearts are playing pish and losing, we are playing not so good and winning.

This isnt any anti-McGhee reply but Aberdeen have no chance, theyve been as bad as Hearts but getting points here and there. Dundee United and Hibs are very inconsistent. We're simply not scoring enough goals although not losing much either.

Although I would be happy with top 6 and delighted with European football again I do think that 3rd is there for the taking but I think our squad could be a wee bit thin and a tad lacking in experience. However, with a bit of luck where injuries and suspension are concerned then I think we have the class to finish 3rd.