sydney devine Posted December 18, 2009 Report Share Posted December 18, 2009 On Tuesday, December 29 - the second anniversary of Phil O’Donnell’s tragic death - a special fundraising walk is taking place between Fir Park, Motherwell and Celtic Park, Glasgow. (Incidentally, thanks to the constant roadworks on the M74, walking is probably the quickest way to make this particular journey...) It’s the brainchild of Phil’s widow Eileen who, along with her four kids, will be leading the 10-mile hike to raise money for The British Heart Foundation and Mary’s Meals. As well as persuading many of Phil’s former Motherwell and Celtic team-mates to take part, Eileen is hoping loads of fans from all across Scotland - particularly the Well punters - will pull on the walking boots to pay tribute to the legendary No10. So, if you fancy a wee stroll to help work off the festive fayre and want to lose a few pounds while gaining a few pounds for two great charities, check out the website (www.walk10for10.com) for full details and the chance to download a sponsorship form. The last time Phil made the journey from Motherwell to Parkhead, back in 1994, the sum involved was £1.75m. Please help Eileen raise another huge amount on December 29. Right... who's up for it??? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alan_mfc Posted December 18, 2009 Report Share Posted December 18, 2009 Im up for it mate but for some reason unabe to download the sponsorship form. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuperSteelman Posted December 18, 2009 Report Share Posted December 18, 2009 Im up for it mate but for some reason unabe to download the sponsorship form. Try that, works for me. http://www.walk10for10.com/downloads/sponsor.pdf You will need Adobe PDF reader for it to open. CLICK HERE Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alan_mfc Posted December 18, 2009 Report Share Posted December 18, 2009 Think its just my comp mate. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sydney devine Posted December 18, 2009 Author Report Share Posted December 18, 2009 Thanks SuperSteelman, my gas-powered Atari is rubbish with the technical stuff. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DosserG Posted December 18, 2009 Report Share Posted December 18, 2009 I raised over £500 for charity just a few months ago so wouldn't feel too comfortable about asking folk for further donations (despite the great cause ofcourse) I'd imagine it would be possible to make a donation myself and take part in the walk? Graeme Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted December 18, 2009 Report Share Posted December 18, 2009 What time is this happening at Syd(poss silly question as might be at 10). I'm working during the day but is defo something I would be interested in. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
niall Posted December 18, 2009 Report Share Posted December 18, 2009 What time is this happening at Syd(poss silly question as might be at 10). I'm working during the day but is defo something I would be interested in. website says 9.30 meet, 10am start. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onthefringes Posted December 19, 2009 Report Share Posted December 19, 2009 What time is this happening at Syd(poss silly question as might be at 10). I'm working during the day but is defo something I would be interested in. You've a game on that night fella. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigeeze Posted December 19, 2009 Report Share Posted December 19, 2009 This sounds like a good idea. do you need to register or just turn up on the day? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
siebsbarmyarmy Posted December 19, 2009 Report Share Posted December 19, 2009 You've a game on that night fella. Forgot bout that. I'm sure I could handle a ten mile walk/stroll then a game of fitba at night, I must be the fittest guy in the team Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted December 19, 2009 Report Share Posted December 19, 2009 Is it only 10 miles to the TattieBowl ? Anyone doing it, PM me for sponsorship ....... (1st person only). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
trafficlight Posted December 19, 2009 Report Share Posted December 19, 2009 Is it only 10 miles to the TattieBowl ? Anyone doing it, PM me for sponsorship ....... (1st person only). I'll sponsor someone too. Great cause. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sydney devine Posted December 19, 2009 Author Report Share Posted December 19, 2009 Spoke to Eileen tonight and I know she's desperate for a right good turn-out from the Well fans, so please give your time (and your sponsor forms) if you can manage it. Cheers, Syd Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
maxywell Posted December 19, 2009 Report Share Posted December 19, 2009 any idea how many are going?given the weather,christmas etc i would have thought it would put people off so do you expect low 100s or towards 1000?also are sponsor sheets needed or can you donate direct to someone on at the time? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sydney devine Posted December 19, 2009 Author Report Share Posted December 19, 2009 Just check the website given earlier and grab a sponsor sheet - the fact it's leaving from the Phil O'Donnell Stand will hopefully make as many Motherwell fans turn out as possible. Obviously a Tuesday but Eileen really wanted it on the anniversary and it is the week between Christmas and New Year, so good for traffic, roads, schools, etc. Hopefully a good turn out and, dare I say it, shades of the march in Nancy if enough Well fans turn out... Come if you can. Syd. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
maxywell Posted December 19, 2009 Report Share Posted December 19, 2009 Just check the website given earlier and grab a sponsor sheet - the fact it's leaving from the Phil O'Donnell Stand will hopefully make as many Motherwell fans turn out as possible. Obviously a Tuesday but Eileen really wanted it on the anniversary and it is the week between Christmas and New Year, so good for traffic, roads, schools, etc. Hopefully a good turn out and, dare I say it, shades of the march in Nancy if enough Well fans turn out...Come if you can. Syd. i went to that page but my printer's facked,has been for a few weeks.and yes there is paper in it will just turn up on the day and see if a can get any. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted December 20, 2009 Report Share Posted December 20, 2009 Och it's no fair I'm working on the day. I would have done it no problem too. I will donate no problem and anyone wth a sponsor sheet I will take it in to my work and make the cause a fortune. Give us a shout I want to help anyway I can but just will not get the time off work. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DosserJoe Posted December 20, 2009 Report Share Posted December 20, 2009 Gutted I can't make this due to work. £10 available from me for anyone looking for a sponsor. Again, 1st person only - credit crunch and all that! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frazzie Posted December 21, 2009 Report Share Posted December 21, 2009 Gutted I can't make this due to work. £10 available from me for anyone looking for a sponsor. Again, 1st person only - credit crunch and all that! +1 for me, I'm afraid. Can't get the time off work at this notice, but I would've liked to have gone along. Quite happy to chuck a big benner at the cause though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nethertonwellfan Posted December 21, 2009 Report Share Posted December 21, 2009 See the money that is raised. When will it have to be paid? Is it on the day or a week or so after ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
trafficlight Posted December 21, 2009 Report Share Posted December 21, 2009 Nae mair requests for me, folks. Matt J's wean was in a like shot Best of luck to all participating. Fantastic cause Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted December 21, 2009 Report Share Posted December 21, 2009 Nae mair requests for me, folks. Matt J's wean was in a like shot Best of luck to all participating. Fantastic cause Aye need tae be up early tae beat oor Amber. Cheers big fella, she's doing well with the sheet tae. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted December 21, 2009 Report Share Posted December 21, 2009 Sponsoring Amber .................... very apt. Hope the weather stays fine for all concerned. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fatcalf Posted December 21, 2009 Report Share Posted December 21, 2009 Sponsoring Amber .................... very apt. Aye just need Clare T. tae join her and they can lead fae the front Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...