Kat Posted April 28, 2010 Report Share Posted April 28, 2010 Was reading Pa broon has got Rhys weston training with the club as he plans on our assult on the league next season. Sound like he is getting frustrated at players who are not commiting to the club. Not bad player by looks of things, Welsh rightback, Capped 7 times played for arsenal, cardiff, port vale and walsall. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Juan Kerse Posted April 28, 2010 Report Share Posted April 28, 2010 Reading where? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brazilian Posted April 28, 2010 Report Share Posted April 28, 2010 in the other thread or the BBC Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kat Posted April 28, 2010 Author Report Share Posted April 28, 2010 Reading where? Read it on that digital teletxt on BBC 1. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
postiejim Posted April 28, 2010 Report Share Posted April 28, 2010 A move north would suit the 29-year-old as he has family ties in Glasgow and Motherwell could offer European football should they finish fourth in the SPL. Walsall boss Chris Hutchings said today: “Rhys’ wife is from Scotland and he sought my permission to link-up with Motherwell for a short trial. I gave him permission on that basis but he will be back training with us before the end of the week.” Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted April 28, 2010 Report Share Posted April 28, 2010 Fair play to Broon. He has been watching a lot of trialists play bounce games for us recently. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smeddum07 Posted April 29, 2010 Report Share Posted April 29, 2010 Sounds like a good wee player bit more experince and some good players at that level, hopesaunders still gets a chance to play but Rhys could help him Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bill Bones Posted April 29, 2010 Report Share Posted April 29, 2010 Sounds like a good wee player bit more experince and some good players at that level, hopesaunders still gets a chance to play but Rhys could help him We could do with some smeddum-guid Scots word- in our side. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Motherwell Football Club Posted April 29, 2010 Report Share Posted April 29, 2010 Apparently he's pish. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dazamfc Posted April 29, 2010 Report Share Posted April 29, 2010 Apparently he's pish. Who said that? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StAndrew7 Posted April 29, 2010 Report Share Posted April 29, 2010 Most of the posters on one of his current team's forums... Rickoza posted the link in the other thread. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdt Posted April 29, 2010 Report Share Posted April 29, 2010 Remember when Danny Murphy was coming and the Cork fans said he was right good. I'll wait till I see him in C&A before I judge him. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted April 29, 2010 Report Share Posted April 29, 2010 As others have said Lukas was 'pish' as well when we first got him. That was wrong. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Motherwell Football Club Posted April 30, 2010 Report Share Posted April 30, 2010 Lukas wasn't a 29 year old who has dropped down divisions from the start of his career. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnstone Posted April 30, 2010 Report Share Posted April 30, 2010 Not sure about this one. I am more than happy to bring in experience, but I would hate for us to go down the road of the 'old journeyman pro' road. Much prefer us to be siging players like Hateley and Jennings where we might make some profit. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickoza Posted April 30, 2010 Report Share Posted April 30, 2010 He's away back now..... FORMER Cardiff City defender Rhys Weston is back with Coca-Cola League club Walsall after spending two days on trial with Motherwell. Former Scotland manager Craig Brown, in charge pf Motherwell, is keen on former Welsh international Weston and says: “He can play anywhere in defence. “We have a young squad and Rhys could help lift our levels of experience.” Weston, 29, is out of contract at Walsall this summer and has also attracted interest from Leeds United. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay Posted April 30, 2010 Report Share Posted April 30, 2010 Lukas wasn't a 29 year old who has dropped down divisions from the start of his career. Aye but at the other end of the spectrum the word was Lukas was crippled with the pressure of being a £1m player and was not worth that nor was he that good. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
the fox Posted April 30, 2010 Report Share Posted April 30, 2010 If its same player im thinking of im glad he never got signed he has no pace at all and is a bit of a fruitcake would be suspended often can get better.im sure he played against Motherwell for Cardiff in a friendly few years back Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haggischomper Posted April 30, 2010 Report Share Posted April 30, 2010 If its same player im thinking of im glad he never got signed he has no pace at all and is a bit of a fruitcake would be suspended often can get better.im sure he played against Motherwell for Cardiff in a friendly few years back Was that the game where Sam Hammam took a wander round the pitch and chatted away to the Well fans? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Motherwell Football Club Posted April 30, 2010 Report Share Posted April 30, 2010 Aye but at the other end of the spectrum the word was Lukas was crippled with the pressure of being a £1m player and was not worth that nor was he that good. Indeed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted May 1, 2010 Report Share Posted May 1, 2010 To be honest I don't care how a player plays for another team. Look at Scott McDonald he wasn't good enough to win a contract with Wimbledon when they only had like 14 full time players - he didn't turn out too bad. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted May 1, 2010 Report Share Posted May 1, 2010 Rhys Weston isn't really the way we should be going. Bit of a journeyman who's career has been in constant decline. Yes we should bring in experienced players but it needs to be ones with proper heads on their shoulders that will help the young boys flourish. Professionals who fall into the same category as Weir, Alexander, Dailly etc. For that reason I'd be happier with Jack Ross than Rhys Weston. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LadywellToi Posted May 1, 2010 Report Share Posted May 1, 2010 Somebody got Gannon's mobile, see who he'd recommend? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted May 1, 2010 Report Share Posted May 1, 2010 Somebody got Gannon's mobile, see who he'd recommend? Spot on, as much as I citicised the way he went about his business at FP he certainly had an eye for a player. When you think about Ruddy, Juke, Hateley and Jennings I don't think we will ever sign such a quality batch of players again who match their footballing ability with a top notch attitude and respect for all things Motherwell. It's going to be a missed opportunity seeing at least two of these players leave next week. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Al B Posted May 1, 2010 Report Share Posted May 1, 2010 If Gannon was still here we wouldn't have seen Ruddy or Juke past January. Jennings has already signed up to stay, so the only potential missed opportunity would be Hateley. But then it's not really a missed opportunity because I don't think anyone could have predicted his form when he first signed, and if he does go it will be because his form has earned him a move outwith what we could afford. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...