Referee's To Go On Strike

delboy

SHAMBLES 100% SHAMBLES

Only thing that gets me is it will be the punters that lose out and the likes of Dallas and the old pals act will make money out of this with interviews or after dinner stuff in the weeks and months ahead. SPL = JOKE good luck with the next TV deal if you thought the last one was bad.

Scottish fitba oh what a giggle :D

• Replies 440

To those contemplating not crossing a "picket line" can I ask do you back the referee's at all other times or only when your socialist views are questioned? Smacks of double standards!

For one they ain't on "strike" they have withdrawn labour, remember this ain't their official jobs and I think santa claus will still be visiting their kids this year and their wee tootsies will be warm tonight.

And can I ask modernist, if the game wasn't on sky would u still be paying your money to the club? Admit it you're just feart fae the cauld! Does your Harrington not keep you warm enough :D

No got Sky bud.......... Wouldn't give the Tory scumbag who owns it my money...... Believe that or not !! As for still paying money to the club.... Why should Motherwell suffer financially for an issue that is not of their own making ?

The term "strike" is an extremely loose one;for top class refs it's basically a very well paid hobby

Have yet to hear of a grade one ref who hasn't got a very good job;they won't be on the breadline this week after missing out on their bonus

Also history was rewritten on tv when it was stated that Sir Weasel the H*n said he had no problem with refs integrity;in reality a matter of months ago he basically called a linesman a cheat after he gave 2 borderline decisions against them

You couldn't make this stuff up.

Exactly my thoughts! Everytime I look at this thread there's a new wee twist in the storyline. Actually gettin quite entertaining. And if these new rumours are true, canny wait to see the reaction hahah. Although to be fair, I agree it's not actually a strike they're just deciding not to work this weekend, dont think they have a contract or anything like that.

Seriously though, screw Dallas, Gannon told us he was duff a year ago.

And the "strikers", they get no support from me until they come out after matches and explain their discussions to the fans & media.

We really need strong refs, like that one from the Real Madrid game during the week, dishing out bookings for time-wasting. Imagine we had someone like that in charge during the Accies game recently :D

Possibly the most embarrassing factor in all this (and that's saying something) is that the incoming foreign referees had no idea about the 'strike' action being taken by our refs.

Top-light referees refusing to officiate matches is a major incident that I would have assumed been newsworthy across Europe. But apparently, no-one outside of these shores cares enough about Scottish football for this to even be mentioned.

Just emphasises how insignificant and worthless our country's football has become.

Celtic boss Neil Lennon is 'optimistic' that some good will come from the SPL referee strike.

The Scottish Football Association have spent all week scouring Europe for replacement officials, ensuring this weekend's top flight fixtures will go ahead as planned.

He admits that the adverse publicity generated by the striking officials has damaged the image of Scottish football, but feels the issue could be good for the game in the long run.

"What's been going on in the last week or so doesn't put a good light on the game," the Celtic boss said.

"But I'm optimistic that something good will come out of it.

"First of all I'm pleased that the game is going ahead, not only for the players but the supporters as well.

"It would have been a major disappointment to everyone at the club if the game hadn't gone ahead.

"We will see what the aftermath is after this weekend.

"It's not for me to comment on why there is a strike or what the reasons for the strike are, people have their own reasons for that.

"I understand it to a certain extent but I'm hoping that it will have a positive reaction rather than a negative one."

news of the strike has made the papers here in Australia....This from Billy Ried....

Hamilton boss Billy Reid is desperate to move on from the referees saga after warning about the danger of a strike weeks ago.

The Accies boss felt the need to speak out after reports on his side's victory over Motherwell last month focused heavily on a dubious decision by Craig Thomson, warning that "without a referee and a ball we don't have a game".

And the Accies boss is eager for talks to be held to solve the crisis after the referees hold their weekend of protest.

"I hope so for everybody concerned, for the whole of Scottish football, and especially referees," Reid said.

"It's a difficult job they have got, the pressure they are under is immense.

"If it's affecting their families as well, I certainly feel for them.

"Someone asked me a few weeks ago about this and I said it wouldn't surprise me."

Reid, whose team host St Mirren on Saturday, believes managers can take the pressure off referees by having a quiet word with them after matches instead of speaking out in the media.

"I've been a first-team coach for two or three years and managed for seven to eight years now and I've never been in front of the SFA," he said.

"I'm not going to say I pride myself on that but there is a line you can't cross with referees.

"If something goes against me then I'm first to chap the door at the end of the game and have a word with them.

"But at the end of the day the decision is made and I can assure you, we don't get loads and loads of decisions going for us.

"It's part and parcel of the game and you just have to get on with it."

From the Daily Retard/Rebel

"Luxembourg referee Alain Hamer, who is due to oversee Celtic v Inverness and Dundee United v Rangers this weekend, is on strike in his homeland, as officials boycott matches involving two local sides due to the levels of abuse they have been receiving"

You couldnae make it up :whistling:

From the Daily Retard/Rebel

"Luxembourg referee Alain Hamer, who is due to oversee Celtic v Inverness and Dundee United v Rangers this weekend, is on strike in his homeland, as officials boycott matches involving two local sides due to the levels of abuse they have been receiving"

You couldnae make it up :doh:

The Daily Record could :whistling: