Club Statement

http://www.motherwellfc.co.uk/index.php?op...&Itemid=133

Motherwell Football Club tonight (Thursday) released the following statement on the resignation of both Craig Brown and Archie Knox.

"We are surprised and disappointed by the decision of our management team to leave the club at this time and in this way. But it is not in our ethos as a club to stand in anyone’s way that wanted to be somewhere else. We also have far too much respect for Craig and Archie and what they have achieved in the game to do anything other than wish them happiness in what they are setting out to do and to thank them for their efforts in the last year. It is very difficult to understand their decision but we must respect it.

"We have done absolutely everything we could to keep them and to support their personal ambitions and demands for a bigger player budget. We now turn our focus to the future and to securing a management team that can build on the platform we have with a talented squad, strong league challenge and the potential for Cup success.

"Separately we do wish to make clear that as a board we believe that the conduct of the board of Aberdeen in this matter has been wholly inappropriate and in clear breach of SPL rules as well as basic courtesy. At no point did they inform us or seek our permission to speak to critical employees of our club and to seek to entice them to leave our employment.

"We realise the desperation they are feeling and the pressure they are under from their fans for their own performance as a board but to go about their business in this way is a matter of gross discourtesy. It is also conduct which is beneath the integrity we would expect of a club of Aberdeen’s stature. We hope Aberdeen’s fans will reflect on that and understand our need to do something about it. We have raised this matter with the SPL and will pursue the matter vigorously and by all means.

"To all Motherwell fans everywhere we ask for you to rally round the club as you always do and we will work together to keep punching above our weight and obtaining the success we all seek. This club is bigger than any manager and for that matter any board. As fans we will always be the people who care most about this club for the long term. Loyalty is clearly all too rare in football but we know we have it in ourselves for the club we love. Motherwell is a special club from a special place as anyone touched by us knows well."

• Replies 112

"To all Motherwell fans everywhere we ask for you to rally round the Club as you always do and we will work together to keep punching above our weight and obtaining the success we all seek. This Club is bigger than any manager and for that matter any Board. As fans we will always be the people who care most about this club for the long term. Loyalty is clearly all too rare in football but we know we have it in ourselves for the club we love. Motherwell is a special club from a special place as anyone touched by us knows well."

Nice wee dig at the end.

Ach well, fuck him. We've learned in the last few days that Craig Brown isn't the wee old gentleman who meets with clubs "out of common courtesty". He is, when you take into his comments in the press the last few days through all this, extremely two-faced and I for one am actually please we've gotten rid of such a person. Fuck him.

Plus, as someone else said on another thread, the anticipation of a new gaffer is always pretty exciting!

But aye, I just hope the Aberdeen game at Pittodrie is on now... :nod:

9174_400x600.jpg

Can we actually do anything though since Brown and Knox were working without contracts?

That's what I thought. Common courtesy has been breached but no laws of the game that I can see. What can the SPL do about that? Nothing as far as I can see.

Best to not waste time and energy on this. Getting the right management team in is all that matters now.

The lack of a contract means nothing. They were still employees of MFC and Aberdeen are well out of order. The Club are right to kick up about this. No doubt the SPL will do sod all about it but how hard would it have been for Stewart Milne or Willie Miller to have had the manners to phone Motherwell before poaching our manager. A real low point for Aberdeen and for Brown. Glad the club statement rises above the level set by them.

As the old adage goes, the king is dead, long live the king. Whoever he may be...

As Jay points out, new manager time is always pretty interesting. Exciting times. Could maybe do without it being every season, mind you.

And I don't know who at the club worded that statement but they did a bang up job...

"No Club shall directly or indirectly induce or attempt to induce any employee of another Club to terminate a contract of employment with that other Club (whether or not by breach of that contract) or directly or indirectly approach any such employee with a view to offering employment without the consent of that other Club. For the purpose of this Rule H3, "Club" means a member club of the SFA."

Take from that what ye will.

spl rules

H10 No Club shall either directly or indirectly induce or attempt to induce any manager, coach, trainer or other person involved in the training or management of the team of another Club or a club in the SFL or in membership of the SFA to break a written contract of employment. Clubs may notify the Company in writing, of the period of all or any such persons' contracts of employment.

H11 Any Club either directly or indirectly inducing or attempting to induce any manager, coach, trainer or other person involved in the training or management of the team of another Club or a club in the SFL or in membership of the SFA to breach a contract shall be dealt with by the Company as it shall see fit.

i think we'd argue we had some kind of contract with them. the fact that we were paying them an agreed wage would constitute a contract in scots law i think.

H11 Any Club either directly or indirectly inducing or attempting to induce any manager, coach, trainer or other person involved in the training or management of the team of another Club or a club in the SFL or in membership of the SFA to breach a contract shall be dealt with by the Company as it shall see fit.

That for me says breach of rules. Aberdeen fans are convinced it's all pish and we are a joke. Think the last laugh is ours, idiots. Maybe someone could read it out to them?