Motherwell v Aberdeen 15/09/2026

10 minutes ago, grizzlyg said:

Almost a year ago we got pumped 4-1 by a robbo side.  That was a shocker and we recovered.

Not sugarcoating tonight but we have had a terrible performance and we all know that.   3 weeks ago we were in Freiburg putting in a brave performance against bundesliga league leaders.

We are very much a team in transition and it takes time.   Jens took time to get things working also.  I have every faith in Alfred.

COYW

At this stage last year the 4-1 was a blip - I don't believe tonight was.  There's been several poor performances, albeit the euro early games we did well. 

I had a lot more faith this time last season that we'd come good.  This season has been a lot less consistent. 

I'm honestly not sure how things will pan out this season . 

2 minutes ago, wellsince75 said:

At this stage last year the 4-1 was a blip - I don't believe tonight was.  There's been several poor performances, albeit the euro early games we did well. 

I had a lot more faith this time last season that we'd come good.  This season has been a lot less consistent. 

I'm honestly not sure how things will pan out this season . 

Watt has been a massive loss

I know it doesn't fit with the reactions, but the truth is, it happens. We've seen this kind of thing happen to teams in this division all the time. Outside of the Old Firm and whichever Edinburgh/big city club happens to be having a good season most of the other clubs can easily do this to each other on any given week. This time it was our turn.

I'm sure we'll see over-reactions, doomsday chat and all sorts, then we'll even out and be challenging for top six by the end of the year. 

6 minutes ago, David said:

I know it doesn't fit with the reactions, but the truth is, it happens. We've seen this kind of thing happen to teams in this division all the time. Outside of the Old Firm and whichever Edinburgh/big city club happens to be having a good season most of the other clubs can easily do this to each other on any given week. This time it was our turn.

I'm sure we'll see over-reactions, doomsday chat and all sorts, then we'll even out and be challenging for top six by the end of the year. 

Well said.   Yup its always the same, anytime we lose a game its suddenly a crisis.

It was terrible tonight and we all know that but no reason why we cant bounce back

• SteelmaninOZ changed the title to Motherwell v Aberdeen 15/09/2026
58 minutes ago, Ya Bezzer! said:

I'm prepared to put that down as just one of those nights.

Thought we played some good stuff in the first half an hour but we found it difficult to find space with Aberdeen basically playing 8 at the back.

They score with their only shot on target and we go in at half time 1-0 down in a match we've totally controlled and dominated.  I think we had something like 80% of possession at that point.

Second half we give a goal away with a mistake within seconds and then the game is gone and a lot of heads went down.

Might as well blown for full time then as we just weren't at the races 2nd half but that can happen when things go against you.

Worth noting we have 8 points after 6 games when it took us 8 matches to achieve that last season.  I think the season can still go either way but we can't afford too many more losses like that because they absolutely kill confidence.

They were a baw from scoring twice before they did. The warning signs were there. First Aberdeen team to beat us by a 4 goal margin since Alex Ferguson days. That sums us up tonight. The defence is piss poor and we have zero up front. Maswanhise and RCC are not going to score many goals. I'm not convinced by this squad, yet. Not saying it wont change but still not convinced . I think there has been a lot of hype about a good bit of it unjustified. Pretty patterns with nothing at the end of it was pointless. We badly need to take something from Dens but I fear another grim day ahead.

2 hours ago, MJC said:

This team is ineffective and poor.

We are in trouble this season.

Same thought is running through my head, but I'm not ready to commit to it just yet. We certainly need to learn how to hurt teams and relearn how to defend!

2 hours ago, Orinoco said:

Longelo has also been very lazy.

Agreed. I don't know if he is hacked off by not being used when he is generally in loads of space down the left, but for me he is just going through the motions. 

7 minutes ago, grizzlyg said:

Well said.   Yup its always the same, anytime we lose a game its suddenly a crisis.

It was terrible tonight and we all know that but no reason why we cant bounce back

They will be a few knickers getting rung oot first 😰

18 minutes ago, grizzlyg said:

Far too early in the season to say crisis but not to early to say we have basically been mediocre at best and utter shite tonight.

We did as well as could be expected in Europe. In the League very Iffy

Hibs away decent enough

Falkirk at home struggled

Stenhousemuir abysmal , poor team selection

Dundee UTD at home played very well but helped by playing against 10 men for 75 mins

St Mirren outstanding for 25 mins , could have conceded 5 , scraped a draw

Rangers lucky not to get a hiding 

Aberdeen , horsed by a team of hoofball merchants. 

No crisis but let not paper over the cracks. 

1 minute ago, FirParkCornerExile said:

Far too early in the season to say crisis but not to early to say we have basically been mediocre at best and utter shite tonight.

Hibs away decent enough

Dundee UTD at home played very well but helped by playing against 10 men for 75 mins

St Mirren outstand for 25 mins , could have conceded 5 , scrapped a draw

Ranger lucky not to get a hiding 

I am certainly not papering over any cracks. I am just saying yes of course it ain't good enough tonight but we are very much in transition.  I expect a reaction on Saturday and there definitely needs to be changes to that line up

Just now, grizzlyg said:

I am certainly not papering over any cracks. I am just saying yes of course it ain't good enough tonight but we are very much in transition.  I expect a reaction on Saturday and there definitely needs to be changes to that line up

I think Dundee are a better team than us right now , so a point would be a great result. Dont think we will get it cos that defence will concede and just don't see us scoring.

• Thanks 2

Just watched highlights.....o mean lowlights.

Just zoomed in and noticed banners in Block E,   well done lads, great to highlight this as it affects so many lives.

1) kanga terrible for 1st goal

2) Hodge at fault for 2nd goal ( still been very good so far)

3) what is sparrow doing for 3rd goal?

4) moormann and JGR poor for 4th goal

Aye......not great

1 minute ago, grizzlyg said:

Just watched highlights.....o mean lowlights.

1) what were the banners in Block E about? "SPEAK UP , SPEAK OUT" 

2) kanga terrible for 1st goal

3) Hodge at fault for 2nd goal ( still been very good so far)

3) what is sparrow doing for 3rd goal?

4) moormann and JGR poor for 4th goal

Aye......not great

No two ways about it that was abysmal. Its not as if Aberdeen didn't play as anyone would expect. Its an absolute embarrassment losing 4 goals at home to that Aberdeen team. Long ball merchants all game and we couldnt deal with it.

As a team we are far too light weight especially midfield. No ball winner or tackler. Aimless slow possession. Created nothing. Two guys at the back are bomb scares. Couldn't deal with a simple long ball and they were 2 on 1 and Nisbett still scored. Kanga is the same as Vogts. Can't pass, can't tackle, Doesn't track back. Never showed for the ball all night. He let the ball run past him on the edge of the box for the first goal. Its obvious Maswhanesie is a one season wonder. Needs benched.

This was not a blip. We should have been pumped 6-0 at Ibrox. Too many signings not suitable for the physicality of the Premier League. Aberdeen were on a losing run of 14 away games without a win.

They were pish against Kilmarnock in the cup. They come down after 90 minutes and 30 minutes extra time on Saturday night and pump us and physically dominate us all over the park. That should have alarm bells ringing. 

12 minutes ago, FirParkCornerExile said:

Hibs away decent enough

St Mirren outstand for 25 mins , could have conceded 5 , scrapped a draw

Ranger lucky not to get a hiding 

If there's an exact opposite of papering over the cracks, what you've posted is exactly it. 

Hibs away "decent enough." I disagree there, you're not giving us enough credit for a very good away win. This is the same Hibs that went on to beat Rangers at Ibrox in their next game, and didn't lose in the league until they played Hearts. So that was a good performance and win, especially away from home.

Falkirk at home "struggled." I don't know if I'd agree with that. We did okay, and Falkirk are a decent enough side. They'll take points off other teams this season.

Stenhousemuir was a game that fell victim to our European run. We chose the side based on other competitions, unfortunately. It is what it was. Not ideal, but again, we have to pick and choose our battles at that stage of the season. 

Dundee United was a very good, comprehensive win. Them being down to 10 men is neither here nor there. We won 3-0. 

St Mirren. "Could have conceded five" but we could very easily have scored five as well! It was one of those games.

Rangers, we lost to the better side fair and square. No issues there. Same with Aberdeen. 

I'm certainly not going to be proclaiming us as finishing top four this season, but we've been fine so far. We're fifth in the league, we've won two, drawn two, lost two, and our goal difference is close to neutral. 

Oh, and for those saying we're not scoring enough? Only Hearts and Celtic have scored more in the league so far. 

So yeah, not amazing. Not terrible. 

1 minute ago, David said:

If there's an exact opposite of papering over the cracks, what you've posted is exactly it. 

Hibs away "decent enough." I disagree there, you're not giving us enough credit for a very good away win. This is the same Hibs that went on to beat Rangers at Ibrox in their next game, and didn't lose in the league until they played Hearts. So that was a good performance and win, especially away from home.

Falkirk at home "struggled." I don't know if I'd agree with that. We did okay, and Falkirk are a decent enough side. They'll take points off other teams this season.

Stenhousemuir was a game that victim to our European run. We chose the side based on other competitions, unfortunately. It is what it was. Not ideal, but again, we have to pick and choose our battles at that stage of the season. 

Dundee United was a very good, comprehensive win. Them being down to 10 men is neither here nor there. We won 3-0. 

St Mirren. "Could have conceded five" but we could very easily have scored five as well! It was one of those games.

Rangers, we lost to the better side fair and square. No issues there. Same with Aberdeen. 

I'm certainly not going to be proclaiming us as finishing top four this season, but we've been fine so far. We're fifth in the league, we've won two, drawn two, lost two, and our goal difference is close to neutral. 

Oh, and for those saying we're not scoring enough? Only Hearts and Celtic have scored more in the league so far. 

So yeah, not amazing. Not terrible. 

We see it differently