New Investment Options

Kmcalpin

53 minutes ago, steelboy said:

And who's fault is that 3 months in we know fuck all?

I agree that, as you say "we know fuck all" but would you like them to give you a full briefing in your livingroom or something???

It still doesn't help that you are just firing out speculation then forming an opinion on it as if its fact

2 minutes ago, Mccus28 said:

I agree that, as you say "we know fuck all" but would you like them to give you a full briefing in your livingroom or something???

It still doesn't help that you are just firing out speculation then forming an opinion on it as if its fact

I posted the rumour that is going about from people who usually have good info. I don't think that's unreasonable on a fans forum.

The rest of it is fact. The full process has been a shambles. Just the fact that they held a binding members vote then a week later came out and announced they didn't have up to date contact details is a total farce.

Regarding the statements, or lack of. There are all sorts of legal, compliance and regulatory issues defining exactly what can and can't be said during these kinds of transactions - and they mostly boil down to not being able to say very much.

That is true for dealings both sides of the pond.

I don't see anything about the potential investor being American, only that they are a "US-based family" - and there's a quite a few us of us here that fit that bill and are not American (I'm not the investor, btw).

Enjoyed the analysis of the "2017 Trump Tax Reforms' though. Thousands of pages of complex tax law distilled into "you can write off overseas losses".

BTW, not saying I'm in favour of this - I voted against allowing overall control for any investor and I'll need to see some serious detail before I continue to contribute to the Society.

19 minutes ago, weeyin said:

Enjoyed the analysis of the "2017 Trump Tax Reforms' though. Thousands of pages of complex tax law distilled into "you can write off overseas losses".

General. For US tax purposes, a foreign branch (or foreign disregarded entity) of a domestic corporation in a consolidated group is generally treated as part of the domestic corporation. The income, deductions, losses and credits of the foreign branch are taken into account in calculating the tax liability of the US consolidated group.

A material benefit of operating through a foreign branch is that losses of the branch flow into the US consolidated group and reduce taxable income of the group. Dual consolidated loss rules, however, provide that such losses cannot be used currently if the losses can also be used by a foreign subsidiary to reduce its income under foreign law. Branch losses limited by this rule can be carried forward indefinitely and reduce future income of the foreign branch.

https://www.mwe.com/insights/taxation-of-foreign-branches-after-tax-reform/

So if we make a profit they make money and if we make a loss they claim it off their US tax bill. That's why all the American owners appeared on the scene at the same time.

3 hours ago, Mccus28 said:

People really need to stop making out that rumour is truth!!!!!!!

Until we know at least some of the facts stop making stuff up.

Some folk could start a fight in an empty room

This 

2 hours ago, steelboy said:

I posted the rumour that is going about from people who usually have good info. I don't think that's unreasonable on a fans forum.

The rest of it is fact. The full process has been a shambles. Just the fact that they held a binding members vote then a week later came out and announced they didn't have up to date contact details is a total farce.

No one should know any info about this at this point apart from the parties involved in the discussions. If it's folk within the club behind these rumours that's spectacularly unprofessional in my view. We should all find out as fans at the same time. 

2 hours ago, steelboy said:

Aye it's the gie us some dosh bit. And it's not like the wean is ad libbing it's all scripted. 

Putting out a video suggesting we require American investment when they were in talks with a potential American investor is extremely dubious. 

Who said they were in talks with an American investor at that point? You don't think the Taylor Swift comment was tongue in cheek? 

Taylor Swift was on the news last night because her net worth has reached $1BN. Could this announcement possibly be coincedence ?

On a more serious note (just in case someone thinks the above was serious), I see the amateur accountants and corporate lawyers are out spouting shite again. It's amazing that a few people on here with such a multitude of business and football knowledge haven't bought the club already.

I think I'll patiently wait until details of the proposed investment are officially released rather than listen to  conspiracy fantasists with an axe to grind. Then I'll make up my own mind as to whether any proposal gets my support.

It was only a matter of days ago we were told that no CEO discussions had taken place since December and that no effort was being made to fill the position. All part of the Board's devious masterplan. And apparently that was also from a solid ' In the know' source. In truth it was just more made up nonsense.

But I guess that if people shout loud enough then then their fiction will be taken by a few as gospel. After all, that's how ludicrous conspiracy theories gain traction. Quite revealing that a certain Donald Trump was mentioned. He is not really interested in facts or evidence either.

5 hours ago, mio said:

Really interesting, wonder who the family are and what they do. The Kardashians like football don’t they? 🤣

Saw Kim in the Rex ordering a lunchtime pizza crunch supper wi broon sauce today.

10 minutes ago, steelboy said:

An utterly ridiculous statement from the Society. Nothing to do with them apparently, they are only the majority shareholder. 

McMahon and Dickie leading Feely around by the nose. 

That isn't what they said. Come on 

1 hour ago, dennyc said:

I think I'll patiently wait until details of the proposed investment are officially released rather than listen to  conspiracy fantasists with an axe to grind. Then I'll make up my own mind as to whether any proposal gets my support.

My view too. However, I do hope and trust that, if and when any external investment proposal is put to the Society membership, then full details will be made available. Members can only make an informed decision if they have all the facts. 

58 minutes ago, steelboy said:

An utterly ridiculous statement from the Society. Nothing to do with them apparently, they are only the majority shareholder. 

McMahon and Dickie leading Feely around by the nose. 

Whilst I don't agree with your tone, I do agree 100% with your point. This very point is also being made on P & B. I get that the Society is not the club, but it is the major shareholder and as such the owner. Surely the Society is involved in the negotiations. It must know the details. If it doesn't then serious questions need to be asked. That's not say of course that details should be divulged to members at this stage of course. 

11 minutes ago, Kmcalpin said:

Whilst I don't agree with your tone, I do agree 100% with your point. This very point is also being made on P & B. I get that the Society is not the club, but it is the major shareholder and as such the owner. Surely the Society is involved in the negotiations. It must know the details. If it doesn't then serious questions need to be asked. That's not say of course that details should be divulged to members at this stage of course. 

They are not involved in negotiations. They've just said this. Surely the fact that members will be able to accept or reject should be enough. Surely people can let the process happen first and then make a decision thereafter. If fans don't like the proposals they can vote against it. 

27 minutes ago, wellgirl said:

They are not involved in negotiations. They've just said this. Surely the fact that members will be able to accept or reject should be enough. 

Well, as the majority shareholder, and to all intents and purposes the owner it should be. It would appear that the Club board is two tier, with Society reps being junior partners. As a Society member, I sincerely hope that our representatives, are actively involved in any negotiations with potential investors. 

3 minutes ago, Kmcalpin said:

Well, as the majority shareholder, and to all intents and purposes the owner it should be. It would appear that the Club board is two tier, with Society reps being junior partners. As a Society member, I sincerely hope that our representatives, are actively involved in any negotiations with potential investors. 

They've just put a statement out saying they aren't involved at this stage. 

42 minutes ago, wellgirl said:

They've just put a statement out saying they aren't involved at this stage. 

I think there may be a distinction there. The Society as an organisation aren't involved in negotiations. But as members of the board of directors, the society reps on the board may well be involved in negotiations or at least privy to information...

Executive board seem to be doing what any other business would do in this type of negotiations.

outwith football Jim McMahon im  sure has  a knowledge of how this all works and I’m relatively relaxed .with how things are progressing .

For me a simple update is sufficient at this stage and as a £10 month Well Society member I’m not sure why I’d need to now much more at this stage of the negotiations or how my complete lack of knowledge on how these things work by throwing in my tuppence/thoughts would help proceedings 

Why don’t we just wait and see what the proposals are when finalised , see what the executive board recommend following these discussions then based on all that vote whatever way you think is best for the club going forward .

That tends to be how things work in any walk of life and as far as I can see this is no different .

Ok I get the anxiety some people may have at this stage about updates and info etc etc but that’s how business transaction’s/dealings  tend to work .

Im sure the executive board said they would be using a specialist /legal team to pour over the detail to prevent us being bitten or words to that effect

Dont think I need to know much more that that at this stage tbh .

So for the next 6 weeks think  we need to be patient . It’s not that long to wait tbh .

10 hours ago, MelvinBragg said:

I think there may be a distinction there. The Society as an organisation aren't involved in negotiations. But as members of the board of directors, the society reps on the board may well be involved in negotiations or at least privy to information...

Yes, may be a play on words Greg. An ambiguously worded statement. To go back to basics, the club currently has 3 directors, two of whom represent the majority shareholder i.e. the Society. The third being Jim McMahon. 

I can't think of any privately owned club and situation where the majority shareholder is not involved in major investment negotiations. Surely Douglas Dickie and Tom Feely are acting as a 2 way conduit and not in a vacuum? Surely they are putting forward a Society view and acting in its interest in negotiations and feeding back information to the Society Board? I'd hate to think that they were taking an active part in negotiations, knowing some aspect(s) of the proposal might not be acceptable to the Society, but could not voice those concerns because they were not "acting in the Society's interest" so to speak.  If not, in whose interest are they acting (the Club's ?????).

I have no problem with the amount of information being released. Lilke Mintymac, I think a simple update is sufficient  and regular communications every 4/6/8 weeks or whatever are fine. I'm not in favour of frequent and regular public sector style announcements simply saying nothing has happened or theres no change. Report by exception. I'm thinking of the old Monty Python airfield sketch here!