stv Posted August 1 Report Share Posted August 1 1 hour ago, wellgirl said: Absolute legend. I'm sure that's legit grounds for divorce... Someone refusing to pay for a takeaway If only. 😪 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 1 Report Share Posted August 1 49 minutes ago, MFCL84 said: This I the first time I've been a bit disappointed by a JBA interview. I thought that he seemed to be managing expectations and setting us up to expect to lose. Funny how different people hear different things. I was delighted he didn't roll out the usual "we need to be at our best and hope they aren't" spiel beloved of most of our managers. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stuwell2 Posted August 1 Report Share Posted August 1 8 hours ago, Mccus28 said: Way to condescend your fellow fan just because they have a different view to you Go you!!!! Sorry bud but I was being sarcastic thinking about the meltdown if they were given the Cooper stand again hence the emoji Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 9 hours ago, MFCL84 said: This I the first time I've been a bit disappointed by a JBA interview. I thought that he seemed to be managing expectations and setting us up to expect to lose. He did acknowledge the fact that we are not the favourites, but I didn't get the impression he was being negative at all Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 It wasn’t Stuart McCall/Terry Butcher levels of talking us down before these types of games but I wasn’t too impressed with that either from JBA. Our “Great wee club” syndrome starting to creep into his mindset? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mccus28 Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 15 hours ago, Stuwell2 said: Sorry bud but I was being sarcastic thinking about the meltdown if they were given the Cooper stand again hence the emoji Don't know why your comment touched a nerve, soz mate!!!!!! Mon the Well 😜 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 4 hours ago, MJC said: It wasn’t Stuart McCall/Terry Butcher levels of talking us down before these types of games but I wasn’t too impressed with that either from JBA. Our “Great wee club” syndrome starting to creep into his mindset? You forgot to add. PS. 0-7. 🤣🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 3 minutes ago, grizzlyg said: You forgot to add. PS. 0-7. 🤣🤣 I don’t see it being anything like 0-7, more like a narrow 1-2 loss that’s frustrating in that we ran them close and could have got something but ultimately didn’t, followed by the usual patronising ‘plaudits’ about how it was a “spirited performance” and “we can take so much more from that than they did even though they won” and so on. Basically the kind of pish that Tam Cowan regularly comes out with when talking about Motherwell. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 8 minutes ago, MJC said: I don’t see it being anything like 0-7, more like a narrow 1-2 loss that’s frustrating in that we ran them close and could have got something but ultimately didn’t, followed by the usual patronising ‘plaudits’ about how it was a “spirited performance” and “we can take so much more from that than they did even though they won” and so on. Basically the kind of pish that Tam Cowan regularly comes out with when talking about Motherwell. I hate gallant defeats. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 8 minutes ago, MJC said: I don’t see it being anything like 0-7, more like a narrow 1-2 loss that’s frustrating in that we ran them close and could have got something but ultimately didn’t, followed by the usual patronising ‘plaudits’ about how it was a “spirited performance” and “we can take so much more from that than they did even though they won” and so on. Basically the kind of pish that Tam Cowan regularly comes out with when talking about Motherwell. I see nothing wrong with that to be fair. I was saying the same to my brother earlier. It could go either way - but what's wrong with praising the team if we lose narrowly and played well? I remember the game against Celtic just before the 15 game winless run - we played great and were really unlucky to lose. Are we supposed to say we were shit if we lose even narrowly. I think there's a difference between calling it as it is and talking the team down Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 No Sule today? Only one out and out striker then! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 2 minutes ago, Kmcalpin said: No Sule today? Only one out and out striker then! Injured apparently Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mio Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 Can’t argue with that team minus Ox starting (I’m taking it he’s still not 100%) Honestly have no idea how this will pan out. Mon the ‘Well Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy H Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andy H Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 Not the usual 6 defenders. I am liking our new manager more and more Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 38 minutes ago, wellgirl said: I see nothing wrong with that to be fair. I was saying the same to my brother earlier. It could go either way - but what's wrong with praising the team if we lose narrowly and played well? I remember the game against Celtic just before the 15 game winless run - we played great and were really unlucky to lose. Are we supposed to say we were shit if we lose even narrowly. I think there's a difference between calling it as it is and talking the team down Because a defeat is a defeat. There are no positives to take when we lose. It is that simple. And in the case of games at Fir Park against Rangers I’ve seen far too many narrow “so unlucky, we played so well, if only x,y or z happened/didn’t happen” for me to take any satisfaction out of a narrow loss to them. I’d much rather we played shite but won. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 5 minutes ago, MJC said: Because a defeat is a defeat. There are no positives to take when we lose. It is that simple. And in the case of games at Fir Park against Rangers I’ve seen far too many narrow “so unlucky, we played so well, if only x,y or z happened/didn’t happen” for me to take any satisfaction out of a narrow loss to them. I’d much rather we played shite but won. So have I. I went to my first game in 1979 It's not about satisfaction as far as I'm concerned. It's about acknowledging that we can play well and not win - particularly against Celtic and Rangers who we can't compete with in terms of spending I agree - I would also prefer to see us play shite and win but if we play well and lose I see no harm in acknowledging that Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 1 minute ago, wellgirl said: So have I. I went to my first game in 1979 It's not about satisfaction as far as I'm concerned. It's about acknowledging that we can play well and not win - particularly against Celtic and Rangers who we can't compete with in terms of spending I agree - I would also prefer to see us play shite and win but if we play well and lose I see no harm in acknowledging that That’s fair enough. It’s just not for me though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
prideoflanarkshire Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 Disappointed in the club to allow the rangers display 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 4 minutes ago, prideoflanarkshire said: Disappointed in the club to allow the rangers display Potentially not the club - poor stewarding Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
prideoflanarkshire Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 1 minute ago, wellgirl said: Potentially not the club - poor stewarding Who employs the stewards Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 Rangers handball rule still in full effect - no foul unless you catch it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 3 minutes ago, prideoflanarkshire said: Who employs the stewards They aren't employed by Motherwell. They are contracted in. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 The stewards let Motherwell pyro in - not much difference really is there. It's a stewarding issue Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
2/6 tae get in Posted August 2 Report Share Posted August 2 Stewardings always poor, Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...