texanwellfan Posted Friday at 08:14 PM Report Share Posted Friday at 08:14 PM 9 hours ago, weeyin said: That's true. And fans remember keeper howlers that cost a goal much longer than they remember strikers' howling misses that also cost a goal. Ian Thompson. There! Addressed that point Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted Friday at 08:48 PM Report Share Posted Friday at 08:48 PM The Tommy Coyne songs were quality too Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted Friday at 08:57 PM Report Share Posted Friday at 08:57 PM 3 hours ago, grizzlyg said: 2 at Hampden v celtic in league and one at Pittodrie in 3-1 win stand out The cobra was class TC , loved this guy One of my favourite commentaries is from the cup game in 1994 against Celtic from Jock Brown Motherwell undefeated in 1994 , against Celtic who have still to win a match in the year . Changed days 🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted Friday at 08:59 PM Report Share Posted Friday at 08:59 PM Have to post it now of course 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted Friday at 08:59 PM Report Share Posted Friday at 08:59 PM 1 minute ago, twistandshout1983 said: The cobra was class TC , loved this guy One of my favourite commentaries is from the cup game in 1994 against Celtic from Jock Brown Motherwell undefeated in 1994 , against Celtic who have still to win a match in the year . Changed days 🤣 And touched in there!!!¡ 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted Friday at 09:00 PM Report Share Posted Friday at 09:00 PM 45 minutes ago, texanwellfan said: Ian Thompson. There! Addressed that point Who? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellgirl Posted Friday at 09:00 PM Report Share Posted Friday at 09:00 PM Was just talking to my brother about Coyne and he said that other strikers have had better seasons but few have been an all round striker like he was Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted Friday at 09:02 PM Report Share Posted Friday at 09:02 PM Games were always better with terracing. That's a scientific fact. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted Friday at 09:09 PM Report Share Posted Friday at 09:09 PM 6 minutes ago, grizzlyg said: And touched in there!!!¡ I met wee Dougie as well at a friend's wedding in 2010 at Fir Park. May have mentioned in the past but he was serving me all night as he was involved at Fir Park at the time and I thanked him for 1991 👏 He loved it , an absolute gentleman Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted Friday at 09:57 PM Report Share Posted Friday at 09:57 PM 50 minutes ago, weeyin said: Games were always better with terracing. That's a scientific fact. No they were not, most football Grounds back then were complete shiteholes, unsafe, no facilities, terraces crumbling around you, streams of pish everywhere, aye the good old days. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted Friday at 10:18 PM Report Share Posted Friday at 10:18 PM 19 minutes ago, Spiderpig said: No they were not, most football Grounds back then were complete shiteholes, unsafe, no facilities, terraces crumbling around you, streams of pish everywhere, aye the good old days. I said the games were better, not the facilities. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted Saturday at 03:57 AM Author Report Share Posted Saturday at 03:57 AM 9 hours ago, grizzlyg said: Thanks grizzly good find 👍 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted Saturday at 03:59 AM Author Report Share Posted Saturday at 03:59 AM 6 hours ago, weeyin said: Games were always better with terracing. That's a scientific fact. Yes they were Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted Saturday at 04:05 AM Author Report Share Posted Saturday at 04:05 AM 7 hours ago, twistandshout1983 said: Have to post it now of course Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted Saturday at 06:21 AM Report Share Posted Saturday at 06:21 AM 9 hours ago, grizzlyg said: Who? Ian Thomson arrived at Motherwell in 1962 coming straight from Mussleburgh Winsor, he was a powerful forward who went on to play in over 80 games in all competitions for the Steelmen, his goal return was modest in that he found the back of net in 15 occasions, he was released six years later in 1968, it was felt that he was player that should have brought more in his time in Lanarkshire, he joined South African club Hellenic in 1968. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted Saturday at 08:17 AM Report Share Posted Saturday at 08:17 AM 9 hours ago, weeyin said: I said the games were better, not the facilities. Again not true, the standard of football back then was dreadful at times. You only need to watch some of the classic games, being played on ploughed fields, players who were slower than a week in the jail, nowhere near the fitness levels of modern day players. We all think everything was better back in the day when in reality it wasn't. So combine the crap football with the crap facilities, standing for 90 min in the rain at Tynecastle for example watching a rotten game aye we all had a great time. The everything was better back in the day is just sentimental BS as we did not know any better at the time. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0Neils40yarder Posted Saturday at 08:26 AM Report Share Posted Saturday at 08:26 AM 11 hours ago, twistandshout1983 said: Have to post it now of course That free-kick by Dougie on the bastard 😳...maybe VAR is needed after all 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted Saturday at 09:49 AM Report Share Posted Saturday at 09:49 AM The Hummel kit we had back then looks nice. I’d like to see us go back with them again at some point. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted Saturday at 10:05 AM Author Report Share Posted Saturday at 10:05 AM Why? 🙄 How about admiral ? Or Umbro? Adidas? (mmm maybe not) Puma? I’m happy with whoever can give us Claret and Amber kits for Motherwell FC They’re more important subjects to worry about than this. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stuwell2 Posted Sunday at 12:21 AM Report Share Posted Sunday at 12:21 AM 16 hours ago, Spiderpig said: ……..standing for 90 min in the rain at Tynecastle for example watching a rotten game aye we all had a great time. Remember a cup game there like that - wettest football day ever. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted Sunday at 12:35 AM Report Share Posted Sunday at 12:35 AM 16 hours ago, Spiderpig said: Again not true, the standard of football back then was dreadful at times. You only need to watch some of the classic games, being played on ploughed fields, players who were slower than a week in the jail, nowhere near the fitness levels of modern day players. We all think everything was better back in the day when in reality it wasn't. So combine the crap football with the crap facilities, standing for 90 min in the rain at Tynecastle for example watching a rotten game aye we all had a great time. The everything was better back in the day is just sentimental BS as we did not know any better at the time. I thought when I said "that's a scientific fact" it was obviously a joke. I do, however, prefer standing to sitting on a pre-assigned, small plastic seat with my knees at my chin, having to stand up every 15 minutes to let people in and out. In particular, it was easier to stay warm in the cold when you were standing, easier to move about to find a good vantage point, and you could even change ends at half time to be closer to the goals we were attacking. You were also always guaranteed to be able to stand beside your mates. I'm sorry you were upset about getting wet when you watched a bad game. With terracing, it was often easier to move to shelter. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted Sunday at 07:35 AM Report Share Posted Sunday at 07:35 AM 6 hours ago, weeyin said: I'm sorry you were upset about getting wet when you watched a bad game. With terracing, it was often easier to move to shelter. Back then Tynecastle had no shelter for away fans unless you paid for the main stand , the Gorgie rd terracing was uncovered. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dennyc Posted Sunday at 08:18 AM Report Share Posted Sunday at 08:18 AM 30 minutes ago, Spiderpig said: Back then Tynecastle had no shelter for away fans unless you paid for the main stand , the Gorgie rd terracing was uncovered. When Willie Irvine scored to deny Hearts promotion as we celebrated ours almost as much as their failure I could not have cared less whether I was standing or sitting. I do think there was a better atmosphere at games though before all seating became the norm for us big clubs. But I don’t miss going home soaking wet and freezing after a drab December night in Paisley. Or scaling the heights as was at Tannadice and Easter Road. No doubt the grounds are safer and more fan friendly nowadays. Oh, and toilets with no roof ring a bell. An age thing of course but I am absolutely knackered after a Scotland match as you generally have to stand for the whole match if you want to see the game. At least in the areas I have been. That wee plastic seat thing is only for use at half time. That seems to be the rule anyway. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted Sunday at 08:28 AM Report Share Posted Sunday at 08:28 AM 8 hours ago, Stuwell2 said: Remember a cup game there like that - wettest football day ever. And the Inverness Caley (oldskool not ICT) fans who were there, as there game had been cancelled, made more noise than us! "We are The Caley 'Well" over and over and over! Think we got scudded 3-0? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stuwell2 Posted Sunday at 04:31 PM Report Share Posted Sunday at 04:31 PM 8 hours ago, joewarkfanclub said: And the Inverness Caley (oldskool not ICT) fans who were there, as there game had been cancelled, made more noise than us! "We are The Caley 'Well" over and over and over! Think we got scudded 3-0? That’s the one I remember Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...