Andy Harrow Posted August 7, 2009 Report Share Posted August 7, 2009 ive never met him but their brother is one of his best mates,old school friend and trouser leg man Thought you were talking about the fanny in Albania? Anyway, does Utrecht count? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 7, 2009 Report Share Posted August 7, 2009 I think we can work out what the team will be from the 'fishul site: "As the match will be played on a FIFA designated international weekend none of Manchester United’s international players will be available but the club is committed to bringing its strongest reserve squad to Motherwell for the special challenge match..." I don't think Giggs, Scholes etc. would qualify as part of the reserve squad, but maybe I'm just a cynic. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted August 7, 2009 Report Share Posted August 7, 2009 I think we can work out what the team will be from the 'fishul site: "As the match will be played on a FIFA designated international weekend none of Manchester United's international players will be available but the club is committed to bringing its strongest reserve squad to Motherwell for the special challenge match..." I don't think Giggs, Scholes etc. would qualify as part of the reserve squad, but maybe I'm just a cynic. Or you could take a look at the most recent League Cup Squads where it is mostly up and comers but with a few veterans in their to steady the ship. SAF could also use it for those who are just coming back from injury (like Vidic will be) etc. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
decorator Posted August 7, 2009 Report Share Posted August 7, 2009 Thought you were talking about the fanny in Albania? Anyway, does Utrecht count? the best part of that trip was 3 nights in the dam Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 7, 2009 Report Share Posted August 7, 2009 Or you could take a look at the most recent League Cup Squads where it is mostly up and comers but with a few veterans in their to steady the ship. SAF could also use it for those who are just coming back from injury (like Vidic will be) etc.I could, but I won't. As I said in my earlier post, a team billed as an "XI" doesn't exactly grab my interest. Friendlies against first team squads are typically uninspiring; against 2nd or 3rd string squads even less so. The last reasonably competitive friendly I can remember was when Liverpool played at Fir Park, but they played pretty much a full team. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bill Bones Posted August 7, 2009 Report Share Posted August 7, 2009 I could, but I won't. As I said in my earlier post, a team billed as an "XI" doesn't exactly grab my interest. Friendlies against first team squads are typically uninspiring; against 2nd or 3rd string squads even less so. The last reasonably competitive friendly I can remember was when Liverpool played at Fir Park, but they played pretty much a full team. Was that the centeneray match? Just a wee bit before my team. Where all the big guns playing. Will probably go along to this game. Might see a few future stars at Fir Park. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mwellhighland Posted August 7, 2009 Report Share Posted August 7, 2009 Might see a few future stars at Fir Park. As might Sir Alex and steal a few Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 7, 2009 Report Share Posted August 7, 2009 Was that the centeneray match? Just a wee bit before my team. Where all the big guns playing. Will probably go along to this game. Might see a few future stars at Fir Park. Aye, that's right. It was the centenary match. All the big names played and even Kenny Dalglish (who had only just hung up his boots as player manager as I recall) took to the field. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Special aka Posted August 7, 2009 Report Share Posted August 7, 2009 and a decent crowd of 18,000 or so turned up if I remember correctly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
brisbaneMFC Posted August 7, 2009 Report Share Posted August 7, 2009 Sundays though? Does no one respect the Sabbath any more? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted August 7, 2009 Report Share Posted August 7, 2009 and a decent crowd of 18,000 or so turned up if I remember correctly. I have the whole game on dvd, one of our neighbours did the commentary. There was also a featurette thing made by some mob. The Iain St John interview is priceless. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuperSteelman Posted August 7, 2009 Report Share Posted August 7, 2009 I have the whole game on dvd, one of our neighbours did the commentary. There was also a featurette thing made by some mob. The Iain St John interview is priceless. Any chance of creating a torrent for us all to download. I was at the match and remember it well, would love to see it again. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
numpty Posted August 7, 2009 Report Share Posted August 7, 2009 Aye, that's right. It was the centenary match. All the big names played and even Kenny Dalglish (who had only just hung up his boots as player manager as I recall) took to the field. Liverpool line-up was: Bruce Grobbelaar, Jim Beglin, Barry Venison, Gary Gillespie, Alan Hansen, Steve Nicol, Jan Molby, Steve McMahon, Kenny Dalglish, John Wark, Ian Rush. No' a bad side. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuperSteelman Posted August 7, 2009 Report Share Posted August 7, 2009 Liverpool line-up was: Bruce Grobbelaar, Jim Beglin, Barry Venison, Gary Gillespie, Alan Hansen, Steve Nicol, Jan Molby, Steve McMahon, Kenny Dalglish, John Wark, Ian Rush. No' a bad side. It was an outstanding side, a team of legends. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 7, 2009 Report Share Posted August 7, 2009 And League Champions at the time. We saw a few flashes of the Dalglish/Rush partnership. Rush had amazing speed over the first 5-10 yards, and Kenny could have picked him out wearing a blindfold. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
trafficlight Posted August 8, 2009 Report Share Posted August 8, 2009 And three in a row champions heading across the border. I'm filling up here. From MFC official site : Manchester United’s status in world football is rooted in the achievements of Sir Matt in bringing domestic and European glory to the club and in doing so in the face of one of the greatest tragedies experienced by any club in the history of the game. “Sir Matt Busby will always be revered by this club and his memory will always be cherished by those millions who support Manchester United across the globe. Bellshill Matt, legend Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted August 8, 2009 Report Share Posted August 8, 2009 Any chance of creating a torrent for us all to download. For £4 you can get a perfectly edited and printed version. There's a lot of hours been put into this one. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 8, 2009 Report Share Posted August 8, 2009 And three in a row champions heading across the border. I'm filling up here. From MFC official site :Aye, but the difference in the Liverpool game is that it was their Championship team that played us. Not the best of whatever reserves are left behind on international weekend. Oh, and they were lucky to escape with a draw Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxi Posted August 8, 2009 Report Share Posted August 8, 2009 Likely team would be the likes of Welbeck, Cleverley, Cathcart etc. Should be good to see them plus hopefully the the retired internationists. Maybe even Hargreaves Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dodge Posted August 8, 2009 Report Share Posted August 8, 2009 Who cares about what the Man U team will be - what I wanna know is will the Well be fielding our "reserve" team with the players we're short of on international duty? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted August 8, 2009 Report Share Posted August 8, 2009 Aye, Stephen Craigan is gonna be a huge miss. Hopefully who we get in can do their best Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gav212 Posted August 8, 2009 Report Share Posted August 8, 2009 Will any monies end up with Man United? If so, i think il give it a miss. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan1984 Posted August 8, 2009 Report Share Posted August 8, 2009 No reading the article it is all for the Sir Matt Busby thing. I don't think even their current owners would dare to ask for a fee for a match in the name of Sir Matt Busby Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modernist Posted August 8, 2009 Report Share Posted August 8, 2009 No reading the article it is all for the Sir Matt Busby thing. I don't think even their current owners would dare to ask for a fee for a match in the name of Sir Matt Busby I'd prefer it, if all monies went to a John 'Sailor' Hunter thing............... Mibbies something for NLC/MFC to think about........... No offence to Mr Busby BTW........... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mwellhighland Posted August 9, 2009 Report Share Posted August 9, 2009 Aye, Stephen Craigan is gonna be a huge miss. Hopefully who we get in can do their best We'll also lose a few youngsters to the U19s/21s.....maybe Fitzy and Dairylee's motherwell careers ain't over yet Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...